$137 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

California Hotel Florence

4 stars
Via Ricasoli 30, Florence, 50122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
36 reviews
Hotel California

The room was very small, not what I expected, thought I was getting a good price from your website... See full review

  • Robert single traveler
  • Jun 4, 2013
I go there every time!

Excellent value, especially for Italy. Modern bathrooms, pleasant rooms, decent breakfast,... See full review

  • Frequent Visitor Also
  • Feb 5, 2013
The Hotel California is situated on the second floor of a historic building in a central street, via Rissole, the same street where is the Michelangelo's David Museum. Recently refurbished, it is very peaceful and comfortable and the surroundings fully reflect the atmosphere of renaissance Florence. A witness to this fact is that many of the bedrooms and public rooms are steel original ornaments, frescoes and stuccowork of the period. The 22 rooms, in Florentine style, are spacious and luminous and provided with air condition, telephone TV-SAT and safe. The bathrooms, with normal bathtub, with Jacuzzi or with shower, are in white Carfare marble and they are provided with hair-dryers. The rooms with view on the Cupola of the Duomo are particulary romantic as it is the breakfast served on the roomy garden-terace. Internet connection directly from the hotel and garage available near the hotel at favorable price. Contact the hotel about rates and special offers. Bar, doctor on call, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, pets allowed, reception, restaurant, room service - 24, safe deposit box and tour desk. Breakfast included.

California Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Double Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable satellite TV, color TV, hairdryer, heating, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed California Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.7743 11.2566
Area served
Florence.
Nearby airports
Amerigo Vespucci International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel California is situated on the second floor of a historic building in a central street, via Rissole, the same street where is the Michelangelo's David Museum.

Nearby points of interest

  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.1 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.1 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.2 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.1 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.1 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.1 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.2 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.2 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.2 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.3 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.3 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.4 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.4 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.4 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.4 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 0.8 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 0.8 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.9 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 1 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1.1 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.5 mi
  • Fiesole: 3 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 43.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for California Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 21, 2010

I was completely satisfied

The staff was friendly and helped me with any questions or concerns that I have had. The bathroom was very clean and modern with a whirlpool bathtub. They provide basic toiletries and renew them every day. Their bar is not over priced like most other hotel bars. The only negative part was that instead of a double bed, I had two single beds pushed together. With every single movement they came apart creating a huge gap in the middle of the bed. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and being very close to the center of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 21, 2010

I was completely satisfied

The staff was friendly and helped me with any questions or concerns that I have had. The bathroom was very clean and modern with a whirlpool bathtub. They provide basic toiletries and renew them every day. Their bar is not over priced like most other hotel bars. The only negative part was that instead of a double bed, I had two single beds pushed together. With every single movement they came apart creating a huge gap in the middle of the bed. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and being very close to the center of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WalruSara
Dallas, Texas
Sep 26, 2010

Location, location, location...

-Great staff, unbeatable location, beautiful hotel, decent room size for Florence. Great third floor bar with beautiful views of the Duomo. -Breakfast was so-so, but free with room rate, so that was a nice touch. Beds aren't terribly comfortable, but they are standard for Florence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WalruSara
Dallas, Texas
Sep 26, 2010

Location, location, location...

-Great staff, unbeatable location, beautiful hotel, decent room size for Florence. Great third floor bar with beautiful views of the Duomo. -Breakfast was so-so, but free with room rate, so that was a nice touch. Beds aren't terribly comfortable, but they are standard for Florence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler on teacher's budget
harrisonburg, va
Sep 23, 2010

California in Florence!!

The location is SUPERB! we were able to check in and within minutes see the David. we loved the location which was easy to find. the rooms were clean, and the bathrooms spacious (on a european scale). i didn't like that you had a card key that had to be turned into the desk.... and the air conditioner was run on the card key-- so our room was stiffling for the first 35 mintues when we returned... the hotel was perfect for us-- we were more interested in the city then we were with our accomodations-- and we loved this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler on teacher's budget
harrisonburg, va
Sep 23, 2010

California in Florence!!

The location is SUPERB! we were able to check in and within minutes see the David. we loved the location which was easy to find. the rooms were clean, and the bathrooms spacious (on a european scale). i didn't like that you had a card key that had to be turned into the desk.... and the air conditioner was run on the card key-- so our room was stiffling for the first 35 mintues when we returned... the hotel was perfect for us-- we were more interested in the city then we were with our accomodations-- and we loved this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 12, 2010

