$230 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 22, 2014

Berchielli Hotel Florence

4 stars
Lungarno Acciaiuoli 14, Florence, 50123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
25 reviews
Nice hotel in great location

wonderful staff who called in our dinner reservations when we had language issues making them... See full review

  • Denise M.
  • May 27, 2013
Trip to Italy

Having received the Berchielli as a recommendation from a family member, we were completly... See full review

  • Exercise Enthusiast
  • May 21, 2013
Elegance and sophistication overlooking the Arno and Ponte Vecchio

Since the late 19th century, the Hotel Berchielli has been charming guests with its timeless elegance and sophisticated atmosphere, a true gem that fully leverages local craftsmanship and the finest materials. With breathtaking views over the Arno River and Ponte Vecchio, the hotel is a combined resting place and destination for discriminating travelers looking for the ideal base from which to discover all of the city's local treasures.

Highlights
  • Timeless elegance, welcoming guests since 1890
  • Prime location overlooking the Arno and Ponte Vecchio
  • Steps from designer shops and boutiques
Rooms

Elegantly furnished, the 76 rooms at Berchielli Hotel Florence combine soft, neutral tones, thick pile carpets and precious marble, all combining effortlessly to produce a warm and harmonious atmosphere. Rooms are completely soundproofed and include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar, direct-dial telephone, complimentary Wi-Fi, safe, hairdryer and deluxe toiletries.

Features

Since 1890, the Hotel Berchielli has been charming guests with timeless architecture, stately atmosphere and sophisticated adornments fully deserving of the hotel's four-star status. Stained glass windows, chrome and wrought iron works, fine marble and stone blend together effortlessly here, the end result which is more museum than lodge.

However, the hotel's welcoming and polished staff quickly dispel any notions of cultural solitude. Indeed, visitors are cherished as long-lost friends, a compelling reason why so many return year-after-year, whether for business or leisure.

Rooms are elegantly furnished in soft, neutral tones, yielding an atmosphere of peacefulness and calm--welcome amenities at the end of a busy day.

Transportation
  • Santa Maria Novella train station (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Florence Airport (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
Attractions
  • Uffizi Gallery (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Duomo and Baptistry (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Boboli Gardens (.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Ponte Vecchio (.8 mi/1.4 km)

Hotel Map

43.7692 11.2516
Area served
Florence.
Nearby airports
Florence: Amerigo Vespucci International Airport 10 Km.
Area description
Hotel Berchielli is located in the historical centre of the city. It stands on the right bank of the River Arno just moments walk away from the Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi Gallery, Pitti Palace, Piazza Signoria and the famous Brunelleschi Dome. The main train station Santa Maria Novella is just 800 metres away and for those arriving by car the hotel garage will take care of the parking directly on arrival at the hotel for a small charge. For the shopaholics, the hotel is just a few steps away from the designer names shops and boutiques and the local Florentine markets.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Berchielli Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Berchielli Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Double Room
The Room offers 1 Double or 2 Twin Beds with air conditioning,balcony/terrace,bathrobe,bathroom amenities,cable/satellite TV,color TV,ensuite/private bathroom,hairdryer,heating,internet access,laundry service at cost,mini bar,non-smoking rooms,radio,room service,safe in room,telephone and valet service.
Standard Triple Room
The Room offers 3 single beds or 1 double+ 1single bed with air conditioning,balcony/terrace,bathrobe,bathroom amenities,cable/satellite TV,color TV,ensuite/private bathroom,hairdryer,heating,internet access,laundry service at cost,mini bar,non-smoking rooms,radio,room service,safe in room,telephone and valet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Pitti Palace: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.1 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.1 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.2 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.2 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.3 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Pitti Palace: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Novela Basilica: 0.1 mi
  • Corridoio Vasariano: 0.1 mi
  • Museo di Palazzo Davanzati: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Uffizi Gallery (Galleria degli Uffizi): 0.2 mi
  • Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Signoria: 0.2 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.3 mi
  • Boboli Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum): 0.4 mi
  • Giotto's Bell Tower (Campanile di Giotto): 0.4 mi
  • Piazza del Duomo: 0.4 mi
  • Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore: 0.4 mi
  • Duomo Museum (Museo dell'Opera del Duomo): 0.4 mi
  • Laurentian Library (Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana): 0.4 mi
  • Church of Santa Maria Novella: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Vecchio: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Novella Train station: 0.4 mi
  • Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee): 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di San Lorenzo: 0.5 mi
  • Mercato Centrale: 0.6 mi
  • Galleria dell'Accademia: 0.7 mi
  • Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica Of San Lorenzo: 0.8 mi
  • Museo di San Marco: 0.8 mi
  • Cimitero Delle Porte Sante: 0.8 mi
  • Piazzale Michelangelo: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Croce: 0.8 mi
  • Piazza San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Giardino Corsi: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di San Miniato al Monte: 1 mi
  • Giardino Della Gherardesca: 1.2 mi
  • Artemio Franchi Stadium: 1.6 mi
  • Museo Stibbert: 1.9 mi
  • Fiesole: 3.4 mi
  • Baptistry (Battistero): 42.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Berchielli Hotel Florence

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Berchielli Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rare traveler
Chicago area
Aug 16, 2011

Great hotel

We were very happy with our hotel. The location directly across from the Arno River was gorgeous! Everything was within walking distance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Berchielli Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Jun 8, 2011

Great hotel. Pefect location!

