$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Oak Wood Arms Hotel

3 stars
View map of Bothar an Aerfoirt Shannon Town, Co. Clare, Shannon, 0

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Bad Bob
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 11, 2010

Convenient Location

The exterior, interior common areas, hallways, pub and restaurant were great. The rooms were outdated. The mattress and pillows should have been replaced long ago. I was given a Smoking Room by mistake. when I called the front desk, they immediately sent someone to me with a key and to carry my bags to the new Non-Smoking room. It was quiet, no noise. Buffet breakfast was included in the price and was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a McDonald's, Gas/Petrol station and convenience store right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P&D
Business
Asheville, N.C.
May 13, 2010

Beautiful hotel

we were there for an early flight out of Shannon airport. GREAT location for that; but what really impressed us was the old style decor..oak moldings and bar in the pub.Food was good too! The only negative was the instant coffee at the early continental breakfast..we felt lucky to get any food at 6a.m., so all in all, a good experience in a lovely hotel..oh, liked the mattress also!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Bunratty for gifts to take home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
St. Patrick's Day Sheila
Business
Sea Cliff, NY
Mar 22, 2010

A nice experience - easy to Shannon Airp

Bunratty Castle is nearby and was a great attraction. The dinner was delicious at the Hotel. The repairs in the hotel were poor (tape to repair hairdryer hose.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, Ca
Feb 20, 2010

great location, nice, clean, quiet hotel

Great location to Shannon Airport just a 2 minute drive away. A store with food and gas next to hotel. This was nice because I arrived late in the evening and I was able to fill the rental car with gas, and grab some late night snacks. Hotel very quiet, clean, and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
silversuzq
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 27, 2009

Very nice

We stayed at the Oakwood arms the last day of our trip. Room and furnishings were really nice, very good quality. We had hoped for some Irish music in the lounge but it was not to be. Irish coffee was excellent though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Decatur, IL
May 26, 2009

Very nice hotel

We spent the night here and left on our flight very early the next morning. Hotel was very nice (impressive wood furnishings throughout). About 2 miles from Shannon airport. We left too early and did not get to experience the breakfast. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granada Hills, CA, USA
Apr 22, 2009

Very nice

Great aviation theme, nice sitting areas throughout the hotel, great furniture in common areas - like being in someone's (large) home. Business facilities are good. Best thing is the location - close to airport for those early morning flights. Quiet, clean rooms. Free wifi available in the lobby, management allows use of their computers to print boarding passes for free. Nice place to post up pre-flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montgomery
Oct 19, 2008

Average Expectation-Greater Fulfillment

The Oak Wood Arms turned out to be far beyond our expectations. From check in through check out, our service and accomodations were flawlessly exceptional. The extra bonus was the convenience to other points of interest on our self drive adventure. The room was well maintained, the service was cheerful and helpful; and the young man served up a sumptuous breakfast and provide great travel tips. We have made a friend for life with the Oak Wood Arms Hotel. Already we are planning our next trip and our stay there. Why stay anywhere else on the Emerald Isle?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

1. Burnratty Castle and Medival Banquet 2. Ballymorris Pottery (Hannah's artistic, but utilitarian hand thrown pottery) 3. Cliffs of Mohr 4. Tipperary 5. Rock of Cashel 6. Killarney 7. Ring of Kerry 8. Adare 9. Galway 10. Much more

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 12, 2008

Surprisingly Beautiful

This facility is beautiful. There are stained glass windows, ornate vaulted ceilings, many sitting areas with comfortable furniture and and many gorgeous unique pieces. Overall feeling was of high class elegance but at a competitive price. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff was kind and made every effort to meet our needs. One problem in the fitness center the drain in one shower was slow so it left water standing a bit. The sauna was excellent. The food was great. Free internet. Easy connection to the bus into Limerick for shopping. Less than 5 minutes to the Shannon Airport by cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Public bus stop is a short walk away for E7.50 and a 20 min ride takes you to the heart of the shopping district of Limerick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Havertown
Sep 21, 2008

Good experience

Recetption staff directed us through the hotel to our room. We could have been direcetd to move our car closer to our room and instead of having to lug our luggae through the hotel nor did they advise that we would encouter steps to get up to the lift to take us to the second floor. The key card lighting control was not working and stafff came and rectified the situation. The A/C was not operational and they provided a fan to alleviate the situation. They were as helpful as could be trying to make things right. Great location if flying into or out of Shannon. They have two restaurants which is great for the area has very little to offer. All in all a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Very little in dining in the aera

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top