$91 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

California Hotel Florence

4 stars
View map of Via Ricasoli 30, Florence, 50122

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for California Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Visitor Also
Business
NY
Feb 5, 2013

I go there every time!

Excellent value, especially for Italy. Modern bathrooms, pleasant rooms, decent breakfast, excellent location. Not a super friendly staff, expensive Internet and no duvet covers on bed, just reusable bedspread, but super clean, relaxing, beautiful architectural details. I go there everytime I am in Florence, a few times a year. A definite recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 26, 2009

Great Location

The hotel is located very close to the Duomo. The hotel is actually located on 28 not 30 when you check in. We had trouble looking for the main lobby entrance since there were no signages. The hotel seems to be newly renovated or still going through renovation. The room they gave us was very noisy. There was construction work next to our room. Breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This was the cheapest hotel we paid compared to the hotel in Rome, Venice, and Madrid.

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A satisfied guest
Business
Mamaroneck, New York
Aug 8, 2010

Hotel California

Our room was very comfortable and was decorated in the Florentine style-with a fresco on the ceiling. We loved our little balcony with a view of the Duomo. Although we were in the heart of Florence (the Duomo 2 streets away, the Academia with David right down our street) the room was so quiet. I actually liked breakfast. Yes, my cappucinos and espressos came out of a machine, but they were delicious-and you could have refills during breakfast. The staff were polite, informative, and helpful. We could walk everywhere from our hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book tours in advance to avoid long lines. When we would arrive at attractions like the Academia, there would be long lines snaking around the block, but with our tour guide, we would walk right in at our appointed time.

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marites B.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 31, 2011

very good

there very nice, the whole staff are very helpful. this place are very close to every where,train station, bus,food places are everywhere and shopping places too. We recommend this hotel for everybody, very clean and they fix your room everyday and give you new towel everytime...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

buy a bus ticket good for a week to commute to save money. its easy to use and you can always ask the driver to any stop u want...

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert single traveler
Business
Italy
Jun 4, 2013

Hotel California

The room was very small, not what I expected, thought I was getting a good price from your website but got what I paid for a very small bed and not much room to move.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler on teacher's budget
Business
harrisonburg, va
Sep 23, 2010

California in Florence!!

The location is SUPERB! we were able to check in and within minutes see the David. we loved the location which was easy to find. the rooms were clean, and the bathrooms spacious (on a european scale). i didn't like that you had a card key that had to be turned into the desk.... and the air conditioner was run on the card key-- so our room was stiffling for the first 35 mintues when we returned... the hotel was perfect for us-- we were more interested in the city then we were with our accomodations-- and we loved this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WalruSara
Business
Dallas, Texas
Sep 26, 2010

Location, location, location...

-Great staff, unbeatable location, beautiful hotel, decent room size for Florence. Great third floor bar with beautiful views of the Duomo. -Breakfast was so-so, but free with room rate, so that was a nice touch. Beds aren't terribly comfortable, but they are standard for Florence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Apr 25, 2011

Perfect

The hotel was perfect for what I was looking for. Great breakfast in the morning and very accommodating. Great location. Very close to the train station, shopping and downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franch_lace
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 24, 2010

Good Location

We were on vacation with the children and wanted to stay in a family friendly hotel that was also close to the places we needed to visit. This hotel was in a good location so we did not need to take cabs to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums and shops are with working distance so we did not need to use any cabs or buses

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, Canada
Jul 17, 2010

Enjoyed Our Stay

The location is excellent as attractions are mostly walking distance for up to 15 minutes, except Piazzale Michelangelo where we have to take the bus. The train station is also closeby that we only have to walk. Excellent staff service, provide us with maps and explain the attractions on maps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a budget dining option in the train station.

Back to menu Return to top