$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Oak Wood Arms Hotel

3 stars
Bothar an Aerfoirt Shannon Town, Co. Clare, Shannon, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
90 reviews
Beautiful

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and easy to find of the highway. Only a few minutes from... See full review

  • Monica World Traveler
  • Sep 29, 2013
good hotel

was nice we will be back there again , the hotel was cute and nice See full review

  • orlando couple 2
  • Sep 19, 2013
The Oak Wood Arms enjoys an excellent location just 3kms from Shannon Airport and a short drive to Bunratty Castle, Quin Abbey and Craggaunowen. The Burren and Cliffs of Moher are all within an hour's drive. Skycourt and Ballycasey Craft's Centre are within a short walking distance. We provide free WIFI throughout the property. At the Oak Wood Arms Hotel we have blended and preserved the elegance of the past with the latest technology, ensuring that all demands of discerning clients are satisfied. The hotel's 100 bedrooms are elegantly furnished and are all very spacious with tea/coffee making facilities & flat screen TV with movies on demand. A hearty full Irish breakfast is included in rate. Guests have exclusive use of the hotel state of the art gym or alternatively unwind in the sauna and steam room. Property Amenities: Banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, dry cleaning, gym/ fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift / elevator, non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant, room service and Safe deposit box. The hotel offers amenities such as Banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, dry cleaning, gym/ fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift / elevator, non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant, room service and Safe deposit box.

Hotel Map

52.713 -8.8749
Area served
Shannon.
Nearby airports
Shannon Airport International Airports.
Area description
The Oak Wood Arms Hotel enjoys a fantastic location in the centre of Shannon and provides an ideal base from which to explore all that the West of Ireland has to offer, including Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, The Cliffs of Moher, Cragganowen and The Burren. The hotel is just 3kms from Shannon Airport. There is also excellent access into the town of Ennis & Limerick city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oak Wood Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Oak Wood Arms Hotel Rooms

Double and Twin
Includes full Irish breakfast.Room with 1 double or one twin beds including alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hair dryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay per view movies, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voice mail.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Restaurant
The hotel offers a choice dining in either Palm Court restaurant or Sophies Lounge. The Palm Court restaurant serves an exciting blend of Irish and International Cuisine. It offers diners a varied and delicious menu in an impressive setting with marble floors and vaulted ceilings. Sophies lounge offers a less formal alternative to enjoy the hotels cuisine. Guests may choose from a daily carvery or a comprehensive bar menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1130

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandra Party Planner
Griffin, GA
Oct 1, 2012

Came to Ireland to visit people in Galway

We fly in from Boston , MA and got a nice taxie driver who took us to you Hotel. Everything was ready and we had some nice food at your Pub. We would come there again when coming to Ireland. Also recommend it to others. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed Wood.
Hoboken NJ
Jun 4, 2013

Great Shannon Airport Location

We stayed here our last night in Ireland before flying home out of Shannon Airport in the morning. The convenient location made the morning commute and check in to the airport easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DLynn78
Louisville, KY
May 15, 2013

Pleasant Surprise

After traveling from Dublin all along the West Coast of Ireland and spending almost every night in a different establishment that was supposed to have high marks, we were feeling let down by our hospitality up to that point but, we were pleasantly surprised with Oak Wood Arms. From the moment we walked in we were greeted with friendly staff who actually acknowledged us and chatted with us. Our room was very spacious and the bed was super comfortable and clean. At every other place I stayed, the beds made me feel like my back was broken when I woke up but, at Oak Wood I didn't want to get out of bed it was so comfortable. Yes, the place could use a little renovating here and there but overall, this place was a fantastic deal and we were sad we could only spend one night. It was also very close to the airport which is a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

they have a very nice restaurant that usually requires reservations and nice attire. They also have a great bar that serves food as well in case you have neither nice attire or reservations.

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mobby
cleveland, Oh
Apr 28, 2013

convenient

This is a large comfortable old hotel and worked well for our needs--very close to airport for early morning depart. Staff offered a room before check in time if needed for changing/clean up. One problem--maybe your service, not the hotel?--detailed address or directions not provided on confirmation forms. Something like "airport road?" Could not locate where without help from a pedestrian.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
adventure abound
NY, NY
Apr 16, 2013

excellent hotel- old school charm

Stayed here my last night in Ireland. Beautiful hotel. A little on the 'old school' decoration wise- but that's what gave it it's charm. There's a private airport nearby so they had tons of old aviation pics up. Amazing old furniture that looked like it belonged in a castle. Staff was very friendly and nice. Airport only a 6 min cab ride away so everything worked out excellently! Thanks so much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Find the river nearby- very picturesque.

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ireland Adventurer
New Lenox, Illinois
Nov 29, 2012

Hotel near the airport

For convenience of a hotel near the airport it was great only 3 k away (5 minutes). The hotel walls are very thin, we were kept up with various conversations and sounds from the rooms above and on both sides of us 11pm through 4 am-surprising since it was a Sunday night! Room and decor a little shabby but the price was low and the location good. Not sure if I would stay here again. Bar was large and service good there, but the restaurant was just okay and service a little slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandra Party Planner
Griffin, GA
Oct 1, 2012

Came to Ireland to visit people in Galway

We fly in from Boston , MA and got a nice taxie driver who took us to you Hotel. Everything was ready and we had some nice food at your Pub. We would come there again when coming to Ireland. Also recommend it to others. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old but Sharp
New Jersey
Sep 14, 2012

Good Airport Location

Slept well. Quiet room that had bars of soap, small bars but I better than the shower gel that I hate. Easy distance to the Shannon airport. The breakfast was efficient and as good or better than the other seven places I stayed. I would the Oak Wood Arms again. If you are familar with aviaton, the pictures in the halls are a little museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bunhead
Limerick
Sep 11, 2012

Great stay

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, and very clean and comfortable rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeirdreIrishTraveler
New York, New York
Aug 29, 2012

Fine Family Place

Great place to stay the night before leaving from Shannon airport in the morning. Clean and comfortable. Fabulous staff and food in on site pub / restaurant Sophies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time Ireland
Ottawa, ON
Jul 25, 2012

Old school hotel with good food

We arrived on a rainy summer (or what passes for summer this year) day. The hotel is a nice, older property, with a lot of character. The hallways are lined with memorabilia about the early history of aviation in Shannon, and include lots of pics of celebrities who flew into Shannon, as well as artifacts from that time. The dinner in the restaurant was good. We greatly enjoyed the experience, and came away replete, and well prepared for our flight the next day. The bathroom could use a very good cleaning - there were traces of mildew on the tiles, and they were a bit outdated. The drive to the airport was easy the next day. And the sun was out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top