$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Oak Wood Arms Hotel

3 stars
Bothar an Aerfoirt Shannon Town, Co. Clare, Shannon, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
63 reviews
Beautiful

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and easy to find of the highway. Only a few minutes from... See full review

  • Monica World Traveler
  • Sep 29, 2013
good hotel

was nice we will be back there again , the hotel was cute and nice See full review

  • orlando couple 2
  • Sep 19, 2013
The Oak Wood Arms enjoys an excellent location just 3kms from Shannon Airport and a short drive to Bunratty Castle, Quin Abbey and Craggaunowen. The Burren and Cliffs of Moher are all within an hour's drive. Skycourt and Ballycasey Craft's Centre are within a short walking distance. We provide free WIFI throughout the property. At the Oak Wood Arms Hotel we have blended and preserved the elegance of the past with the latest technology, ensuring that all demands of discerning clients are satisfied. The hotel's 100 bedrooms are elegantly furnished and are all very spacious with tea/coffee making facilities & flat screen TV with movies on demand. A hearty full Irish breakfast is included in rate. Guests have exclusive use of the hotel state of the art gym or alternatively unwind in the sauna and steam room. Property Amenities: Banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, dry cleaning, gym/ fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift / elevator, non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant, room service and Safe deposit box. The hotel offers amenities such as Banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, dry cleaning, gym/ fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift / elevator, non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant, room service and Safe deposit box.

Hotel Map

52.713 -8.8749
Area served
Shannon.
Nearby airports
Shannon Airport International Airports.
Area description
The Oak Wood Arms Hotel enjoys a fantastic location in the centre of Shannon and provides an ideal base from which to explore all that the West of Ireland has to offer, including Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, The Cliffs of Moher, Cragganowen and The Burren. The hotel is just 3kms from Shannon Airport. There is also excellent access into the town of Ennis & Limerick city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oak Wood Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Oak Wood Arms Hotel Rooms

Double and Twin
Includes full Irish breakfast.Room with 1 double or one twin beds including alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hair dryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay per view movies, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voice mail.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Restaurant
The hotel offers a choice dining in either Palm Court restaurant or Sophies Lounge. The Palm Court restaurant serves an exciting blend of Irish and International Cuisine. It offers diners a varied and delicious menu in an impressive setting with marble floors and vaulted ceilings. Sophies lounge offers a less formal alternative to enjoy the hotels cuisine. Guests may choose from a daily carvery or a comprehensive bar menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1130

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Barbara, Ca
Feb 20, 2010

great location, nice, clean, quiet hotel

Great location to Shannon Airport just a 2 minute drive away. A store with food and gas next to hotel. This was nice because I arrived late in the evening and I was able to fill the rental car with gas, and grab some late night snacks. Hotel very quiet, clean, and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
silversuzq
Boston, MA
Oct 27, 2009

Very nice

We stayed at the Oakwood arms the last day of our trip. Room and furnishings were really nice, very good quality. We had hoped for some Irish music in the lounge but it was not to be. Irish coffee was excellent though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tony
Not Provided
Jul 15, 2009

close to airport and ideal for

close to airport and ideal for pepole who want to explore the west of ireland

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Decatur, IL
May 26, 2009

Very nice hotel

We spent the night here and left on our flight very early the next morning. Hotel was very nice (impressive wood furnishings throughout). About 2 miles from Shannon airport. We left too early and did not get to experience the breakfast. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Granada Hills, CA, USA
Apr 22, 2009

Very nice

Great aviation theme, nice sitting areas throughout the hotel, great furniture in common areas - like being in someone's (large) home. Business facilities are good. Best thing is the location - close to airport for those early morning flights. Quiet, clean rooms. Free wifi available in the lobby, management allows use of their computers to print boarding passes for free. Nice place to post up pre-flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montgomery
Oct 19, 2008

Average Expectation-Greater Fulfillment

The Oak Wood Arms turned out to be far beyond our expectations. From check in through check out, our service and accomodations were flawlessly exceptional. The extra bonus was the convenience to other points of interest on our self drive adventure. The room was well maintained, the service was cheerful and helpful; and the young man served up a sumptuous breakfast and provide great travel tips. We have made a friend for life with the Oak Wood Arms Hotel. Already we are planning our next trip and our stay there. Why stay anywhere else on the Emerald Isle?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

1. Burnratty Castle and Medival Banquet 2. Ballymorris Pottery (Hannah's artistic, but utilitarian hand thrown pottery) 3. Cliffs of Mohr 4. Tipperary 5. Rock of Cashel 6. Killarney 7. Ring of Kerry 8. Adare 9. Galway 10. Much more

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 12, 2008

Surprisingly Beautiful

This facility is beautiful. There are stained glass windows, ornate vaulted ceilings, many sitting areas with comfortable furniture and and many gorgeous unique pieces. Overall feeling was of high class elegance but at a competitive price. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff was kind and made every effort to meet our needs. One problem in the fitness center the drain in one shower was slow so it left water standing a bit. The sauna was excellent. The food was great. Free internet. Easy connection to the bus into Limerick for shopping. Less than 5 minutes to the Shannon Airport by cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Public bus stop is a short walk away for E7.50 and a 20 min ride takes you to the heart of the shopping district of Limerick.

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Havertown
Sep 21, 2008

Good experience

Recetption staff directed us through the hotel to our room. We could have been direcetd to move our car closer to our room and instead of having to lug our luggae through the hotel nor did they advise that we would encouter steps to get up to the lift to take us to the second floor. The key card lighting control was not working and stafff came and rectified the situation. The A/C was not operational and they provided a fan to alleviate the situation. They were as helpful as could be trying to make things right. Great location if flying into or out of Shannon. They have two restaurants which is great for the area has very little to offer. All in all a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Very little in dining in the aera

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro, NC
Jul 21, 2008

Good for my purpose

I was looking for a reasonably priced place to stay for one night on my way to meeting others. The Oak Wood Arms served this purpose well. It is a quaint hotel that had a very friendly staff. I did not partake of the bar or restaurant, but there were many locals coming for dinner - something I see as a good sign about the reputation of the hotel in the local community. There was a small shopping area within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 17, 2008

Great Value

The hotel was very convenient to the airport and to the town. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The dining facilities were very good in both the pub and dining room. The breakfast provided in the morning was a full Irish breakfast of eggs, ham, sausage, a variety of breads, cereals, grilled mushrooms, potatoes, juices, coffees, and teas. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many walking paths and parks near the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search