$330 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

California Hotel Florence

4 stars
View map of Via Ricasoli 30, Florence, 50122

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for California Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert single traveler
Single
Italy
Jun 4, 2013

Hotel California

The room was very small, not what I expected, thought I was getting a good price from your website but got what I paid for a very small bed and not much room to move.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler on teacher's budget
Couples
harrisonburg, va
Sep 23, 2010

California in Florence!!

The location is SUPERB! we were able to check in and within minutes see the David. we loved the location which was easy to find. the rooms were clean, and the bathrooms spacious (on a european scale). i didn't like that you had a card key that had to be turned into the desk.... and the air conditioner was run on the card key-- so our room was stiffling for the first 35 mintues when we returned... the hotel was perfect for us-- we were more interested in the city then we were with our accomodations-- and we loved this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WalruSara
Family
Dallas, Texas
Sep 26, 2010

Location, location, location...

-Great staff, unbeatable location, beautiful hotel, decent room size for Florence. Great third floor bar with beautiful views of the Duomo. -Breakfast was so-so, but free with room rate, so that was a nice touch. Beds aren't terribly comfortable, but they are standard for Florence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Cleveland, Ohio
Apr 25, 2011

Perfect

The hotel was perfect for what I was looking for. Great breakfast in the morning and very accommodating. Great location. Very close to the train station, shopping and downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franch_lace
Family
Austin, TX
Jul 24, 2010

Good Location

We were on vacation with the children and wanted to stay in a family friendly hotel that was also close to the places we needed to visit. This hotel was in a good location so we did not need to take cabs to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums and shops are with working distance so we did not need to use any cabs or buses

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Richmond, Canada
Jul 17, 2010

Enjoyed Our Stay

The location is excellent as attractions are mostly walking distance for up to 15 minutes, except Piazzale Michelangelo where we have to take the bus. The train station is also closeby that we only have to walk. Excellent staff service, provide us with maps and explain the attractions on maps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a budget dining option in the train station.

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Washington, DC
Dec 1, 2009

Nice 3-star Hotel

This hotel, while in a very old building and city, has obviously been recently renovated and my room had lovely features. I wasn't crazy about the shower, which had no curtain and thus got water all over the bathroom floor, but at least I didn't have to clean it up (the housekeeping crew was great). I also wished for something to hang a dress on - I didn't need an entire closet, but a hook would've been nice. The location was perfect, the staff very nice, the breakfast quite adequate, and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The museum that houses "David" is just down the street, and the Duomo is just down the street in the opposite direction. The hotel is also a short walk from the train station, the Arno River, Uffize Gallery, and countless other amazing points of interest.

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Zurich, Switzerland
Jul 24, 2011

Nice and getting nicer....

Very nice hotel in very good location. Renovations still in progress and it should be even nicer when complete. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooftop bar was a great surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is in an area of many one-way streets and a great deal of tourists. If you drive, call ahead on best way to get to the hotel. (GPS could not find it)

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 21, 2010

I was completely satisfied

The staff was friendly and helped me with any questions or concerns that I have had. The bathroom was very clean and modern with a whirlpool bathtub. They provide basic toiletries and renew them every day. Their bar is not over priced like most other hotel bars. The only negative part was that instead of a double bed, I had two single beds pushed together. With every single movement they came apart creating a huge gap in the middle of the bed. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and being very close to the center of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Greece
Dec 10, 2009

good location, good price and clean room

The hotel was under construction, but nothing bothered us. It was neat and clean for the price. Especially bath room was new. And it was in the best location to go around the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top