$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Oak Wood Arms Hotel

3 stars
View map of Bothar an Aerfoirt Shannon Town, Co. Clare, Shannon, 0

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shannon402
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Perfect convenient airport hotel

We stayed at this very nice large hotel with hunting/ski lodge decor the night before we departed Ireland which was super convenient to Shannon Airport and gas station (to refill rental car). Room was spacious comfortable clean and quiet. Cordial welcoming staff at desk and in dining room. Breakfast buffet was good with a variety of cereals, granola, danish, eggs, sausage etc. Business center was useful. Excellent value. Minor: no luggage cart available but parking is plentiful and these are exits close to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lauren W
Couples
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Needs Updating

I wasn't expecting the Ritz when I booked my vacation, but I was dissapointed in the room condition. The room was small with no in room temperature control other than a small air conditioner- no heat control! The bathroom had mildew in the shower, tiles were cracked, and overall was dingy. The carpet was stained and there was an air freshener that you would put in your car hanging from the window. The staff, however, was very friendly and helpful. They were always a pleasure to interact with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Sisters, OR
Jul 3, 2011

Oakwood Arms

Good service, good food, room was great AND what a great history of aviation. We especially enjoyed the history of the Spruce Goose as we live in Oregon and the Spruce Goose is at the Evergreen Museum in McMinville.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Greensboro, NC
Jun 4, 2011

airport convenient, comfortable

perfect location for a late arrival or early departure from Shannon Airport. Very good breakfast, full Irish, included. Staff will arrange cab (7 Euros) for transportation to the terminal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street at Shannon Mall, the Zest Cafe offers good food as an alternative to the hotel for dinner - if you have already returned your car.

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Buffalo, NY
Apr 3, 2011

The Best of Irish Hospitality

Personally I'm tired of all the bad reviews I've seen listed for this hotel, and I certainly could show you nicer pictures of the surrounding area than I've seen on the website. I stayed there in February, my second trip to Ireland in a year. I was there for a week, since plans to stay in Killarney for a couple of days fell threw, and though I didn't drive, I found the the desk clerks extremely helpful in suggesting transportation to local sites, Adare Manor, Dromoland Castle, Bunratty and the folk park, Limerick, Killarney, and my favorite of favorite pubs The Crabtree, a simple cab or bus ride away. I found the hotel itself to be older, but quaint and charming, beautiful wood and stained glass. The food was exceptional, both in the bar and the dining room. My room was clean and quiet. From check in to check out I found everyone to be so helpful and friendly, I can't say enough about them, they were the best of the best and I've traveled a bit. I also must say flying into Shannon Airport was a much nicer experience than Dublin, I'll never go that route again, where ever I go in Ireland. Can't wait to go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
macnbactravels
Couples
Kentucky
Jan 19, 2011

Great location, Nice Accomodation

We stayed one evening at this hotel as we were in Shannon to catch a flight the next day. After two weeks spent in Ireland and traveling Europe we were exhausted and arriving at the hotel we found it to be very clean, warm and friendly. The room was quite large and the breakfast that was included in the cost of our room was quite nice and kept us from having to run to the McDonald's next door for food. The hotel arranged for a taxi to transport us to the hotel and the cost for the taxi was under 10 Euro. Thus, the hotel is especially convenient for those traveling from Shannon Airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a small shopping mall and McDonald's next door. This hotel is super convenient!

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tomdad
Couples
new york
Oct 18, 2010

Great last night near Shannon Airport

This hotel is good for a last night before leaving Ireland. It's very close to the airport, by a mall with McDonalds and Subway and a gas station for refuelling before returning the car. The Cliffs of Moher were an easy visit, and the hotel is just 5 minutes from Bunratty castle which the kids loved. Food was great, and the traditional Irish music session in the pub was the best we heard. Rooms were comfortable and large - we could fit all three kids in the one room, and there was a free business centre to print off our tickets before we left. I will book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tomdad
Couples
new york
Oct 18, 2010

Great last night near Shannon Airport

This hotel is good for a last night before leaving Ireland. It's very close to the airport, by a mall with McDonalds and Subway and a gas station for refuelling before returning the car. The Cliffs of Moher were an easy visit, and the hotel is just 5 minutes from Bunratty castle which the kids loved. Food was great, and the traditional Irish music session in the pub was the best we heard. Rooms were comfortable and large - we could fit all three kids in the one room, and there was a free business centre to print off our tickets before we left. I will book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indotraveler
Family
Fort Worth, TX
Sep 25, 2010

Comfortable hotel near Shannon Airport

Good overnight transit hotel. 10 min from the Shannon airport. We stayed here twice for one night each time when passing through Shannon airport. Rooms comfortable except for temperature. If room is cold, you must ask at reception for heat. First time we stayed here, we didn't know that and nearly froze. Shower is the most difficult to operate of any I encountered during a 2 week trip. I was traveling with my mother and she could not shower. Too difficult for her to operate. Rooms were clean. Everything worked. We ate at the hotel "pub" 2 nights. Food was good. No other restaurants nearby. There is a McDonald's just across the street. (That is not food - but would prevent starvation.) A full Irish breakfast came with the room. Was one of the better breakfasts I had in the UK even though it was a buffet. Staff was friendly. Would stay again if needed a room near SNN airport. From taxi pickup at Oakwood Arms to checked in and through security at SNN took only 25 min.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
USA
Sep 21, 2010

Like a night in a Halloween Spook House

I arrived and found no one to help with my luggage and my room was about a quarter mile from the front desk through long, winding, dark and confusing hallways. The only room service is for breakfast. I left my room and tried to get to the restaurant only to find a locked door blocking the hallway-after pounding on the door someone came and pointed to a small button on the wall that I was supposed to know would unlock the door - god know what happens if there is a fire in this place. The printer in the "busines center" would not work so I could not print out my e-tickets. I had to download it, save it, attach it to an email to the front desk and they printed it. Really! Then the key card for my room would not work and I had to hike back to the front desk to get that fixed. I found the staff friendly and as helpful as they could be under the circumstances. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top