$117 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

California Hotel Florence

4 stars
Via Ricasoli 30, Florence, 50122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
22 reviews
Hotel California

The room was very small, not what I expected, thought I was getting a good price from your website... See full review

  • Robert single traveler
  • Jun 4, 2013
Excellent Hotel

I was very concerned about taking a chance with online booking, but I was so pleasantly surprised. ... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 7, 2010
Classic Florentine boutique hotel steps from Michelangelo's David
With only 22 rooms, the Hotel California Florence is the very definition of Florentine intimacy. It's smart and polished boutique property, just steps away from Michelangelo's David Museum. Rooms are simple yet smart with modern amenities, and a complimentary breakfast is a welcome addition, especially when it is served on the hotel's garden terrace. 
Highlights
  • Prime location: down the street from Michelangelo's David
  • Breakfast (included) served on a garden terrace
  • Bathrooms adorned in white Carrara marble
Rooms
The 22 rooms at the Hotel California are decorated in typical Florentine style, all with private facilities as well as telephone, satellite TV, safe, and air conditioning. Bathrooms are equipped with either a bathtub or shower, and all feature white Carrara marble. Some rooms offer coveted views of the Cupola of the Duomo or a private terrace.
Features
  • The Hotel California Florence, a self-proclaimed "small paradise in Florence," is indeed an intimate, boutique Florentine hotel located in a historic building just steps away from Michelangelo's David Museum.
  • Decorated in classic Florentine style, many of the guest rooms and public spaces are adorned with authentic steel ornaments, frescoes, and stucco work reflective of the Renaissance period.
  • Rooms are spacious and equipped with modern amenities, with some offering rewarding views of the Cupola of the Duomo.
  • Breakfast is included and served on a spacious garden terrace, which is also the ideal spot for relaxing with a cocktail while admiring the facades of the neighboring buildings.
Transportation

Transportation

  • Florence Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
Attractions
  • Boboli Gardens (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Duomo and Baptistry (0.1 mi/0.2 meters)
  • Uffizi Gallery (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Michelangelo's David Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)

Hotel Map

43.7743 11.2566
Area served
Florence.
Nearby airports
Amerigo Vespucci International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel California is situated on the second floor of a historic building in a central street, via Rissole, the same street where is the Michelangelo's David Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed California Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

California Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Double Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable satellite TV, color TV, hairdryer, heating, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service

Nearby points of interest

  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.1 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.1 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.2 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.1 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.1 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.2 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.3 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.4 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.4 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.4 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.4 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.8 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.9 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.1 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.5 mi
  • Fiesole: 3 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for California Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Apr 7, 2010

Excellent Hotel

I was very concerned about taking a chance with online booking, but I was so pleasantly surprised. I think what finally helped me to say yes to this one, because I spent hours researching, was the reviews; when they say they would recommend it to a friend, I felt re-assured about my decision. What was also nice was that it just happened to be on the same street my daughter's apartment was while she was here in school. This hotel has a great location. It is on the same street as the David and just around the corner from the Duomo. There is so much to see, Florence is really a fabulous place to visit. There is great shopping, outstanding food and wine. We never had a bad bottle of wine nor a bad meal. Be sure to go to the Piazza Michael Angelo, breathtaking views of all of Florence. We also, through Florence for Fun, did a walk and wine tasting tour that took us to the heart of the vineyards in Chianti country in Panzano, well worth the excursion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse, NY
Mar 18, 2010

Amazingly Great Surprise

While my girlfriend and I did not spend much time in the room (we were in Florence after all), we enjoyed the hotel very much. We booked the room for only 60 DOLLARS a night. My girlfriend was skeptical of the hotel due to the inexpensive price and name, but I booked it anyways due to other reviews and pictures I saw as well as the location. My girlfriend was amazed by the hotel. It was all brand new. Everything in the hotel looked brand new and amazingly decorated. Not only that, but the hotel is a block and a half from the Duomo, and a block and a half from the Galleria Dell'academia. For those of you that don't know, those are the two best and most popular things to visit in Florence. All in all the hotel had the best of the best with a very affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Visitor Also
Business
NY
Feb 5, 2013

I go there every time!

Excellent value, especially for Italy. Modern bathrooms, pleasant rooms, decent breakfast, excellent location. Not a super friendly staff, expensive Internet and no duvet covers on bed, just reusable bedspread, but super clean, relaxing, beautiful architectural details. I go there everytime I am in Florence, a few times a year. A definite recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Dec 1, 2009

Nice 3-star Hotel

This hotel, while in a very old building and city, has obviously been recently renovated and my room had lovely features. I wasn't crazy about the shower, which had no curtain and thus got water all over the bathroom floor, but at least I didn't have to clean it up (the housekeeping crew was great). I also wished for something to hang a dress on - I didn't need an entire closet, but a hook would've been nice. The location was perfect, the staff very nice, the breakfast quite adequate, and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The museum that houses "David" is just down the street, and the Duomo is just down the street in the opposite direction. The hotel is also a short walk from the train station, the Arno River, Uffize Gallery, and countless other amazing points of interest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marites B.
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 31, 2011

very good

there very nice, the whole staff are very helpful. this place are very close to every where,train station, bus,food places are everywhere and shopping places too. We recommend this hotel for everybody, very clean and they fix your room everyday and give you new towel everytime...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

buy a bus ticket good for a week to commute to save money. its easy to use and you can always ask the driver to any stop u want...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler on teacher's budget
harrisonburg, va
Sep 23, 2010

California in Florence!!

The location is SUPERB! we were able to check in and within minutes see the David. we loved the location which was easy to find. the rooms were clean, and the bathrooms spacious (on a european scale). i didn't like that you had a card key that had to be turned into the desk.... and the air conditioner was run on the card key-- so our room was stiffling for the first 35 mintues when we returned... the hotel was perfect for us-- we were more interested in the city then we were with our accomodations-- and we loved this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, Canada
Jul 17, 2010

Enjoyed Our Stay

The location is excellent as attractions are mostly walking distance for up to 15 minutes, except Piazzale Michelangelo where we have to take the bus. The train station is also closeby that we only have to walk. Excellent staff service, provide us with maps and explain the attractions on maps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a budget dining option in the train station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert single traveler
Italy
Jun 4, 2013

Hotel California

The room was very small, not what I expected, thought I was getting a good price from your website but got what I paid for a very small bed and not much room to move.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franch_lace
Austin, TX
Jul 24, 2010

Good Location

We were on vacation with the children and wanted to stay in a family friendly hotel that was also close to the places we needed to visit. This hotel was in a good location so we did not need to take cabs to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums and shops are with working distance so we did not need to use any cabs or buses

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 21, 2010

I was completely satisfied

The staff was friendly and helped me with any questions or concerns that I have had. The bathroom was very clean and modern with a whirlpool bathtub. They provide basic toiletries and renew them every day. Their bar is not over priced like most other hotel bars. The only negative part was that instead of a double bed, I had two single beds pushed together. With every single movement they came apart creating a huge gap in the middle of the bed. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and being very close to the center of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search