$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Oak Wood Arms Hotel

3 stars
Bothar an Aerfoirt Shannon Town, Co. Clare, Shannon, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
90 reviews
Beautiful

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and easy to find of the highway. Only a few minutes from... See full review

  • Monica World Traveler
  • Sep 29, 2013
good hotel

was nice we will be back there again , the hotel was cute and nice See full review

  • orlando couple 2
  • Sep 19, 2013
The Oak Wood Arms enjoys an excellent location just 3kms from Shannon Airport and a short drive to Bunratty Castle, Quin Abbey and Craggaunowen. The Burren and Cliffs of Moher are all within an hour's drive. Skycourt and Ballycasey Craft's Centre are within a short walking distance. We provide free WIFI throughout the property. At the Oak Wood Arms Hotel we have blended and preserved the elegance of the past with the latest technology, ensuring that all demands of discerning clients are satisfied. The hotel's 100 bedrooms are elegantly furnished and are all very spacious with tea/coffee making facilities & flat screen TV with movies on demand. A hearty full Irish breakfast is included in rate. Guests have exclusive use of the hotel state of the art gym or alternatively unwind in the sauna and steam room. Property Amenities: Banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, dry cleaning, gym/ fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift / elevator, non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant, room service and Safe deposit box. The hotel offers amenities such as Banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, dry cleaning, gym/ fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift / elevator, non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant, room service and Safe deposit box.

Hotel Map

52.713 -8.8749
Area served
Shannon.
Nearby airports
Shannon Airport International Airports.
Area description
The Oak Wood Arms Hotel enjoys a fantastic location in the centre of Shannon and provides an ideal base from which to explore all that the West of Ireland has to offer, including Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, The Cliffs of Moher, Cragganowen and The Burren. The hotel is just 3kms from Shannon Airport. There is also excellent access into the town of Ennis & Limerick city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oak Wood Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Oak Wood Arms Hotel Rooms

Double and Twin
Includes full Irish breakfast.Room with 1 double or one twin beds including alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hair dryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay per view movies, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voice mail.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Restaurant
The hotel offers a choice dining in either Palm Court restaurant or Sophies Lounge. The Palm Court restaurant serves an exciting blend of Irish and International Cuisine. It offers diners a varied and delicious menu in an impressive setting with marble floors and vaulted ceilings. Sophies lounge offers a less formal alternative to enjoy the hotels cuisine. Guests may choose from a daily carvery or a comprehensive bar menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1130

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 90
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travellin' Steph
Providence, RI
Jun 23, 2014

Good value but not fancy

I was surprised at previous, excellent reviews of this hotel - the price is attractive but you are getting a good price near Shannon Airport because the hotel is outdated, both the rooms and the common areas. However, if like me, you only need accommodations for one night, go for it. It was nice to have a breakfast buffet included in the price. The food was pretty good but nothing to write home about. The manager of the restaurant was very nice to me at night, as I needed a late meal, and he was able to accommodate me after 9:30, when the kitchen closes. However, the bar stays open until 3am! There was Irish music playing at dinner, which was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
staind781
Maine
Aug 28, 2013

Great Place

Overall a great place. Big rooms, wifi, a hotel restaurant and a pub. not to far by car to Cliffs of Moher or other sites in Shannon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Extreme Veteran Traveler
Washington
Aug 23, 2013

Interesting Venue

While not as close to te airport as I had hoped, it was still a very nice stay. The bus does stop there at least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
St Louie Woman
St Louis, Missouri
Jul 29, 2013

Good place to start or end your trip to Ireland

The Oak Wood Arms Hotel, conveniently located close to Shannon Airport, is comfortable with roomy, clean accommodations, a good breakfast (that starts as eary as 5:00 -- good for those with an early flight) and a helpful staff that knows what people on the way to or from Ireland need as a place to launch their journey. There are no walking distance places of interest if you need to kill an afternoon, but with a cab (or car) there is plenty of interest in Shannon. There are good two places to eat in the hotel, both effecient and genenerous. You needn't go hungry. I have stayed there twice, two years apart, and found the quality and flavor of the hotel consistent,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
adventure abound
NY, NY
Apr 16, 2013

excellent hotel- old school charm

Stayed here my last night in Ireland. Beautiful hotel. A little on the 'old school' decoration wise- but that's what gave it it's charm. There's a private airport nearby so they had tons of old aviation pics up. Amazing old furniture that looked like it belonged in a castle. Staff was very friendly and nice. Airport only a 6 min cab ride away so everything worked out excellently! Thanks so much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Find the river nearby- very picturesque.

