California Hotel Florence

4 stars
Via Ricasoli 30, Florence, 50122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
36 reviews
Hotel California

The room was very small, not what I expected, thought I was getting a good price from your website... See full review

  • Robert single traveler
  • Jun 4, 2013
I go there every time!

Excellent value, especially for Italy. Modern bathrooms, pleasant rooms, decent breakfast,... See full review

  • Frequent Visitor Also
  • Feb 5, 2013
Classic Florentine boutique hotel steps from Michelangelo's David
With only 22 rooms, the Hotel California Florence is the very definition of Florentine intimacy. It's smart and polished boutique property, just steps away from Michelangelo's David Museum. Rooms are simple yet smart with modern amenities, and a complimentary breakfast is a welcome addition, especially when it is served on the hotel's garden terrace. 
Highlights
  • Prime location: down the street from Michelangelo's David
  • Breakfast (included) served on a garden terrace
  • Bathrooms adorned in white Carrara marble
Rooms
The 22 rooms at the Hotel California are decorated in typical Florentine style, all with private facilities as well as telephone, satellite TV, safe, and air conditioning. Bathrooms are equipped with either a bathtub or shower, and all feature white Carrara marble. Some rooms offer coveted views of the Cupola of the Duomo or a private terrace.
Features
  • The Hotel California Florence, a self-proclaimed "small paradise in Florence," is indeed an intimate, boutique Florentine hotel located in a historic building just steps away from Michelangelo's David Museum.
  • Decorated in classic Florentine style, many of the guest rooms and public spaces are adorned with authentic steel ornaments, frescoes, and stucco work reflective of the Renaissance period.
  • Rooms are spacious and equipped with modern amenities, with some offering rewarding views of the Cupola of the Duomo.
  • Breakfast is included and served on a spacious garden terrace, which is also the ideal spot for relaxing with a cocktail while admiring the facades of the neighboring buildings.
Transportation

Transportation

  • Florence Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
Attractions
  • Boboli Gardens (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Duomo and Baptistry (0.1 mi/0.2 meters)
  • Uffizi Gallery (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Michelangelo's David Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)

California Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Double Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable satellite TV, color TV, hairdryer, heating, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service

Hotel Map

43.7743 11.2566
Area served
Florence.
Nearby airports
Amerigo Vespucci International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel California is situated on the second floor of a historic building in a central street, via Rissole, the same street where is the Michelangelo's David Museum.

Nearby points of interest

  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.1 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.1 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.2 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.1 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.1 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.2 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.3 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.4 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.4 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.4 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.4 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Giardino¬†Della¬†Gherardesca: 0.8 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.9 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.1 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.5 mi
  • Fiesole: 3 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for California Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 12, 2010

NOT a 4 star hotel

If you're looking for a two star hotel in a good location, this is the one for you. However, when you're expecting a four star hotel as they claim to be, you're more than a little annoyed when they show you to your room. Under no circumstances could this be considered four stars. First of all, the security issue. They have actual keys for the room and you are required to leave your room key with the front desk every time you leave. Besides being annoying, it is also unsafe. Not once did they ask us for ID when we came back and picked up our key. We merely said what room we were in and they handed over the key. They rotated staff, too, so it wasn't like the person recognized us. Also, if you want to use the safe you have to give them a 5 Euro deposit and then carry around a bulky key all day. The room was very small and didn't have any comfy chairs to lounge in, like I would have expected in this hotel class. My husband and I like to take leisurely vacations and end up spending a lot of time in the room, but this room was not inviting at all. The beds were very firm and they provided us with only two very small and hard pillows. The bedding was simply pitiful. They gave us a sheet and a "blanket", which was simply some of the window fabric thrown over the sheet. This isn't what one expects in a four star hotel. Now for the bathroom. It was clean, but that's about all it had going for it. They didn't provide any soap or shampoo, which is usually a given in a place that claims they're a four star hotel (In fact, I've never had to provide my own soap, no matter the star rating of the hotel). We had to go buy hand soap from the grocery. My husband always uses the shampoo provided, so he had to buy shampoo. They provided a minimal number of thin, hard towels. The shower was so tiny that it was difficult for me and I'm a short, slender female. My husband had a heck of a time in there! There was no bathtub, either. Something that would be a given in a four star hotel. One last thing. If you're hoping to have the hotel store your luggage for you, you're only option is to just leave it sitting in the lobby. They have nowhere else to put it. If I'd booked a two star hotel, then this would have fit the bill. Unfortunately, they're trying to pass themselves off as a four star hotel and they simply aren't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Mangiafuoco Bracerie on Via Guelfa. It's about a three block walk from the hotel. Excellent food and service. They have typical Tuscan cuisine and food from other parts of Italy.

