$115 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

Atlantic Palace Hotel Florence

4 stars
View map of Via Nazionale, 12, Florence, 50123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Atlantic Palace Hotel Florence

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atlantic Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruno Kathy
Thailand / Canada
Nov 12, 2012

Good location and choice for a few days in Florence

The Atlantic Palace Hotel is probably not a 4 star hotel (more like 3 stars), however our experience there was certainly a good and enjoyable one. Hotel staff are courteous and helpful and speak English well. They serve a great buffet breakfast with a lot of variety to choose from. The location is perfect for walking around, there are lots of restaurants nearby with good food and reasonable prices. It is close to the train station and easy to walk to with luggage. While our room was kind of dark, it was quiet and away from the street noise which can be noisy if facing the street. I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is in an excellent location to get to from the train station and within easy walking distance of most of the old city sites. There is an large market around the corner where you can see loads of leather products, coats, jackets, purses etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Mac
Business
sutton Coldfield
May 4, 2012

Excellent location

Really good location, standard continental breakfast. Upgraded to superior room but view was of residential apartments. The restaurant next door was very good and the prices very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The indoor food market is a must see and the leather goods in the street market are quality and excellent value. Both are just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
prettynerd
Business
Davao City, Philippines
Apr 6, 2012

Just OK but value is less than a 4 star hotel

I expect more of a 4 star hotel room than a bath robe. Yes, I think that this is the only thing that differs this hotel from the other hotels I stayed in. I chose this 4 star hotel after I took a 3 star hotel in Rome which was really awful (I felt like I was in a motel) but it did not WOW me at all. Kudos for a good service though. I stayed here for 4 nights and most of the people were really nice except for 2 of them. They were many and I only hated 2 from the reception. ^_^

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Friscola
Business
New Providence, NJ, USA
Mar 26, 2012

The worse front desk staff

I don't recommend staying at this hotel based on the front desk personnel. They are very rude, unhelpful and make for a very unpleaseant stay. If you have an outside caller trying to call your room, they ask you to call back several times, say they don't know the room number, ask you to call the person via their cell phone, etc. As a bonus they are very nasty to the caller because they don't want to look up the room number and transfer the call. Don't ask for any city informaion becasue they are very short and impatient with your questions. They are inconsistant with making up your room and providing fresh towels and toilet paper. When they miss doing your room they blame it on you instead of apologizing and sending someone up to rectify the situation. There are so many hotels to choose from in Florence, find another one that likes and appreciates their visitors!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The market and a grocery store are close as are a number of other hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friscola
Business
New Providence, NJ, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Close to market

The hotel is located close to the market, restaurants, grocery store and all of the sites. The breakfast was very good. The room was comfortable and had a large,updated bathroom. I found the front desk staff to be very rude. This was the worse part about staying here. You got the impression you were imposing on them when you had a question or an issue. There are so many hotels in Florence and hopefully the others are more welcoming to their guests. No free Wifi, they charge 8 euro a day. The TV has only one channel in English which is CNN. If you have a car, they charge 33 euro a day to park it. No tea, coffee etc. provided in the room. The room has a small refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market is right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GUADALAJARA, MEXICO
May 27, 2011

IT IS NOT A PALAZZO

IT'S ONLY A HOTEL, NEAR BUSES AND THE TRAIN STATIONS. VERY NOISY AND NOT AT ALL FRIENDLY STAFF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

NEAR BUS TERMINAL AN TRAIN STATION

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GUADALAJARA, MEXICO
May 27, 2011

IT IS NOT A PALAZZO

IT'S ONLY A HOTEL, NEAR BUSES AND THE TRAIN STATIONS. VERY NOISY AND NOT AT ALL FRIENDLY STAFF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

NEAR BUS TERMINAL AN TRAIN STATION

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warrenville, IL
Apr 14, 2011

Great Hotel

We stayed in this hotel while visiting our daughter studying abroad. She met us in the lobby when we arrived and she was cordially invited to join us for breakfast each morning. Breakfast was hot eggs and meat, other cold meats and cheese, rolls, spreads, sweets, fruits, cereals, coffee, juice and cappacino. The building is several centuries old but completely modernized like a new hotel. Walls are very thick so very quiet. Showers were hot with very good pressure. The staff was very helpful. The location was great- close to the bus station and train in one direction and in the other location the mercato centrale, the duomo and the uffizzi. We would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping at street vendors right around the corner. And this shopping leads to the other high end shopping and right up to the Pointe Vecchio- all within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wishing I Could Have Stayed Longer
Business
Texas
Sep 3, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The location was terrific. It was very close to the train station, just as described. It was very close to the market which made it fun. The room had old world charm while being very comfortable. The staff was helpful with directions, maps, and changing money. The breakfast was excellent. My only complaint is that I thought internet access was available free, however, in order to use their guest computer in the lobby, I would have had to purchase a computer card for 6 euros. (On principle alone, I did not.) Other than that, it was a great hotel and I loved Florence!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California Mama
Business
Pebble Beach, CA
Sep 13, 2009

Location, Location, Location!

This lovely, tasteful hotel provides such conveniences as super-quiet air conditioning, modern bathrooms and secure room safes -- while retaining the beautiful "bones" of the old monastery building it once was, including wood-beamed ceilings, opulent tapestry-draped windows and attractive antique furnishings in guest rooms. It is managed by a friendly, helpful, English-speaking staff, and is well-maintained. The ample breakfast buffet includes eggs, rolls, yogurt, cereal, cheese, fruit, breakfast meat, OJ, coffee and tea. Complimentary newspapers, including the International Herald Tribune, are available in the lobby, which has multiple seating sections and a bar. Best of all is the Atlantic Palace's location, five minutes from Florence's central train station and walking distance to all the city's cultural features. Around the corner is a huge outdoor market, and one can easily reach the Duomo, the Accademia art museum (home of Michelangelo's David sculpture), the Uffici and the Pitti Palace. Although the area teams with stores and restaurants, the hotel is an oasis of calm and quiet. Also, the Siti regional bus station is just four blocks away, with service to the airport and, for serious shoppers, several buses a day to the designer outlet center known as The Mall, in Leccio, a 40-minute drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Atlantic Palace offers a pay-for-use computer station in its lobby, but around the corner on Via Faenza are several shops that sell Internet access for a third the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Palace Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Aug 25, 2009

good location, standard and convenient

The Atlantic Palace is in a good loction as Florence is compact and being near ( yet not too near ) the train station was a convenience. It's a 10-15 minute walk to most sites and you have time to walk off that late gelatto before bed. We arrived in August, when it is HOT under the Tuscan Sun and the heat stays with the city at night so be sure to ask for an EXTRA room key to leave in the electric slot in your room to keep the Air Conditioning on at ALL times. Italian Air Conditioning is anemic but this will make the room more comfortable. There is NO WAY that the AC will cool the room after a long day if it is turned on when you arrive back to the room. The bathrooms are new but they cram too much into a small space yet, it is nice to see pride in room care. I would give this hotel 4 stars in comparison to other Florentine hotels but 3 stars on an American scale only as it relates to the size and space issues. Our room window by the bed had no view but on the window by the door, we had a scenic shot of Florentine roofs and the Dome of a Cathedral.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy train tickets using the machines in the station. Do not be overy concerned about being able to buy tickets to the Academmia to see "David" as you can have easy access in the afternoons. This also applies to the Ufitzi but best to make it there very early or late in the day to avoid tourists on tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top