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Jul 4, 2012

Comfortable and close to Shannon Airport

The hotel is comfortable, quiet, clean, free breakfast buffet, close to Shannon Airport (about 10€ for taxi each way). Free Wi-fi and comfortable beds. Tea, coffee making supplies in room. Hotel is old, shower a bit dodgy, dark walls & interior - but over a good hotel that totally met my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Apr 3, 2011

The Best of Irish Hospitality

Personally I'm tired of all the bad reviews I've seen listed for this hotel, and I certainly could show you nicer pictures of the surrounding area than I've seen on the website. I stayed there in February, my second trip to Ireland in a year. I was there for a week, since plans to stay in Killarney for a couple of days fell threw, and though I didn't drive, I found the the desk clerks extremely helpful in suggesting transportation to local sites, Adare Manor, Dromoland Castle, Bunratty and the folk park, Limerick, Killarney, and my favorite of favorite pubs The Crabtree, a simple cab or bus ride away. I found the hotel itself to be older, but quaint and charming, beautiful wood and stained glass. The food was exceptional, both in the bar and the dining room. My room was clean and quiet. From check in to check out I found everyone to be so helpful and friendly, I can't say enough about them, they were the best of the best and I've traveled a bit. I also must say flying into Shannon Airport was a much nicer experience than Dublin, I'll never go that route again, where ever I go in Ireland. Can't wait to go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Apr 3, 2011

The Best of Irish Hospitality

Personally I'm tired of all the bad reviews I've seen listed for this hotel, and I certainly could show you nicer pictures of the surrounding area than I've seen on the website. I stayed there in February, my second trip to Ireland in a year. I was there for a week, since plans to stay in Killarney for a couple of days fell threw, and though I didn't drive, I found the the desk clerks extremely helpful in suggesting transportation to local sites, Adare Manor, Dromoland Castle, Bunratty and the folk park, Limerick, Killarney, and my favorite of favorite pubs The Crabtree, a simple cab or bus ride away. I found the hotel itself to be older, but quaint and charming, beautiful wood and stained glass. The food was exceptional, both in the bar and the dining room. My room was clean and quiet. From check in to check out I found everyone to be so helpful and friendly, I can't say enough about them, they were the best of the best and I've traveled a bit. I also must say flying into Shannon Airport was a much nicer experience than Dublin, I'll never go that route again, where ever I go in Ireland. Can't wait to go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 21, 2010

Like a night in a Halloween Spook House

I arrived and found no one to help with my luggage and my room was about a quarter mile from the front desk through long, winding, dark and confusing hallways. The only room service is for breakfast. I left my room and tried to get to the restaurant only to find a locked door blocking the hallway-after pounding on the door someone came and pointed to a small button on the wall that I was supposed to know would unlock the door - god know what happens if there is a fire in this place. The printer in the "busines center" would not work so I could not print out my e-tickets. I had to download it, save it, attach it to an email to the front desk and they printed it. Really! Then the key card for my room would not work and I had to hike back to the front desk to get that fixed. I found the staff friendly and as helpful as they could be under the circumstances. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 21, 2010

Like a night in a Halloween Spook House

I arrived and found no one to help with my luggage and my room was about a quarter mile from the front desk through long, winding, dark and confusing hallways. The only room service is for breakfast. I left my room and tried to get to the restaurant only to find a locked door blocking the hallway-after pounding on the door someone came and pointed to a small button on the wall that I was supposed to know would unlock the door - god know what happens if there is a fire in this place. The printer in the "busines center" would not work so I could not print out my e-tickets. I had to download it, save it, attach it to an email to the front desk and they printed it. Really! Then the key card for my room would not work and I had to hike back to the front desk to get that fixed. I found the staff friendly and as helpful as they could be under the circumstances. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top