$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Oak Wood Arms Hotel

3 stars
Bothar an Aerfoirt Shannon Town, Co. Clare, Shannon, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
65 reviews
Irish Eyes

Great place to stay in SNN. Breakfast is good. Excellent restaurant and bar. See full review

  • Stoneastern
  • Oct 23, 2014
Beautiful

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and easy to find of the highway. Only a few minutes from... See full review

  • Monica World Traveler
  • Sep 29, 2013
The Oak Wood Arms enjoys an excellent location just 3kms from Shannon Airport and a short drive to Bunratty Castle, Quin Abbey and Craggaunowen. The Burren and Cliffs of Moher are all within an hour's drive. Skycourt and Ballycasey Craft's Centre are within a short walking distance. We provide free WIFI throughout the property. At the Oak Wood Arms Hotel we have blended and preserved the elegance of the past with the latest technology, ensuring that all demands of discerning clients are satisfied. The hotel's 100 bedrooms are elegantly furnished and are all very spacious with tea/coffee making facilities & flat screen TV with movies on demand. A hearty full Irish breakfast is included in rate. Guests have exclusive use of the hotel state of the art gym or alternatively unwind in the sauna and steam room. Property Amenities: Banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, dry cleaning, gym/ fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift / elevator, non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant, room service and Safe deposit box. The hotel offers amenities such as Banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, dry cleaning, gym/ fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift / elevator, non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant, room service and Safe deposit box.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oak Wood Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Oak Wood Arms Hotel Rooms

Double and Twin
Includes full Irish breakfast.Room with 1 double or one twin beds including alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hair dryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay per view movies, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voice mail.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Restaurant
The hotel offers a choice dining in either Palm Court restaurant or Sophies Lounge. The Palm Court restaurant serves an exciting blend of Irish and International Cuisine. It offers diners a varied and delicious menu in an impressive setting with marble floors and vaulted ceilings. Sophies lounge offers a less formal alternative to enjoy the hotels cuisine. Guests may choose from a daily carvery or a comprehensive bar menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1130

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bunhead
Limerick
Sep 11, 2012

Great stay

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, and very clean and comfortable rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vinnu
Business
Southern California
Oct 28, 2014

passinng by...

Having the continental breakfast setup at 5 a.m. was a real winner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stoneastern
Business
Atlanta
Oct 23, 2014

Irish Eyes

Great place to stay in SNN. Breakfast is good. Excellent restaurant and bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Shannon Knight's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ma Griz
Business
Ridgway, co
Sep 30, 2014

Location

Great location for Shannon Airport.. Very easy to get to airport from this hotel. Great to have a nice breakfast before our flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denisey
Business
Ithaca, NY
Sep 10, 2014

great location for a flight from Shannon

We stayed at the Oakwood Arms the night before we were to fly back to the States. We had a nice dinner in the hotel restaurant. Our room was clean and comfortable. In the morning breakfast starts at 5 AM so you can get a bite before leaving for an early morning flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
le vieux
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 10, 2014

Pleasant short stay

This is a lovely hotel. It has real character, which makes it fun and interesting. Being close to the airport means it takes only a few minutes and a few dollars to get there. An interesting note: Just across the street from the hotel there is a small pizza shop. Since I didn't feel like a big meal, I decided to try the pizza. It was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

as noted above, the Pizza shop across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cynfis
Business
Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA
Aug 4, 2014

airport access

We stayed here twice at the beginning and the end of our journey due to its proximity to the airport. Our first room was small, musty with an old double bed. The second room was a king bedded room for 20 euros more but brighter and not smelly. Breakfast was not bery good ( lousy eggs, watery juice) but the bar and lunch menu was good. it was inconsistent but adequate. The wait staff was excellent but front desk was not as helpful as they could have been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travellin' Steph
Business
Providence, RI
Jun 23, 2014

Good value but not fancy

I was surprised at previous, excellent reviews of this hotel - the price is attractive but you are getting a good price near Shannon Airport because the hotel is outdated, both the rooms and the common areas. However, if like me, you only need accommodations for one night, go for it. It was nice to have a breakfast buffet included in the price. The food was pretty good but nothing to write home about. The manager of the restaurant was very nice to me at night, as I needed a late meal, and he was able to accommodate me after 9:30, when the kitchen closes. However, the bar stays open until 3am! There was Irish music playing at dinner, which was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jegg
Business
NY
May 3, 2014

Desk folks had no clue

Employees didn't know how to get us the twin we had reserved rather than double. There was a wedding and wake going on Thurs. at 6 when we checked in and no parking but in the far back. Desk told us access from the back but not true so we had to trudge back and forth twice to get baggage. Room was nice but had an extra cot set up in it so hard to maneuver, and food in pub was good, but the desk personnel weren't even there when we went to checkout so we left without getting a receipt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good pub food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monica World Traveler
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 29, 2013

Beautiful

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and easy to find of the highway. Only a few minutes from Bunratty Castle and an easy find from there. The staff was great and the room was very comfortable (and large). We had a fabulous dinner at "Sophie's Lounge" and breakfast the next morning (included) had a welcomed variety of everything you could ask for. For the price, we certainly did not expect such luxury! Can't beat it! Will for sure stay there on our next trip to Shannon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orlando couple 2
Business
orlando, florida
Sep 19, 2013

good hotel

was nice we will be back there again , the hotel was cute and nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top