$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Oak Wood Arms Hotel

3 stars
Bothar an Aerfoirt Shannon Town, Co. Clare, Shannon, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
63 reviews
Beautiful

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and easy to find of the highway. Only a few minutes from... See full review

  • Monica World Traveler
  • Sep 29, 2013
good hotel

was nice we will be back there again , the hotel was cute and nice See full review

  • orlando couple 2
  • Sep 19, 2013
The Oak Wood Arms enjoys an excellent location just 3kms from Shannon Airport and a short drive to Bunratty Castle, Quin Abbey and Craggaunowen. The Burren and Cliffs of Moher are all within an hour's drive. Skycourt and Ballycasey Craft's Centre are within a short walking distance. We provide free WIFI throughout the property. At the Oak Wood Arms Hotel we have blended and preserved the elegance of the past with the latest technology, ensuring that all demands of discerning clients are satisfied. The hotel's 100 bedrooms are elegantly furnished and are all very spacious with tea/coffee making facilities & flat screen TV with movies on demand. A hearty full Irish breakfast is included in rate. Guests have exclusive use of the hotel state of the art gym or alternatively unwind in the sauna and steam room. Property Amenities: Banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, dry cleaning, gym/ fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift / elevator, non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant, room service and Safe deposit box. The hotel offers amenities such as Banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, dry cleaning, gym/ fitness facilities, internet access-high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift / elevator, non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant, room service and Safe deposit box.

Hotel Map

52.713 -8.8749
Area served
Shannon.
Nearby airports
Shannon Airport International Airports.
Area description
The Oak Wood Arms Hotel enjoys a fantastic location in the centre of Shannon and provides an ideal base from which to explore all that the West of Ireland has to offer, including Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, The Cliffs of Moher, Cragganowen and The Burren. The hotel is just 3kms from Shannon Airport. There is also excellent access into the town of Ennis & Limerick city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oak Wood Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Oak Wood Arms Hotel Rooms

Double and Twin
Includes full Irish breakfast.Room with 1 double or one twin beds including alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hair dryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay per view movies, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voice mail.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Restaurant
The hotel offers a choice dining in either Palm Court restaurant or Sophies Lounge. The Palm Court restaurant serves an exciting blend of Irish and International Cuisine. It offers diners a varied and delicious menu in an impressive setting with marble floors and vaulted ceilings. Sophies lounge offers a less formal alternative to enjoy the hotels cuisine. Guests may choose from a daily carvery or a comprehensive bar menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1130

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cynfis
Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA
Aug 4, 2014

airport access

We stayed here twice at the beginning and the end of our journey due to its proximity to the airport. Our first room was small, musty with an old double bed. The second room was a king bedded room for 20 euros more but brighter and not smelly. Breakfast was not bery good ( lousy eggs, watery juice) but the bar and lunch menu was good. it was inconsistent but adequate. The wait staff was excellent but front desk was not as helpful as they could have been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travellin' Steph
Providence, RI
Jun 23, 2014

Good value but not fancy

I was surprised at previous, excellent reviews of this hotel - the price is attractive but you are getting a good price near Shannon Airport because the hotel is outdated, both the rooms and the common areas. However, if like me, you only need accommodations for one night, go for it. It was nice to have a breakfast buffet included in the price. The food was pretty good but nothing to write home about. The manager of the restaurant was very nice to me at night, as I needed a late meal, and he was able to accommodate me after 9:30, when the kitchen closes. However, the bar stays open until 3am! There was Irish music playing at dinner, which was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jegg
NY
May 3, 2014

Desk folks had no clue

Employees didn't know how to get us the twin we had reserved rather than double. There was a wedding and wake going on Thurs. at 6 when we checked in and no parking but in the far back. Desk told us access from the back but not true so we had to trudge back and forth twice to get baggage. Room was nice but had an extra cot set up in it so hard to maneuver, and food in pub was good, but the desk personnel weren't even there when we went to checkout so we left without getting a receipt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Good pub food.

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monica World Traveler
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 29, 2013

Beautiful

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and easy to find of the highway. Only a few minutes from Bunratty Castle and an easy find from there. The staff was great and the room was very comfortable (and large). We had a fabulous dinner at "Sophie's Lounge" and breakfast the next morning (included) had a welcomed variety of everything you could ask for. For the price, we certainly did not expect such luxury! Can't beat it! Will for sure stay there on our next trip to Shannon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orlando couple 2
orlando, florida
Sep 19, 2013

good hotel

was nice we will be back there again , the hotel was cute and nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Collingswood
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 6, 2013

Location, location, location

I stayed here one night at the end of a longer Ireland vacation, because it was close to the Shannon Airport. The hotel property sprawls, more like a large motel. The walk to our room was about five minutes. Once, I literally drove to my room. The staff was helpful and friendly. The restaurant's dinner food was good. In our room and in the restaurant, the AC was intermittent at best. There was no hot water in our room -- and I do mean "no hot water" rather than inadequate hot water. The Sky Mall shopping center is down the street. A gas station and McDonald's are next door. The price was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

When traveling out of Shannon, this location is hard to beat. The airport is literally a few minutes away, with little traffic.

Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
staind781
Maine
Aug 28, 2013

Great Place

Overall a great place. Big rooms, wifi, a hotel restaurant and a pub. not to far by car to Cliffs of Moher or other sites in Shannon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Extreme Veteran Traveler
Washington
Aug 23, 2013

Interesting Venue

While not as close to te airport as I had hoped, it was still a very nice stay. The bus does stop there at least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NealNC
Raleigh, NC
Aug 4, 2013

Excellent for using Shannon Airport

Stayed here to be close to Shannon A/P for morning flight. Nice facility, very friendly and helpful staff. They had a taxi for us right on time. Only problem was a wedding reception going strong until after midnight. People going to their rooms were still in party mode! But all in all, once they settled in, the hotel was quiet and comfortable. Excellent breakfast buffet was included in our rate. Reasonable rate - comparable to the B&Bs we stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
St Louie Woman
St Louis, Missouri
Jul 29, 2013

Good place to start or end your trip to Ireland

The Oak Wood Arms Hotel, conveniently located close to Shannon Airport, is comfortable with roomy, clean accommodations, a good breakfast (that starts as eary as 5:00 -- good for those with an early flight) and a helpful staff that knows what people on the way to or from Ireland need as a place to launch their journey. There are no walking distance places of interest if you need to kill an afternoon, but with a cab (or car) there is plenty of interest in Shannon. There are good two places to eat in the hotel, both effecient and genenerous. You needn't go hungry. I have stayed there twice, two years apart, and found the quality and flavor of the hotel consistent,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search