$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

California Hotel Florence

4 stars
Via Ricasoli 30, Florence, 50122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
22 reviews
Hotel California

The room was very small, not what I expected, thought I was getting a good price from your website... See full review

  • Robert single traveler
  • Jun 4, 2013
Excellent Hotel

I was very concerned about taking a chance with online booking, but I was so pleasantly surprised. ... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 7, 2010
Classic Florentine boutique hotel steps from Michelangelo's David
With only 22 rooms, the Hotel California Florence is the very definition of Florentine intimacy. It's smart and polished boutique property, just steps away from Michelangelo's David Museum. Rooms are simple yet smart with modern amenities, and a complimentary breakfast is a welcome addition, especially when it is served on the hotel's garden terrace. 
Highlights
  • Prime location: down the street from Michelangelo's David
  • Breakfast (included) served on a garden terrace
  • Bathrooms adorned in white Carrara marble
Rooms
The 22 rooms at the Hotel California are decorated in typical Florentine style, all with private facilities as well as telephone, satellite TV, safe, and air conditioning. Bathrooms are equipped with either a bathtub or shower, and all feature white Carrara marble. Some rooms offer coveted views of the Cupola of the Duomo or a private terrace.
Features
  • The Hotel California Florence, a self-proclaimed "small paradise in Florence," is indeed an intimate, boutique Florentine hotel located in a historic building just steps away from Michelangelo's David Museum.
  • Decorated in classic Florentine style, many of the guest rooms and public spaces are adorned with authentic steel ornaments, frescoes, and stucco work reflective of the Renaissance period.
  • Rooms are spacious and equipped with modern amenities, with some offering rewarding views of the Cupola of the Duomo.
  • Breakfast is included and served on a spacious garden terrace, which is also the ideal spot for relaxing with a cocktail while admiring the facades of the neighboring buildings.
Transportation

Transportation

  • Florence Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
Attractions
  • Boboli Gardens (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Duomo and Baptistry (0.1 mi/0.2 meters)
  • Uffizi Gallery (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Michelangelo's David Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)

Hotel Map

43.7743 11.2566
Area served
Florence.
Nearby airports
Amerigo Vespucci International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel California is situated on the second floor of a historic building in a central street, via Rissole, the same street where is the Michelangelo's David Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed California Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

California Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Double Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable satellite TV, color TV, hairdryer, heating, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service

Nearby points of interest

  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.1 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.1 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.2 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.1 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.1 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.2 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.3 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.4 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.4 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.4 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.4 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.8 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.9 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.1 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.5 mi
  • Fiesole: 3 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for California Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, Canada
Jul 17, 2010

Enjoyed Our Stay

The location is excellent as attractions are mostly walking distance for up to 15 minutes, except Piazzale Michelangelo where we have to take the bus. The train station is also closeby that we only have to walk. Excellent staff service, provide us with maps and explain the attractions on maps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a budget dining option in the train station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 1, 2009

Nice 3-star Hotel

This hotel, while in a very old building and city, has obviously been recently renovated and my room had lovely features. I wasn't crazy about the shower, which had no curtain and thus got water all over the bathroom floor, but at least I didn't have to clean it up (the housekeeping crew was great). I also wished for something to hang a dress on - I didn't need an entire closet, but a hook would've been nice. The location was perfect, the staff very nice, the breakfast quite adequate, and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The museum that houses "David" is just down the street, and the Duomo is just down the street in the opposite direction. The hotel is also a short walk from the train station, the Arno River, Uffize Gallery, and countless other amazing points of interest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
Jul 24, 2011

Nice and getting nicer....

Very nice hotel in very good location. Renovations still in progress and it should be even nicer when complete. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooftop bar was a great surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is in an area of many one-way streets and a great deal of tourists. If you drive, call ahead on best way to get to the hotel. (GPS could not find it)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 21, 2010

I was completely satisfied

The staff was friendly and helped me with any questions or concerns that I have had. The bathroom was very clean and modern with a whirlpool bathtub. They provide basic toiletries and renew them every day. Their bar is not over priced like most other hotel bars. The only negative part was that instead of a double bed, I had two single beds pushed together. With every single movement they came apart creating a huge gap in the middle of the bed. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and being very close to the center of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greece
Dec 10, 2009

good location, good price and clean room

The hotel was under construction, but nothing bothered us. It was neat and clean for the price. Especially bath room was new. And it was in the best location to go around the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 26, 2009

Great Location

The hotel is located very close to the Duomo. The hotel is actually located on 28 not 30 when you check in. We had trouble looking for the main lobby entrance since there were no signages. The hotel seems to be newly renovated or still going through renovation. The room they gave us was very noisy. There was construction work next to our room. Breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This was the cheapest hotel we paid compared to the hotel in Rome, Venice, and Madrid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulas, OK
Jul 7, 2010

Great location

Very central location, but not the best if you want peae and quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Aug 5, 2010

A quaint hotel in the heart of Florence

The hotel is nice, clean and in the center of Florence. The only downside is that there is a little construction in the building next store so you have to go through a different entrance with no elevator to the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance from Hotel California.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveler2341562
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 26, 2012

not a four-star hotel

The room was fine, with a great shower, poor towels, and no English TV. But it was right next to one of their dining areas, so when people sat at 7:30, our sleeping was over. On top of that, they "store" your luggage right by the side of the entry--not very safe. This was a very good two-star hotel, but no better than that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trujillo
Business
Miami, Fl
Mar 28, 2014

Great location but worst customer service at front desk

I had the worst customer service experience I ever had. I reported broken and dirty bathroom parts that allowed the water to accumulate inside shower and go out and I was asked to fix it with my hands and ask for drying floor as needed. I also asked for the missing shower towel, and I was told they did not have any one at this time...People in the front desk seemed to be tired and become upset when you asked for information about the city...I could not believe it!!! I do not recommend the hotel if you want to enjoy your trip. Bar/Buffet employees provides outstanding service. Great pizza/service at Gelato restaurant close to "ponte veccio"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top