$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Oak Wood Arms Hotel

3 stars
Bothar an Aerfoirt Shannon Town, Co. Clare, Shannon, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
62 reviews
Beautiful

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and easy to find of the highway. Only a few minutes from... See full review

  • Monica World Traveler
  • Sep 29, 2013
good hotel

was nice we will be back there again , the hotel was cute and nice See full review

  • orlando couple 2
  • Sep 19, 2013
The Oak Wood Arms enjoys an excellent location just 3kms from Shannon Airport and a short drive to Bunratty Castle, Quin Abbey and Craggaunowen. The Burren and Cliffs of Moher are all within an hour's drive. Skycourt and Ballycasey Craft's Centre are within a short walking distance. We provide free WIFI throughout the property. At the Oak Wood Arms Hotel we have blended and preserved the elegance of the past with the latest technology, ensuring that all demands of discerning clients are satisfied. The hotel's 100 bedrooms are elegantly furnished and are all very spacious with tea/coffee making facilities & flat screen TV with movies on demand. A hearty full Irish breakfast is included in rate. Guests have exclusive use of the hotel state of the art gym or alternatively unwind in the sauna and steam room. Property Amenities: Banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, dry cleaning, gym/ fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift / elevator, non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant, room service and Safe deposit box. The hotel offers amenities such as Banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, dry cleaning, gym/ fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift / elevator, non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant, room service and Safe deposit box.

Hotel Map

52.713 -8.8749
Area served
Shannon.
Nearby airports
Shannon Airport International Airports.
Area description
The Oak Wood Arms Hotel enjoys a fantastic location in the centre of Shannon and provides an ideal base from which to explore all that the West of Ireland has to offer, including Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, The Cliffs of Moher, Cragganowen and The Burren. The hotel is just 3kms from Shannon Airport. There is also excellent access into the town of Ennis & Limerick city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oak Wood Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Oak Wood Arms Hotel Rooms

Double and Twin
Includes full Irish breakfast.Room with 1 double or one twin beds including alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hair dryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay per view movies, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voice mail.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Restaurant
The hotel offers a choice dining in either Palm Court restaurant or Sophies Lounge. The Palm Court restaurant serves an exciting blend of Irish and International Cuisine. It offers diners a varied and delicious menu in an impressive setting with marble floors and vaulted ceilings. Sophies lounge offers a less formal alternative to enjoy the hotels cuisine. Guests may choose from a daily carvery or a comprehensive bar menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1130

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old but Sharp
New Jersey
Sep 14, 2012

Good Airport Location

Slept well. Quiet room that had bars of soap, small bars but I better than the shower gel that I hate. Easy distance to the Shannon airport. The breakfast was efficient and as good or better than the other seven places I stayed. I would the Oak Wood Arms again. If you are familar with aviaton, the pictures in the halls are a little museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bunhead
Limerick
Sep 11, 2012

Great stay

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, and very clean and comfortable rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeirdreIrishTraveler
New York, New York
Aug 29, 2012

Fine Family Place

Great place to stay the night before leaving from Shannon airport in the morning. Clean and comfortable. Fabulous staff and food in on site pub / restaurant Sophies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time Ireland
Ottawa, ON
Jul 25, 2012

Old school hotel with good food

We arrived on a rainy summer (or what passes for summer this year) day. The hotel is a nice, older property, with a lot of character. The hallways are lined with memorabilia about the early history of aviation in Shannon, and include lots of pics of celebrities who flew into Shannon, as well as artifacts from that time. The dinner in the restaurant was good. We greatly enjoyed the experience, and came away replete, and well prepared for our flight the next day. The bathroom could use a very good cleaning - there were traces of mildew on the tiles, and they were a bit outdated. The drive to the airport was easy the next day. And the sun was out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Jul 4, 2012

Comfortable and close to Shannon Airport

The hotel is comfortable, quiet, clean, free breakfast buffet, close to Shannon Airport (about 10€ for taxi each way). Free Wi-fi and comfortable beds. Tea, coffee making supplies in room. Hotel is old, shower a bit dodgy, dark walls & interior - but over a good hotel that totally met my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug Super Grandpa
Huntsville, AL
Jun 24, 2012

Fantastic airport hotel

The room (Triple) was huge, clean, and well appointed. The decor of the hotel itself was fantastic. The hotel location to the airport was great (5 min). The breakfast menu was fantastic (numerous hot and cold items from which to choose). The value for the money spent was unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Bunratty Castle and Folk Lore Village are just up the road about 5 minutes drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nwgrange
Brooklyn NY
May 8, 2012

Wish we'd had a reason to stay longer

We booked this hotel because it was close to the airport and we had an early flight. It was very cute, with interesting decor. The staff was attentive and had answers to all our questions. The room was nicely furnished and very clean, lots of outlets, towels, pillows. The hard wired internet connection along with good wifi was much appreciated. We had 3 meals there and enjoyed all of them. It was a good location and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There was a small shopping mall about 3 minutes drive from the hotel, we got snacks, drinks and bubble wrap for the last minute packing there. Very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shannon402
New York, NY, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Perfect convenient airport hotel

We stayed at this very nice large hotel with hunting/ski lodge decor the night before we departed Ireland which was super convenient to Shannon Airport and gas station (to refill rental car). Room was spacious comfortable clean and quiet. Cordial welcoming staff at desk and in dining room. Breakfast buffet was good with a variety of cereals, granola, danish, eggs, sausage etc. Business center was useful. Excellent value. Minor: no luggage cart available but parking is plentiful and these are exits close to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lauren W
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Needs Updating

I wasn't expecting the Ritz when I booked my vacation, but I was dissapointed in the room condition. The room was small with no in room temperature control other than a small air conditioner- no heat control! The bathroom had mildew in the shower, tiles were cracked, and overall was dingy. The carpet was stained and there was an air freshener that you would put in your car hanging from the window. The staff, however, was very friendly and helpful. They were always a pleasure to interact with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sisters, OR
Jul 3, 2011

Oakwood Arms

Good service, good food, room was great AND what a great history of aviation. We especially enjoyed the history of the Spruce Goose as we live in Oregon and the Spruce Goose is at the Evergreen Museum in McMinville.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top