$73 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

California Hotel Florence

4 stars
View map of Via Ricasoli 30, Florence, 50122

Hotel Overview

California-Hotel-Florence-Guest-Room
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
25 reviews
perfect location, great value!

Amazing location in beautiful Florence! Great value. Nice bathroom (spacious by European standards)... See full review

  • globe trotter Amy
  • Jun 30, 2015
Great overnight stop

My son and his girlfriend had a lovely evening in Firenze and enjoyed their stay at the hotel. It... See full review

  • CLC
  • May 28, 2015
With only 22 rooms, the Hotel California Florence is the very definition of Florentine intimacy. It's smart and polished boutique property, just steps away from Michelangelo's David Museum. Rooms are simple yet smart with modern amenities, and a complimentary breakfast is a welcome addition, especially when it is served on the hotel's garden terrace. 
Rooms
The 22 rooms at the Hotel California are decorated in typical Florentine style, all with private facilities as well as telephone, satellite TV, safe, and air conditioning. Bathrooms are equipped with either a bathtub or shower, and all feature white Carrara marble. Some rooms offer coveted views of the Cupola of the Duomo or a private terrace.
Property features
  • The Hotel California Florence, a self-proclaimed "small paradise in Florence," is indeed an intimate, boutique Florentine hotel located in a historic building just steps away from Michelangelo's David Museum.
  • Decorated in classic Florentine style, many of the guest rooms and public spaces are adorned with authentic steel ornaments, frescoes, and stucco work reflective of the Renaissance period.
  • Rooms are spacious and equipped with modern amenities, with some offering rewarding views of the Cupola of the Duomo.
  • Breakfast is included and served on a spacious garden terrace, which is also the ideal spot for relaxing with a cocktail while admiring the facades of the neighboring buildings.
Highlights
  • Prime location: down the street from Michelangelo's David
  • Breakfast (included) served on a garden terrace
  • Bathrooms adorned in white Carrara marble
Nearby attractions
  • Boboli Gardens (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Duomo and Baptistry (0.1 mi/0.2 meters)
  • Uffizi Gallery (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Michelangelo's David Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
Transportation

Transportation

  • Florence Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed California Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

★★★
$75
4.0 / 5 73 reviews
★★★
$106
4.2 / 5 30 reviews
★★★★
$142
4.4 / 5 8 reviews
★★★★
$155
4.0 / 5 12 reviews
★★★★
$156
4.1 / 5 17 reviews
★★★★
$138
4.2 / 5 6 reviews
★★★
$67
3.3 / 5 16 reviews
★★★★
$131
4.2 / 5 50 reviews
★★★
$90
3.2 / 5 21 reviews

California Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Double Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable satellite TV, color TV, hairdryer, heating, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service

Nearby points of interest

  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.1 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.1 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.2 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.1 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.1 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.2 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.3 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.4 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.4 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.4 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.4 mi
  • Gallery Of The Academy: 0.4 mi
  • Ponte Vecchio: 0.4 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.4 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.8 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.9 mi
  • San Miniato Al Monte: 1 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.1 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.5 mi
  • Fiesole: 3 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:30 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for California Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
San Diego, CA
Apr 7, 2010

Excellent Hotel

I was very concerned about taking a chance with online booking, but I was so pleasantly surprised. I think what finally helped me to say yes to this one, because I spent hours researching, was the reviews; when they say they would recommend it to a friend, I felt re-assured about my decision. What was also nice was that it just happened to be on the same street my daughter's apartment was while she was here in school. This hotel has a great location. It is on the same street as the David and just around the corner from the Duomo. There is so much to see, Florence is really a fabulous place to visit. There is great shopping, outstanding food and wine. We never had a bad bottle of wine nor a bad meal. Be sure to go to the Piazza Michael Angelo, breathtaking views of all of Florence. We also, through Florence for Fun, did a walk and wine tasting tour that took us to the heart of the vineyards in Chianti country in Panzano, well worth the excursion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trujillo
Family
Miami, Fl
Mar 28, 2014

Great location but worst customer service at front desk

I had the worst customer service experience I ever had. I reported broken and dirty bathroom parts that allowed the water to accumulate inside shower and go out and I was asked to fix it with my hands and ask for drying floor as needed. I also asked for the missing shower towel, and I was told they did not have any one at this time...People in the front desk seemed to be tired and become upset when you asked for information about the city...I could not believe it!!! I do not recommend the hotel if you want to enjoy your trip. Bar/Buffet employees provides outstanding service. Great pizza/service at Gelato restaurant close to "ponte veccio"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Belgium
Dec 22, 2010

I would not recommend this hotel

The hotel manager was totally insensitive to our complaint about the room being cold. We prepaid three nights and missed the first one due to bad weather and cancellation of trains and we informed the hotel. in spite of this, there was no attempt by the hotel management to treat us with a professional responsibility. She did not extend our stay with the same rate we had booked. She quoted us a higher rate and we left for another hotel. The breakfast was terrible. The big sign in the breakfast room reads: "If you take anything out of the breakfast room, the fee will be charged to your room". This is not the way a 4 star hotel deals with clients. The hotel building is 4 star but the attitute is worse than 1 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 12, 2010

