$67 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Bunratty Castle Hotel

3 stars
View map of BUNRATTY, COUNTY CLARE, Shannon, 0

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
15 reviews
Relaxing weekend away

I cannot fault this hotel from the moment we arrived until the moment we departed. Staff were so... See full review

  • 3 happy campers
  • Jul 16, 2014
One night near the airport

The primary reason I booked at the Bunratty Castle Hotel was because they provided a shuttle to... See full review

  • Teaching abroad
  • Jan 21, 2015
Welcome to Bunratty Castle Hotel and Luxury Spa. Sophistication and classic style are the hallmarks of the renowned Bunratty Castle Hotel, which is part of the Blarney Group Hotels. The Hotel has been restored to its rightful position as one of the most intimate and charming hotels in the west of Ireland. It embodies the highest of traditional values, with spacious rooms, glorious dining and a spa of exquisite indulgence.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bunratty Castle Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$78
4.1 / 5 64 reviews
★★★★
$117
4.2 / 5 12 reviews
★★★
$66
3.8 / 5 17 reviews
★★★★
$116
3.9 / 5 7 reviews
★★★★
$92
4.5 / 5 10 reviews
★★★
$72
4.5 / 5 11 reviews
★★★★
$76
4.0 / 5 19 reviews
★★★
$91
4.0 / 5 6 reviews
★★★★
$62
3.7 / 5 7 reviews

Bunratty Castle Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Rooms are tastefully decorated using traditional fabrics and warm comfortable colour schemes to create that home away feeling. All rooms have king-size beds and are fully air-conditioned. Room also equipped with the amenities like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone, Voicemail, Tea and coffee making facilities. This rate includes full Irish breakfast. Please specify if you have preference for a Twin or Double room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Kathleen's Bar
During the day Kathleen's Bar is an ideal spot to relax and enjoy a coffee or bite to eat. In the evening it offers an exciting cocktail choice, delightful wines by the glass and a superb bar food menu for those who prefer an informal dining experience.
Round Room Restaurant
You can travel the World to find the best food... or you can find it at The Round Room. Round Room Restaurant which offers an excellent range of modern Irish cuisine, all carefully prepared by Brigade of Chefs who takes full advantage of areas superb local produce to create the cuisine. Wines selected from around the world combine to make a truly enjoyable experience and one to be savoured.
The library
Business guests can avail of our executive breakfast which is served in the Library every morning. The Library is also an ideal haven for private dining. which can accommodate up to 30 people, offering a service that is second to none.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Bunratty Castle Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teaching abroad
Single
Daegu
Jan 21, 2015

One night near the airport

The primary reason I booked at the Bunratty Castle Hotel was because they provided a shuttle to Limerick airport. When I checked in I was told this was not the case and they would book me a taxi. They forgot, which wasn't too important because I only had to wait about 10 minutes the next morning, but it did cost an extra $20. Luckily, I booked using Orbucks or it would have been a really expensive mistake. What they lacked in promised service, was more than made up by the hotel's location just across the street from the actual castle itself. I thoroughly enjoyed touring the castle and the strolling around the village. I was unable to take advantage of the free breakfast because of my early flight, but the food in the pub was decent (great chips).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely visit the Bunratty Castle and Folk Park - it is worth the price of admission. I understand they have banquets that are quite entertaining.

Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
3 happy campers
Family
Galway Ireland
Jul 16, 2014

Relaxing weekend away

I cannot fault this hotel from the moment we arrived until the moment we departed. Staff were so friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make sure we had as comfortable a stay as possible. Our room was fabulous! Very spacious, clean and comfortable. It had everything we needed hair dryer, iron, ironing board, plenty of towels and anything further was available on request. The pool and spa facilities were brilliant the perfect time out relaxation spot the spa even operated on a Sunday. Food was delicious , restaurant and bar staff were wonderful, so friendly and service was excellent. Hotel easy to find just off motor way, right beside bunratty castle something fun to do. Over all really impressed by this hotel it out did any expectations we had. Often hotels don't live up to there online discription but this one definitely did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

There are two restaurants in this hotel and food served in the bar all day. Booking is advised for either restaurant as they are quiet busy. We just ended up eating in the bar which is quiet small as we were unaware of the booking system. Also just to be aware bunratty castle takes it's last viewings of inside the castle at 4pm as banquets take place in the evening.

Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
On the road again.....
Couples
Mass.
Jun 18, 2014

Bunratty Castle Hotel has gone down; disappointed.

Pretty poor showing in lots of important items. Primarily - lousy bed, cheap, hard. It was quite warm and the AC remote was missing. As they had kept putting us off about why there was no wifi, we didn't even bother to ask desk. Front desk man in morning refused to print our boarding passes for us. Hotels always do this if they don't a computer with printer. 3/4 lights in the hallway near our room were broken - only bare bulb. faucet in bathroom broken. Scratchy, unpleasant towels and sheets. Breakfast adequate. not as good as smaller hotel we stayed in in Cobh. We stayed here years ago; it was great. Big disappointment. We won't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Killarney Lass
Couples
Orlando, Florida
Jun 12, 2013

Now you're pushing my buttons

We booked and paid for a deluxe room. When we got into the room the toilet didn't flush properly. We addressed the issue at the front desk. The clerk told me I must not know how to properly use the two-button system for flushing. (Mind you, we'd been in Ireland for ten days and had plenty of experience with this type of system.) She insisted it was my error. The only correction?-downgrade our room (but not the price) so the "tourist" could have a handle flush toilet and poor water pressure. The front desk treated us like transients with little courtesy. Bunratty Castle and Folk Park is a worthwhile stop but this hotel is worth passing up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pippa
Family
Colorado, USA
Sep 17, 2011

Our hotels were fine, but the lay overs in Logan, boston were way too long and they staff is rude.

Our hotels were clean and cheery. We found the staff to be pleasant and very willing to help in any way possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ask for the specials.

Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frustrated traveller
Family
St. Louis Missouri
Nov 6, 2010

Convenient to Shannon Airport

The hotel rooms were very nice, clean, and pleasant. The only criticisms I have are regarding the pub and the breakfast. We tried to get a sandwich in the pub after we arrived and the wait was very long. They need more help during busy times. Breakfast was buffet and only offered limited choices, only scrambled eggs, not prepared any other way, no pastries etc. The elevator was also broken when we arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveller in Ireland
Family
south of Boston,MA
Jul 5, 2010

Nice stay near airport

Last night in Ireland. Location convenient to Shannon Airport for car return,check-in etc. Hotel beautiful across from Bunratty Castle. Cows grazing in pasture behind hotel.Service and staff excellent. Perfect place for last night in Ireland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
USA
Oct 8, 2008

Very Friendly

I enjoyed my stay at Bunratty. The location was great and the area around the hotel was unbelievable with a lot to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dirty Nelly's is a great pub to visit.

Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Fairfax
May 28, 2008

Caters more to business guests

The Bunratty Castle Hotel provides comfortable, spacious rooms with an adequate full Irish breakfast. The pastries and fruit were excellent; the remainder was standard hotel breakfast fare. Service by the wait staff was exceptional. The in room bathroom was the largest and nicest of the five hotels we used during our visit. The hotel provides hourly courtesy pick up and delivery van service to Shannon air port, about fifteen minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of the Bunratty Castle medieval dinner or the folk park traditional Irish dinner and entertainment. A bit expensive with the dollar to Euro ratio in the tank, but enjoyable nonetheless.

Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
North las Vegas, NV
May 12, 2008

lovely setting, beautiful accommodations!

Bunratty Castle Hotel was very comfortable, the room was plenty large enough for the two of us. The staff were helpful and very polite. We only snacked in the bar, but service and food were great! And, the setting, oh the setting, so calm, quiet and comfortable! And, you could walk to the oldest pub in Ireland. And, it was convenient to the airport!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the typical Irish fare for shopping in one convenient location!

Back to menu Return to top