$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 22, 2015 Check-out: Jun 23, 2015

Oak Wood Arms Hotel

3 stars
View map of Bothar an Aerfoirt Shannon Town, Co. Clare, Shannon, 0

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
adventure abound
Business
NY, NY
Apr 16, 2013

excellent hotel- old school charm

Stayed here my last night in Ireland. Beautiful hotel. A little on the 'old school' decoration wise- but that's what gave it it's charm. There's a private airport nearby so they had tons of old aviation pics up. Amazing old furniture that looked like it belonged in a castle. Staff was very friendly and nice. Airport only a 6 min cab ride away so everything worked out excellently! Thanks so much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Find the river nearby- very picturesque.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ireland Adventurer
Business
New Lenox, Illinois
Nov 29, 2012

Hotel near the airport

For convenience of a hotel near the airport it was great only 3 k away (5 minutes). The hotel walls are very thin, we were kept up with various conversations and sounds from the rooms above and on both sides of us 11pm through 4 am-surprising since it was a Sunday night! Room and decor a little shabby but the price was low and the location good. Not sure if I would stay here again. Bar was large and service good there, but the restaurant was just okay and service a little slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandra Party Planner
Business
Griffin, GA
Oct 1, 2012

Came to Ireland to visit people in Galway

We fly in from Boston , MA and got a nice taxie driver who took us to you Hotel. Everything was ready and we had some nice food at your Pub. We would come there again when coming to Ireland. Also recommend it to others. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old but Sharp
Business
New Jersey
Sep 14, 2012

Good Airport Location

Slept well. Quiet room that had bars of soap, small bars but I better than the shower gel that I hate. Easy distance to the Shannon airport. The breakfast was efficient and as good or better than the other seven places I stayed. I would the Oak Wood Arms again. If you are familar with aviaton, the pictures in the halls are a little museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bunhead
Business
Limerick
Sep 11, 2012

Great stay

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, and very clean and comfortable rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeirdreIrishTraveler
Business
New York, New York
Aug 29, 2012

Fine Family Place

Great place to stay the night before leaving from Shannon airport in the morning. Clean and comfortable. Fabulous staff and food in on site pub / restaurant Sophies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time Ireland
Business
Ottawa, ON
Jul 25, 2012

Old school hotel with good food

We arrived on a rainy summer (or what passes for summer this year) day. The hotel is a nice, older property, with a lot of character. The hallways are lined with memorabilia about the early history of aviation in Shannon, and include lots of pics of celebrities who flew into Shannon, as well as artifacts from that time. The dinner in the restaurant was good. We greatly enjoyed the experience, and came away replete, and well prepared for our flight the next day. The bathroom could use a very good cleaning - there were traces of mildew on the tiles, and they were a bit outdated. The drive to the airport was easy the next day. And the sun was out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jul 4, 2012

Comfortable and close to Shannon Airport

The hotel is comfortable, quiet, clean, free breakfast buffet, close to Shannon Airport (about 10€ for taxi each way). Free Wi-fi and comfortable beds. Tea, coffee making supplies in room. Hotel is old, shower a bit dodgy, dark walls & interior - but over a good hotel that totally met my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug Super Grandpa
Business
Huntsville, AL
Jun 24, 2012

Fantastic airport hotel

The room (Triple) was huge, clean, and well appointed. The decor of the hotel itself was fantastic. The hotel location to the airport was great (5 min). The breakfast menu was fantastic (numerous hot and cold items from which to choose). The value for the money spent was unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Bunratty Castle and Folk Lore Village are just up the road about 5 minutes drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nwgrange
Business
Brooklyn NY
May 8, 2012

Wish we'd had a reason to stay longer

We booked this hotel because it was close to the airport and we had an early flight. It was very cute, with interesting decor. The staff was attentive and had answers to all our questions. The room was nicely furnished and very clean, lots of outlets, towels, pillows. The hard wired internet connection along with good wifi was much appreciated. We had 3 meals there and enjoyed all of them. It was a good location and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There was a small shopping mall about 3 minutes drive from the hotel, we got snacks, drinks and bubble wrap for the last minute packing there. Very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top