NOT a 4 star hotel

If you're looking for a two star hotel in a good location, this is the one for you. However, when you're expecting a four star hotel as they claim to be, you're more than a little annoyed when they show you to your room. Under no circumstances could this be considered four stars. First of all, the security issue. They have actual keys for the room and you are required to leave your room key with the front desk every time you leave. Besides being annoying, it is also unsafe. Not once did they ask us for ID when we came back and picked up our key. We merely said what room we were in and they handed over the key. They rotated staff, too, so it wasn't like the person recognized us. Also, if you want to use the safe you have to give them a 5 Euro deposit and then carry around a bulky key all day. The room was very small and didn't have any comfy chairs to lounge in, like I would have expected in this hotel class. My husband and I like to take leisurely vacations and end up spending a lot of time in the room, but this room was not inviting at all. The beds were very firm and they provided us with only two very small and hard pillows. The bedding was simply pitiful. They gave us a sheet and a "blanket", which was simply some of the window fabric thrown over the sheet. This isn't what one expects in a four star hotel. Now for the bathroom. It was clean, but that's about all it had going for it. They didn't provide any soap or shampoo, which is usually a given in a place that claims they're a four star hotel (In fact, I've never had to provide my own soap, no matter the star rating of the hotel). We had to go buy hand soap from the grocery. My husband always uses the shampoo provided, so he had to buy shampoo. They provided a minimal number of thin, hard towels. The shower was so tiny that it was difficult for me and I'm a short, slender female. My husband had a heck of a time in there! There was no bathtub, either. Something that would be a given in a four star hotel. One last thing. If you're hoping to have the hotel store your luggage for you, you're only option is to just leave it sitting in the lobby. They have nowhere else to put it. If I'd booked a two star hotel, then this would have fit the bill. Unfortunately, they're trying to pass themselves off as a four star hotel and they simply aren't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Mangiafuoco Bracerie on Via Guelfa. It's about a three block walk from the hotel. Excellent food and service. They have typical Tuscan cuisine and food from other parts of Italy.

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 12, 2010

NOT a 4 star hotel

If you're looking for a two star hotel in a good location, this is the one for you. However, when you're expecting a four star hotel as they claim to be, you're more than a little annoyed when they show you to your room. Under no circumstances could this be considered four stars. First of all, the security issue. They have actual keys for the room and you are required to leave your room key with the front desk every time you leave. Besides being annoying, it is also unsafe. Not once did they ask us for ID when we came back and picked up our key. We merely said what room we were in and they handed over the key. They rotated staff, too, so it wasn't like the person recognized us. Also, if you want to use the safe you have to give them a 5 Euro deposit and then carry around a bulky key all day. The room was very small and didn't have any comfy chairs to lounge in, like I would have expected in this hotel class. My husband and I like to take leisurely vacations and end up spending a lot of time in the room, but this room was not inviting at all. The beds were very firm and they provided us with only two very small and hard pillows. The bedding was simply pitiful. They gave us a sheet and a "blanket", which was simply some of the window fabric thrown over the sheet. This isn't what one expects in a four star hotel. Now for the bathroom. It was clean, but that's about all it had going for it. They didn't provide any soap or shampoo, which is usually a given in a place that claims they're a four star hotel (In fact, I've never had to provide my own soap, no matter the star rating of the hotel). We had to go buy hand soap from the grocery. My husband always uses the shampoo provided, so he had to buy shampoo. They provided a minimal number of thin, hard towels. The shower was so tiny that it was difficult for me and I'm a short, slender female. My husband had a heck of a time in there! There was no bathtub, either. Something that would be a given in a four star hotel. One last thing. If you're hoping to have the hotel store your luggage for you, you're only option is to just leave it sitting in the lobby. They have nowhere else to put it. If I'd booked a two star hotel, then this would have fit the bill. Unfortunately, they're trying to pass themselves off as a four star hotel and they simply aren't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Mangiafuoco Bracerie on Via Guelfa. It's about a three block walk from the hotel. Excellent food and service. They have typical Tuscan cuisine and food from other parts of Italy.

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A satisfied guest
Mamaroneck, New York
Aug 8, 2010

Hotel California

Our room was very comfortable and was decorated in the Florentine style-with a fresco on the ceiling. We loved our little balcony with a view of the Duomo. Although we were in the heart of Florence (the Duomo 2 streets away, the Academia with David right down our street) the room was so quiet. I actually liked breakfast. Yes, my cappucinos and espressos came out of a machine, but they were delicious-and you could have refills during breakfast. The staff were polite, informative, and helpful. We could walk everywhere from our hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book tours in advance to avoid long lines. When we would arrive at attractions like the Academia, there would be long lines snaking around the block, but with our tour guide, we would walk right in at our appointed time.

Review of California Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Beach, CA
Aug 5, 2010

A quaint hotel in the heart of Florence

The hotel is nice, clean and in the center of Florence. The only downside is that there is a little construction in the building next store so you have to go through a different entrance with no elevator to the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance from Hotel California.

Back to menu Return to top