NOT a 4 star hotel

If you're looking for a two star hotel in a good location, this is the one for you. However, when you're expecting a four star hotel as they claim to be, you're more than a little annoyed when they show you to your room. Under no circumstances could this be considered four stars. First of all, the security issue. They have actual keys for the room and you are required to leave your room key with the front desk every time you leave. Besides being annoying, it is also unsafe. Not once did they ask us for ID when we came back and picked up our key. We merely said what room we were in and they handed over the key. They rotated staff, too, so it wasn't like the person recognized us. Also, if you want to use the safe you have to give them a 5 Euro deposit and then carry around a bulky key all day. The room was very small and didn't have any comfy chairs to lounge in, like I would have expected in this hotel class. My husband and I like to take leisurely vacations and end up spending a lot of time in the room, but this room was not inviting at all. The beds were very firm and they provided us with only two very small and hard pillows. The bedding was simply pitiful. They gave us a sheet and a "blanket", which was simply some of the window fabric thrown over the sheet. This isn't what one expects in a four star hotel. Now for the bathroom. It was clean, but that's about all it had going for it. They didn't provide any soap or shampoo, which is usually a given in a place that claims they're a four star hotel (In fact, I've never had to provide my own soap, no matter the star rating of the hotel). We had to go buy hand soap from the grocery. My husband always uses the shampoo provided, so he had to buy shampoo. They provided a minimal number of thin, hard towels. The shower was so tiny that it was difficult for me and I'm a short, slender female. My husband had a heck of a time in there! There was no bathtub, either. Something that would be a given in a four star hotel. One last thing. If you're hoping to have the hotel store your luggage for you, you're only option is to just leave it sitting in the lobby. They have nowhere else to put it. If I'd booked a two star hotel, then this would have fit the bill. Unfortunately, they're trying to pass themselves off as a four star hotel and they simply aren't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Mangiafuoco Bracerie on Via Guelfa. It's about a three block walk from the hotel. Excellent food and service. They have typical Tuscan cuisine and food from other parts of Italy.

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Belgium
Dec 22, 2010

I would not recommend this hotel

The hotel manager was totally insensitive to our complaint about the room being cold. We prepaid three nights and missed the first one due to bad weather and cancellation of trains and we informed the hotel. in spite of this, there was no attempt by the hotel management to treat us with a professional responsibility. She did not extend our stay with the same rate we had booked. She quoted us a higher rate and we left for another hotel. The breakfast was terrible. The big sign in the breakfast room reads: "If you take anything out of the breakfast room, the fee will be charged to your room". This is not the way a 4 star hotel deals with clients. The hotel building is 4 star but the attitute is worse than 1 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveler2341562
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Feb 26, 2012

not a four-star hotel

The room was fine, with a great shower, poor towels, and no English TV. But it was right next to one of their dining areas, so when people sat at 7:30, our sleeping was over. On top of that, they "store" your luggage right by the side of the entry--not very safe. This was a very good two-star hotel, but no better than that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Recent Firenze Traveler
Family
Italy
Aug 4, 2014

Very good location ... But not much more

Room was not dirty but the appearance was less than desirable. Walls were scuffed and visibly stained. Shower head kept falling and spraying water all over the bathroom. Bed linens were clean, but comforter/dust cover was ancient. Parking was conveniently located next to the hotel but slightly pricey. The best thing about this hotel was the location. Very short walk to the Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio, Uffizi, and Ponte Vecchio. Simply not a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
tinton Falls
May 21, 2015

Not the view I wanted

I got this hotel for the view that it pictures in the main photo. This isnt right because the douomo isnt as close as it seems in the picture. My bathroom smelled so bad. The staff was ok, the location was good but pretty much any othe rhotel is good since florence is so small. We took a taxi to the hotel the first time but then just walked to the train station when we left since it was only a 10 minute walk. Best thing about breakfast was the coffee, other than that we just skipped it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Tulas, OK
Jul 7, 2010

Great location

Very central location, but not the best if you want peae and quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Huntington Beach, CA
Aug 5, 2010

A quaint hotel in the heart of Florence

The hotel is nice, clean and in the center of Florence. The only downside is that there is a little construction in the building next store so you have to go through a different entrance with no elevator to the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance from Hotel California.

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Visitor Also
Business
NY
Feb 5, 2013

I go there every time!

Excellent value, especially for Italy. Modern bathrooms, pleasant rooms, decent breakfast, excellent location. Not a super friendly staff, expensive Internet and no duvet covers on bed, just reusable bedspread, but super clean, relaxing, beautiful architectural details. I go there everytime I am in Florence, a few times a year. A definite recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top