$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

Oak Wood Arms Hotel

3 stars
Bothar an Aerfoirt Shannon Town, Co. Clare, Shannon, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
60 reviews
Beautiful

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and easy to find of the highway. Only a few minutes from... See full review

  • Monica World Traveler
  • Sep 29, 2013
good hotel

was nice we will be back there again , the hotel was cute and nice See full review

  • orlando couple 2
  • Sep 19, 2013
The Oak Wood Arms enjoys an excellent location just 3kms from Shannon Airport and a short drive to Bunratty Castle, Quin Abbey and Craggaunowen. The Burren and Cliffs of Moher are all within an hour's drive. Skycourt and Ballycasey Craft's Centre are within a short walking distance. We provide free WIFI throughout the property. At the Oak Wood Arms Hotel we have blended and preserved the elegance of the past with the latest technology, ensuring that all demands of discerning clients are satisfied. The hotel's 100 bedrooms are elegantly furnished and are all very spacious with tea/coffee making facilities & flat screen TV with movies on demand. A hearty full Irish breakfast is included in rate. Guests have exclusive use of the hotel state of the art gym or alternatively unwind in the sauna and steam room. Property Amenities: Banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, dry cleaning, gym/ fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift / elevator, non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant, room service and Safe deposit box. The hotel offers amenities such as Banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, dry cleaning, gym/ fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift / elevator, non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant, room service and Safe deposit box.

Hotel Map

52.713 -8.8749
Area served
Shannon.
Nearby airports
Shannon Airport International Airports.
Area description
The Oak Wood Arms Hotel enjoys a fantastic location in the centre of Shannon and provides an ideal base from which to explore all that the West of Ireland has to offer, including Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, The Cliffs of Moher, Cragganowen and The Burren. The hotel is just 3kms from Shannon Airport. There is also excellent access into the town of Ennis & Limerick city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oak Wood Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Oak Wood Arms Hotel Rooms

Double and Twin
Includes full Irish breakfast.Room with 1 double or one twin beds including alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hair dryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay per view movies, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voice mail.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Restaurant
The hotel offers a choice dining in either Palm Court restaurant or Sophies Lounge. The Palm Court restaurant serves an exciting blend of Irish and International Cuisine. It offers diners a varied and delicious menu in an impressive setting with marble floors and vaulted ceilings. Sophies lounge offers a less formal alternative to enjoy the hotels cuisine. Guests may choose from a daily carvery or a comprehensive bar menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1130

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 21, 2010

Like a night in a Halloween Spook House

I arrived and found no one to help with my luggage and my room was about a quarter mile from the front desk through long, winding, dark and confusing hallways. The only room service is for breakfast. I left my room and tried to get to the restaurant only to find a locked door blocking the hallway-after pounding on the door someone came and pointed to a small button on the wall that I was supposed to know would unlock the door - god know what happens if there is a fire in this place. The printer in the "busines center" would not work so I could not print out my e-tickets. I had to download it, save it, attach it to an email to the front desk and they printed it. Really! Then the key card for my room would not work and I had to hike back to the front desk to get that fixed. I found the staff friendly and as helpful as they could be under the circumstances. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shannon
Jul 3, 2007

We had a false fire alarm from 5am onwards; no rebate offered.

We had a false fire alarm from 5am onwards; no rebate offered. Otherwise, no bad value so near to Shannon, though the place does sprawl and you haul luggage for miles. Nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jul 8, 2007

Very nice but rude front desk

This hotel was nice. The place was clean, had a great pub, and was close to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kenmare Grand
Ellijay, Georgia
Jun 17, 2010

Oak Wood Arms Hotel

We stayed at the hotel for two days prior to flying out of Shannon Airport. Room was fine, hotel was nice, however not luxurious. Front desk personnel just ok, not overly helpful. Hotel would be better if it offered better food and didn't put guests who booked way in advance in a room in the back of the hotel, a long walk from the check in desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are very few places to eat of quality in Shannon or much of anything available in the area besides the airport and Town Centre which is limited.

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orchardman
Mount Olive, NJ
Jul 1, 2010

Looks Better From A Distance

Excellent location near Shannon Airport but medieval hotel decor is quite out of place with the locale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Jul 4, 2012

Comfortable and close to Shannon Airport

The hotel is comfortable, quiet, clean, free breakfast buffet, close to Shannon Airport (about 10€ for taxi each way). Free Wi-fi and comfortable beds. Tea, coffee making supplies in room. Hotel is old, shower a bit dodgy, dark walls & interior - but over a good hotel that totally met my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travellin' Steph
Providence, RI
Jun 23, 2014

Good value but not fancy

I was surprised at previous, excellent reviews of this hotel - the price is attractive but you are getting a good price near Shannon Airport because the hotel is outdated, both the rooms and the common areas. However, if like me, you only need accommodations for one night, go for it. It was nice to have a breakfast buffet included in the price. The food was pretty good but nothing to write home about. The manager of the restaurant was very nice to me at night, as I needed a late meal, and he was able to accommodate me after 9:30, when the kitchen closes. However, the bar stays open until 3am! There was Irish music playing at dinner, which was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ireland Adventurer
New Lenox, Illinois
Nov 29, 2012

Hotel near the airport

For convenience of a hotel near the airport it was great only 3 k away (5 minutes). The hotel walls are very thin, we were kept up with various conversations and sounds from the rooms above and on both sides of us 11pm through 4 am-surprising since it was a Sunday night! Room and decor a little shabby but the price was low and the location good. Not sure if I would stay here again. Bar was large and service good there, but the restaurant was just okay and service a little slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jegg
NY
May 3, 2014

Desk folks had no clue

Employees didn't know how to get us the twin we had reserved rather than double. There was a wedding and wake going on Thurs. at 6 when we checked in and no parking but in the far back. Desk told us access from the back but not true so we had to trudge back and forth twice to get baggage. Room was nice but had an extra cot set up in it so hard to maneuver, and food in pub was good, but the desk personnel weren't even there when we went to checkout so we left without getting a receipt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Good pub food.

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lauren W
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Needs Updating

I wasn't expecting the Ritz when I booked my vacation, but I was dissapointed in the room condition. The room was small with no in room temperature control other than a small air conditioner- no heat control! The bathroom had mildew in the shower, tiles were cracked, and overall was dingy. The carpet was stained and there was an air freshener that you would put in your car hanging from the window. The staff, however, was very friendly and helpful. They were always a pleasure to interact with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search