$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Oak Wood Arms Hotel

3 stars
View map of Bothar an Aerfoirt Shannon Town, Co. Clare, Shannon, 0

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bunhead
Couples
Limerick
Sep 11, 2012

Great stay

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, and very clean and comfortable rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monica World Traveler
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 29, 2013

Beautiful

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and easy to find of the highway. Only a few minutes from Bunratty Castle and an easy find from there. The staff was great and the room was very comfortable (and large). We had a fabulous dinner at "Sophie's Lounge" and breakfast the next morning (included) had a welcomed variety of everything you could ask for. For the price, we certainly did not expect such luxury! Can't beat it! Will for sure stay there on our next trip to Shannon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orlando couple 2
Couples
orlando, florida
Sep 19, 2013

good hotel

was nice we will be back there again , the hotel was cute and nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Collingswood
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 6, 2013

Location, location, location

I stayed here one night at the end of a longer Ireland vacation, because it was close to the Shannon Airport. The hotel property sprawls, more like a large motel. The walk to our room was about five minutes. Once, I literally drove to my room. The staff was helpful and friendly. The restaurant's dinner food was good. In our room and in the restaurant, the AC was intermittent at best. There was no hot water in our room -- and I do mean "no hot water" rather than inadequate hot water. The Sky Mall shopping center is down the street. A gas station and McDonald's are next door. The price was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

When traveling out of Shannon, this location is hard to beat. The airport is literally a few minutes away, with little traffic.

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
staind781
Single
Maine
Aug 28, 2013

Great Place

Overall a great place. Big rooms, wifi, a hotel restaurant and a pub. not to far by car to Cliffs of Moher or other sites in Shannon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Extreme Veteran Traveler
Single
Washington
Aug 23, 2013

Interesting Venue

While not as close to te airport as I had hoped, it was still a very nice stay. The bus does stop there at least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NealNC
Couples
Raleigh, NC
Aug 4, 2013

Excellent for using Shannon Airport

Stayed here to be close to Shannon A/P for morning flight. Nice facility, very friendly and helpful staff. They had a taxi for us right on time. Only problem was a wedding reception going strong until after midnight. People going to their rooms were still in party mode! But all in all, once they settled in, the hotel was quiet and comfortable. Excellent breakfast buffet was included in our rate. Reasonable rate - comparable to the B&Bs we stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
St Louie Woman
Single
St Louis, Missouri
Jul 29, 2013

Good place to start or end your trip to Ireland

The Oak Wood Arms Hotel, conveniently located close to Shannon Airport, is comfortable with roomy, clean accommodations, a good breakfast (that starts as eary as 5:00 -- good for those with an early flight) and a helpful staff that knows what people on the way to or from Ireland need as a place to launch their journey. There are no walking distance places of interest if you need to kill an afternoon, but with a cab (or car) there is plenty of interest in Shannon. There are good two places to eat in the hotel, both effecient and genenerous. You needn't go hungry. I have stayed there twice, two years apart, and found the quality and flavor of the hotel consistent,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed Wood.
Couples
Hoboken NJ
Jun 4, 2013

Great Shannon Airport Location

We stayed here our last night in Ireland before flying home out of Shannon Airport in the morning. The convenient location made the morning commute and check in to the airport easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DLynn78
Couples
Louisville, KY
May 15, 2013

Pleasant Surprise

After traveling from Dublin all along the West Coast of Ireland and spending almost every night in a different establishment that was supposed to have high marks, we were feeling let down by our hospitality up to that point but, we were pleasantly surprised with Oak Wood Arms. From the moment we walked in we were greeted with friendly staff who actually acknowledged us and chatted with us. Our room was very spacious and the bed was super comfortable and clean. At every other place I stayed, the beds made me feel like my back was broken when I woke up but, at Oak Wood I didn't want to get out of bed it was so comfortable. Yes, the place could use a little renovating here and there but overall, this place was a fantastic deal and we were sad we could only spend one night. It was also very close to the airport which is a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

they have a very nice restaurant that usually requires reservations and nice attire. They also have a great bar that serves food as well in case you have neither nice attire or reservations.

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mobby
Couples
cleveland, Oh
Apr 28, 2013

convenient

This is a large comfortable old hotel and worked well for our needs--very close to airport for early morning depart. Staff offered a room before check in time if needed for changing/clean up. One problem--maybe your service, not the hotel?--detailed address or directions not provided on confirmation forms. Something like "airport road?" Could not locate where without help from a pedestrian.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top