$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Astoria Hotel Florence - A Boscolo 1st Class Hotel

4 stars
View map of Via Del Giglio 9, Florence, Florence, 50123

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Astoria Hotel Florence - A Boscolo 1st Class Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Astoria Hotel Florence - A Boscolo 1st Class Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
worktraveler102012
Business
New York
Oct 16, 2012

Very nice and quiet place to stay in Florence

The location and cleanliness were great. The one inconvenience was that wireless internet was only available in one room of the lounge area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Astoria Hotel Florence - A Boscolo 1st Class Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FlorenceTraveller2
Business
San Diego, California
Sep 27, 2012

Astoria - Not a 4-star hotel at all!

Lets start with the location that is perfect for sightseeing, right in the center of the city. The staff was friendly and helpful. Then the bathroom of our initial room flooded due to a plumbing room. The reassigned room was quiet but tiny, less than 100 sft. The walls paint had come off, everywhere broken off wall trimmings and paint. The room looked very dated, definitely not like a 4-star room. Wifi works only in the lobby and the connection is wonky. Overall the hotel is at best a 3-star hotel - with some issues. Other travelers have confirmed many of them. This is a pity, because the old-world interior design and location could offer so much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

General restaurant quality is rather low in Florence probably due to the amount of tourists that come through this city. However, there are some better eateries. One of them is 'Il theatro'.

Review of Astoria Hotel Florence - A Boscolo 1st Class Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wombat
Business
Milton Keynes, England
Sep 20, 2012

Good central location

Great foyer, slowest and smallest lifts. Room very average with a dribble of a shower which was also cool. Breakfast expensive. On the plus side, fantastic central location with a roof terrace with city views to drool over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Astoria Hotel Florence - A Boscolo 1st Class Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Experiencedtraveler2012
Business
Corona del Mar, CA
Sep 7, 2012

Room smelled

The hotel staff were very nice and competent. My room was sizable but had a sewer smell for all three nights and the air conditioning didn't work. My friend's had a room down the hall without the smell and with an air conditioner that functioned well enough. Another negative was that the WifI was only in a very small radius of the lobby, maybe 10 feet max from the lobby desktop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Astoria Hotel Florence - A Boscolo 1st Class Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunshine seeker
Business
London
Aug 29, 2012

Excellent all round value and located conveniently

Impressed with this hotel. Some miinor improvements that could be made to make a great hotel even better are: 1. Provide a kettle and tea making facilty in room. 2. Have wider steps inside the split level room to upper floor. 3. Keep a wheel chair for emergencies such as with my wife injuring her leg while on an outing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Astoria Hotel Florence - A Boscolo 1st Class Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joe J Garage
Business
Wisconsin USA
Aug 28, 2012

Hotel is aging and needs updates !!!!

Not good. First room: Smelled like sewer or toilet at times Phone didn't work Burnt Light Bulb 2nd room: Air Conditioning didn't work 3rd Room: Smelled of cigarettes Light bulbs stayed partially lit when power was off !!! 4th Room: Shower had a poor caulk repair and flooded the bathroom One entire floor had electrical fixtures hanging by their wires !! 5th Room was top floor, awesome view, extra space. no problems Elevators are super slow Initially told us our booking did not offer free breakfast, when every other Italy hotel we stayed at did. We stayed here only 4 days, hotel staff was friendly, but too many problems for spending $2,800 on airline tickets to deal with this !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Astoria Hotel Florence - A Boscolo 1st Class Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lavaca
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 24, 2012

Not what it appears

This hotel is advertised as a 4 star hotel w/ cache. It is not. The hotel is in desparate need of renovation. The pictures online were clearly taken some time ago. I checked out of the hotel and moved to a nicer one. I would also caution against booking your hotel with this site. I have had a few problems with hotel bookings and minimal customer service to rectify issues. There are other sites that allow you much easier cancellation policies. For me this is important after hotels not meeting their online expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Astoria Hotel Florence - A Boscolo 1st Class Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
janice
Business
cheshire,UK
Jul 9, 2012

Beautiful,well located hotel

a very good experience, staff very friendly and helpful,bedroom lovely and spotless. a very interesting historical building with original features and furnishings. however, impossible to get a drink in the very nice reception area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Astoria Hotel Florence - A Boscolo 1st Class Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John and Cindy from MI
Business
White Lake, MI
Jun 19, 2012

A nice place to stay

This was a nice hotel with some character and a wonderful staff. Our room was not large but adequate. The hotel staff was very helpful with any request and the breakfast was good. We had a very nice time and got lots of exercise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Astoria Hotel Florence - A Boscolo 1st Class Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTG27528
Business
Uxbridge, England
Jun 12, 2012

Great hotel

We stayed in this hotel some years ago and wanted to go back to the same place because of the fantastic roof top terrace/bar. We weren't disappointed; it was as good as we remembered. The only downside I would say (and this maybe more the website's fault, not the hotel) breakfast was not included in the price. It does not state anywhere that it isn't and doesn't give you the option to book it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bucca Mario near Santa Maria Novella (quite expensive but fantastic service/food/setting), and Coquinarius (side street near the Duomo) - best pasta I've ever had!

Review of Astoria Hotel Florence - A Boscolo 1st Class Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Great Family Vacation
Business
Dallas, TX
May 28, 2012

Great Family Vacation

This was both the lowest rate that we paid during our Italian vacation as well as the highest quality hotel. Located just down the street from the Medici Chapel, it was easy to get to from the SMN train station. We had easy access to the Duomo and all the main sites in Florence. The rooms were quite spacious and quite clean. If you stay on floor 4 or above you will have a very nice view of the city from your window. Make sure and get up to the 6th floor balcony for excellent views. The staff was excellent and dealt with our minimal Italian skills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel was quite good. The Ravioli with Butter and Sage sauce was really tasty. Try the chocolate cake for desert and you will not be disappointed.

Back to menu Return to top