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trujillo
Miami, Fl
Mar 28, 2014

Great location but worst customer service at front desk

I had the worst customer service experience I ever had. I reported broken and dirty bathroom parts that allowed the water to accumulate inside shower and go out and I was asked to fix it with my hands and ask for drying floor as needed. I also asked for the missing shower towel, and I was told they did not have any one at this time...People in the front desk seemed to be tired and become upset when you asked for information about the city...I could not believe it!!! I do not recommend the hotel if you want to enjoy your trip. Bar/Buffet employees provides outstanding service. Great pizza/service at Gelato restaurant close to "ponte veccio"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Belgium
Dec 22, 2010

I would not recommend this hotel

The hotel manager was totally insensitive to our complaint about the room being cold. We prepaid three nights and missed the first one due to bad weather and cancellation of trains and we informed the hotel. in spite of this, there was no attempt by the hotel management to treat us with a professional responsibility. She did not extend our stay with the same rate we had booked. She quoted us a higher rate and we left for another hotel. The breakfast was terrible. The big sign in the breakfast room reads: "If you take anything out of the breakfast room, the fee will be charged to your room". This is not the way a 4 star hotel deals with clients. The hotel building is 4 star but the attitute is worse than 1 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 12, 2010

NOT a 4 star hotel

If you're looking for a two star hotel in a good location, this is the one for you. However, when you're expecting a four star hotel as they claim to be, you're more than a little annoyed when they show you to your room. Under no circumstances could this be considered four stars. First of all, the security issue. They have actual keys for the room and you are required to leave your room key with the front desk every time you leave. Besides being annoying, it is also unsafe. Not once did they ask us for ID when we came back and picked up our key. We merely said what room we were in and they handed over the key. They rotated staff, too, so it wasn't like the person recognized us. Also, if you want to use the safe you have to give them a 5 Euro deposit and then carry around a bulky key all day. The room was very small and didn't have any comfy chairs to lounge in, like I would have expected in this hotel class. My husband and I like to take leisurely vacations and end up spending a lot of time in the room, but this room was not inviting at all. The beds were very firm and they provided us with only two very small and hard pillows. The bedding was simply pitiful. They gave us a sheet and a "blanket", which was simply some of the window fabric thrown over the sheet. This isn't what one expects in a four star hotel. Now for the bathroom. It was clean, but that's about all it had going for it. They didn't provide any soap or shampoo, which is usually a given in a place that claims they're a four star hotel (In fact, I've never had to provide my own soap, no matter the star rating of the hotel). We had to go buy hand soap from the grocery. My husband always uses the shampoo provided, so he had to buy shampoo. They provided a minimal number of thin, hard towels. The shower was so tiny that it was difficult for me and I'm a short, slender female. My husband had a heck of a time in there! There was no bathtub, either. Something that would be a given in a four star hotel. One last thing. If you're hoping to have the hotel store your luggage for you, you're only option is to just leave it sitting in the lobby. They have nowhere else to put it. If I'd booked a two star hotel, then this would have fit the bill. Unfortunately, they're trying to pass themselves off as a four star hotel and they simply aren't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Mangiafuoco Bracerie on Via Guelfa. It's about a three block walk from the hotel. Excellent food and service. They have typical Tuscan cuisine and food from other parts of Italy.

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveler2341562
New York, NY, USA
Feb 26, 2012

not a four-star hotel

The room was fine, with a great shower, poor towels, and no English TV. But it was right next to one of their dining areas, so when people sat at 7:30, our sleeping was over. On top of that, they "store" your luggage right by the side of the entry--not very safe. This was a very good two-star hotel, but no better than that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tulas, OK
Jul 7, 2010

Great location

Very central location, but not the best if you want peae and quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Beach, CA
Aug 5, 2010

A quaint hotel in the heart of Florence

The hotel is nice, clean and in the center of Florence. The only downside is that there is a little construction in the building next store so you have to go through a different entrance with no elevator to the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance from Hotel California.

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tulas, OK
Jul 7, 2010

Great location

Very central location, but not the best if you want peae and quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Nov 26, 2009

Great Location

The hotel is located very close to the Duomo. The hotel is actually located on 28 not 30 when you check in. We had trouble looking for the main lobby entrance since there were no signages. The hotel seems to be newly renovated or still going through renovation. The room they gave us was very noisy. There was construction work next to our room. Breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This was the cheapest hotel we paid compared to the hotel in Rome, Venice, and Madrid.

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Beach, CA
Aug 5, 2010

A quaint hotel in the heart of Florence

The hotel is nice, clean and in the center of Florence. The only downside is that there is a little construction in the building next store so you have to go through a different entrance with no elevator to the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance from Hotel California.

Back to menu Return to top