Perfect location; walking distance to all! Strolling from place to place sampling local food and wines was dreamy. Our last night sunset along the Arno was memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the open bus tours. Get on and off. They'll provide relatively cheap transportation and get you to all the sights

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Berchielli Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rome_first_timer
Wylie, TX
May 31, 2011

Great Hotel

Hotel was very clean. Room was large, in fact for three adults there was a single in a small separate room and an additional bath. Staff was the best of all my stays in Italy. Very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast exceeded our expectations. Only drawback is that the WIFI is slow and sometimes unresponsive both in the room and in the lobby. I will stay here again on our next visit. Great location along the river. No view from our room but right in the middle of the attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Berchielli Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New2Europe
Boston ma
May 25, 2011

Great Hotel, Great location

Great Hotel in the middle of it all, right on the ponte vecchio. The most beautiful bath I've seen in a hotel. Just a short walk to the piazza Della signorina. Internet connection was spotty, but soon learned that's just Italy (next time I'll leave the computer at home) Would go back in a second!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk out the front door and look to your left

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Berchielli Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chattanooga,Tn
Apr 24, 2011

A bargain of excellence and quiet reserv

The magic began as we were shown to our room.We opened the shutters and the curtains framed an unforgettable view of the Arno River. Looking to the left there was the Ponte Vecchio, looking to the right there were layer after layer of bridges crossing the river with their perfect reflections mirrored in the water. Looking across, there was a bell tower, a fixture of of Old Europe. The buffet breakfast was such a spread, a variety sure to please everyone and the service was supreme, people just waiting to meet your every need. This service level lasted for the entire nine days and we were never disappointed. It was obvious that someone spent a lot of time ensuring that the details defined their hotel. Location, location, location we are told is of utmost importance. Well, again this hotel comes out on top. Shopping, trattorias, historic sights, all within a few feet of your hotel. Your main worry is "Can I do it all?" If there was any complaint at all it was with the master control of the room temperature. It was controlled centrslly by the hotel powers that be, and if your comfort level didn't agree with theirs, your only means to control room temp was to open or close the window. It was not a big deal, but just took a day or two to adjust to that style of modulating a comfort zone.. It's a bargain at any price. All in all, run, don't walk to the Berchielli

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Berchielli Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FloTravel
Business
New York
Apr 14, 2011

Old but quiet, very nice staff

Get a map of Florence before arriving in the city! I had directions from a certain well-known company, but ended up spending an hour an half to get there instead of 15 minutes. The hotel is really old-fashioned. They actually use a key (which I prefer). The staff was very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was pretty good. The location was great, very close to shopping, museums, train station, etc. but yet quiet. I didn't have a view of the Arno river, but really why sit in the room? My room was a bit dark. The only things that could have been imporoved was the quality of the bed (a bit hard); for the price they could have included some lotion in the toileteries; coffee maker in the room; and the heavy shower curtain is not effective (The last two seem to be a general problem in Europe)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Delicious ice cream places. I went to one that had Mexican spicy chocolate ice cream!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Berchielli Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Warrenton, VA
Mar 13, 2011

A jewel.... Incomparable!

Perfect setting for new visitors and old timers alike. Location on the River Arno makes the hotel charming and close to the key attractions of the old city. The staff excels in all aspects....never saw a frown. We were the envy of all of our family who also were staying in Florence. We would return to the Hotel Berchielli in an instant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel serves a spendid breakfast. Excellent lunch and evening dining is within a short walking distance. You can experience many different dining adventures and not miss the essence of Florence.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Berchielli Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MS. PAM
FORNEY, TEXAS
Jan 31, 2011

FLORENTINE JEWEL

HOTEL BERCHIELLI WAS ABSOLUTELY THE PERFECT CHOICE FOR US. SITUATED ON THE PONTE VECCHIO, WE WERE WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF ALL THE MAJOR GALLERIES AND MUSEUMS. MASSIMO, FRONT DESK PERSONNEL, WAS AWESOME WITH HIS ATTENTION TO HOTEL GUESTS AND PROVIDED SPECIAL SERVICES WE WOULDN'T HAVE BEEN ABLE TO LOCATE ON OUR OWN. WE WILL AGAIN CHOOSE THIS HOTEL ON OUR RETURN TO FLORENCE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ANTICO FATTORE RESTAURANT WAS A SHORT WALK FROM THE HOTEL AND WAS FANTASTIC! WAITERS WERE HELPFUL IN ASSISTING CUSTOMERS WITH THEIR MENU AND WITH MAKING SUGGESTIONS FOR ENTREES OUTSIDE YOUR USUAL COMFORT ZONE. A SPECIAL DESSERT (FRIED APPLES) WAS A DELIGHT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Berchielli Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Nov 30, 2010

Our Florence Trip

Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were great, buffet breakfast was perfect. Most important attribute-LOCATION! Can walk to most Florence locations from this hotel. Just steps away from the Ponte Vecchio, it truely is a real gem. Wonderful experience at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you visit Infinity Leather and purchase a world-class leather bag from [...] made right in the back of his shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Berchielli Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago, illinois
Nov 15, 2010

great option for florence visit

unbeatable location, friendly staff with rooms that are clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. breakfast was good as well. i'd stay here again and recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top