$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Oak Wood Arms Hotel

3 stars
Bothar an Aerfoirt Shannon Town, Co. Clare, Shannon, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
60 reviews
Beautiful

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and easy to find of the highway. Only a few minutes from... See full review

  • Monica World Traveler
  • Sep 29, 2013
good hotel

was nice we will be back there again , the hotel was cute and nice See full review

  • orlando couple 2
  • Sep 19, 2013
The Oak Wood Arms enjoys an excellent location just 3kms from Shannon Airport and a short drive to Bunratty Castle, Quin Abbey and Craggaunowen. The Burren and Cliffs of Moher are all within an hour's drive. Skycourt and Ballycasey Craft's Centre are within a short walking distance. We provide free WIFI throughout the property. At the Oak Wood Arms Hotel we have blended and preserved the elegance of the past with the latest technology, ensuring that all demands of discerning clients are satisfied. The hotel's 100 bedrooms are elegantly furnished and are all very spacious with tea/coffee making facilities & flat screen TV with movies on demand. A hearty full Irish breakfast is included in rate. Guests have exclusive use of the hotel state of the art gym or alternatively unwind in the sauna and steam room. Property Amenities: Banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, dry cleaning, gym/ fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift / elevator, non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant, room service and Safe deposit box. The hotel offers amenities such as Banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, dry cleaning, gym/ fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift / elevator, non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant, room service and Safe deposit box.

Hotel Map

52.713 -8.8749
Area served
Shannon.
Nearby airports
Shannon Airport International Airports.
Area description
The Oak Wood Arms Hotel enjoys a fantastic location in the centre of Shannon and provides an ideal base from which to explore all that the West of Ireland has to offer, including Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, The Cliffs of Moher, Cragganowen and The Burren. The hotel is just 3kms from Shannon Airport. There is also excellent access into the town of Ennis & Limerick city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oak Wood Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Oak Wood Arms Hotel Rooms

Double and Twin
Includes full Irish breakfast.Room with 1 double or one twin beds including alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hair dryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay per view movies, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voice mail.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Restaurant
The hotel offers a choice dining in either Palm Court restaurant or Sophies Lounge. The Palm Court restaurant serves an exciting blend of Irish and International Cuisine. It offers diners a varied and delicious menu in an impressive setting with marble floors and vaulted ceilings. Sophies lounge offers a less formal alternative to enjoy the hotels cuisine. Guests may choose from a daily carvery or a comprehensive bar menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1130

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 60
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cynfis
Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA
Aug 4, 2014

airport access

We stayed here twice at the beginning and the end of our journey due to its proximity to the airport. Our first room was small, musty with an old double bed. The second room was a king bedded room for 20 euros more but brighter and not smelly. Breakfast was not bery good ( lousy eggs, watery juice) but the bar and lunch menu was good. it was inconsistent but adequate. The wait staff was excellent but front desk was not as helpful as they could have been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monica World Traveler
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 29, 2013

Beautiful

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and easy to find of the highway. Only a few minutes from Bunratty Castle and an easy find from there. The staff was great and the room was very comfortable (and large). We had a fabulous dinner at "Sophie's Lounge" and breakfast the next morning (included) had a welcomed variety of everything you could ask for. For the price, we certainly did not expect such luxury! Can't beat it! Will for sure stay there on our next trip to Shannon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orlando couple 2
orlando, florida
Sep 19, 2013

good hotel

was nice we will be back there again , the hotel was cute and nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Collingswood
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 6, 2013

Location, location, location

I stayed here one night at the end of a longer Ireland vacation, because it was close to the Shannon Airport. The hotel property sprawls, more like a large motel. The walk to our room was about five minutes. Once, I literally drove to my room. The staff was helpful and friendly. The restaurant's dinner food was good. In our room and in the restaurant, the AC was intermittent at best. There was no hot water in our room -- and I do mean "no hot water" rather than inadequate hot water. The Sky Mall shopping center is down the street. A gas station and McDonald's are next door. The price was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

When traveling out of Shannon, this location is hard to beat. The airport is literally a few minutes away, with little traffic.

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NealNC
Raleigh, NC
Aug 4, 2013

Excellent for using Shannon Airport

Stayed here to be close to Shannon A/P for morning flight. Nice facility, very friendly and helpful staff. They had a taxi for us right on time. Only problem was a wedding reception going strong until after midnight. People going to their rooms were still in party mode! But all in all, once they settled in, the hotel was quiet and comfortable. Excellent breakfast buffet was included in our rate. Reasonable rate - comparable to the B&Bs we stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dosulivan
Bainbridge island, wa
Jun 14, 2013

Great value right near Shannon

The Hotel is right near Shannon. That means, if you're new to driving in Ireland, you don't have to go far when you are tired from travel. The hotel is warm and welcoming, the food is good and not as expensive as elsewhere we stayed. The full Irish Breakfast was wonderful.and the Irish soda bread spectacular. We loved it and high recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed Wood.
Hoboken NJ
Jun 4, 2013

Great Shannon Airport Location

We stayed here our last night in Ireland before flying home out of Shannon Airport in the morning. The convenient location made the morning commute and check in to the airport easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DLynn78
Louisville, KY
May 15, 2013

Pleasant Surprise

After traveling from Dublin all along the West Coast of Ireland and spending almost every night in a different establishment that was supposed to have high marks, we were feeling let down by our hospitality up to that point but, we were pleasantly surprised with Oak Wood Arms. From the moment we walked in we were greeted with friendly staff who actually acknowledged us and chatted with us. Our room was very spacious and the bed was super comfortable and clean. At every other place I stayed, the beds made me feel like my back was broken when I woke up but, at Oak Wood I didn't want to get out of bed it was so comfortable. Yes, the place could use a little renovating here and there but overall, this place was a fantastic deal and we were sad we could only spend one night. It was also very close to the airport which is a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

they have a very nice restaurant that usually requires reservations and nice attire. They also have a great bar that serves food as well in case you have neither nice attire or reservations.

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mobby
cleveland, Oh
Apr 28, 2013

convenient

This is a large comfortable old hotel and worked well for our needs--very close to airport for early morning depart. Staff offered a room before check in time if needed for changing/clean up. One problem--maybe your service, not the hotel?--detailed address or directions not provided on confirmation forms. Something like "airport road?" Could not locate where without help from a pedestrian.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bunhead
Limerick
Sep 11, 2012

Great stay

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, and very clean and comfortable rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search