$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Western Hotel

3 stars
33 Prospect Hill, Galway,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
23 reviews
Absolutely loved our accommodations!

We arrived pretty late and only had one night here, but we wished we had more time at this... See full review

  • Siobhan Walsh
  • Apr 1, 2013
Good location and value for money

Booked 3 rooms here - all quite good - clean, view on the street and sea side. Breakfast was very... See full review

  • Family traveler
  • Jul 20, 2014
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Westerns Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar. For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious suites which sleep up to 5 guests, just to the rear of the building.The Western Hotel offers fantastc budget hotel rooms and affordable family accommodation in Galway city centre with a wide choice of rooms of different styles and sizes based on guests needs. Couples can enjoy the intimate atmosphere of double bedrooms, while families can relax and unwind in spacious quadruple en-suites. The Westerns 40 bedrooms contain all the modern amenities and comforts in its hotel suites that you would expect from a 3 star hotel.Our business guests can enjoy the free internet access, families can avail of baby-sitting services, wheel-chair users will find no difficulties in enjoying their stay in rooms specifically designed to meet their needs and all guests can avoid unnecessary hassle with parking in the city centre as free on-site car-parking is provided.The Western Suites are the epitome of style and elegance, with contemporary furnishings throughout. These 4 apartments located directly to the rear of the Western include car-parking which ensures guests recieve only the very best. Please note: Access to the suites is via a flight of stairs. There is no lift access to the suites. Please note this is a non smoking hotel

Hotel Map

53.2764 -9.048
Area served
Galway
Nearby airports
Galway airport is located a 15 minute drive from the Hotel. Shannon airport is an hour away from Galway and Dublin airport is about a 3 hour drive away.
Area description
We are in a fantastic central location in Galway city centre, on Prospect hill which is close to Eyre Square, within easy reach of all attractions, shops, pubs, clubs, restaurants, Galway train and bus station and other amenities. Please note: Underground car-park is valet parking. If there are no spaces, please leave your car keys at reception as we have a designated driver on hand should we need to move your car.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Western Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

The Western Hotel Rooms

FAMILY - GUEST_ROOM
Quadruple room ensuite with 1 double and 2 single beds. Room facilites include: multi channel television, phone, tea and coffee making facilities and free internet access.
STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Guest room ensuite with 1 double bed. Room facilities include: Multi-channel television, phone, tea and coffee making facilities and free internet access.
STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Twin room ensuite with 2 single beds. Room facilities include: Mulit-channel television, phone, tea and coffee making facilities and free internet access.
FAMILY - GUEST_ROOM
Family room ensuite with 1 double bed and 1 single bed. Room facilties include: multi-channel television, phone, tea and coffee making facilities and free internet access.
LUXURY - SUITE
Deluxe suite with 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom. Bedrooms have 1 double bed per room. Apartment suite facilities include: full kitchen, multi-channel flat screen tv in living area and bedrooms, large living room area and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast and car-parking included.
LUXURY - SUITE
Luxury suite with 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom. Double bed in one room, 1 double and 1 single bed in the other room. Apartment suite facilities include: full kitchen, multi channel flat screen tvs in both living area and bedrooms, large living area, large balcony, tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast and car-parking is included.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Western Hotel offers a professional service, excellent facilities and great value to its corporate customers and provides an wide selection of meeting facilities for up to 40 delegates. The Western Hotel is a stones throw from Eyre Square making it an ideal location for any small conference, seminar or meeting.

At the Western Hotel we pride ourselves on our commitment to offering exceptional comfort, quality of service and value to all of our customers.

Dining

Bar & Restaurant
Although renowned for its traditional music session and ceili dancing, the Western Bar also offers a live DJ and cover bands for those who prefer something with a modern twist. The Western Bar has a unique and inviting atmosphere. Entertainment is provided on various evenings and ranges from live sporting events on the big screen to a very popular traditional music session.

The Western Hotel Restaurant is located just a minute walk from Eyre Square. This excellent city centre location, underground car park facilities and the wide selection of delicious dishes, make it a perfect venue for all types of ocassions. Lunch is served daily from 12 PM, Dinner until 9 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for The Western Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Western Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daphne NL
Hilversum
Jul 29, 2014

Fawlty Towers and Manuel

From the reviews we were expecting a boutique hotel but it's more Fawlty Towers. Green carpet in the room, overcooked eggs, electric showers. We thought it was too expensive for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Seafood Restaurant Oscar

Review of The Western Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family traveler
Dublin, Ireland
Jul 20, 2014

Good location and value for money

Booked 3 rooms here - all quite good - clean, view on the street and sea side. Breakfast was very good here - a lot to choose from. The staff are friendly and helpful. Very tight with parking - had to way long to park the car and get it back, but was sorted well. The TV has a very poor selection of channels and had interruptions in work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ard Bia next to Spanish Arch/ Latin Quarter - very cozy cafe

Review of The Western Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Junibug
Norway
Jun 24, 2014

Girly getaway in Galway

The four of us shared a room at the Western and it was surprisingly spacious and comfy (two twins and one double). Upon arrival, our initial room had not been cleaned yet so we notified staff immediately. They were apologetic and embarrassed...got us sorted into a clean room right away. Breakfast was also lovely. Great location, decent price - would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Western Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Siobhan Walsh
Coral Springs,Florida
Apr 1, 2013

Absolutely loved our accommodations!

We arrived pretty late and only had one night here, but we wished we had more time at this wonderful place. The location was ideal, the breakfast superb, and the staff was most helpful. Could 't have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Spanish Arch Pub - great music and ambience.

Review of The Western Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GalwayShopper
Laois, Ireland
Jan 28, 2013

would have been fine without neighbours!

It was fine, nicely furnished room, nice view down the hill, nice staff etc, except room was very small and the walls were very thin and the neighbours were very noisey all night long (Too embarred to be more specific)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Western Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SK71
new jersey
Jan 16, 2013

Very comfortable and clean.

Centrally located near city center and within walking distance to shops, restaurants etc. Clean and comfortable room and bath. Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. Had a great breakfast as well. Breakfast and car parking included in room price -- great deal! Overall, a good quality and comfortable stay with a clean, spacious bedroom and bath. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Western Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCJulie
New York, NY, USA
Dec 1, 2012

Very charming hotel

This hotel is a very short walk, about 3-5 minutes, to JFK Park and all the bars, restaurants, shopping, etc. The hotel is old, but updated and very charming. The rooms appear to all be different. We had a fake fireplace and an oil painting in our room. The staff is very friendly, parking is free, an excellent breakfast is free and they gave us a coupon for something like a bottle, of wine, two 3 course meals for 38 euro. And the food was good! I would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Western Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimbo G
Galway lreland
Nov 9, 2012

Wonderful Gesture Equals Great Vacation

The stay far exceeded my expectations. We arrived early, well ahead of check-in time and hoped to just leave our luggage with the hotel unitl our room was ready. Instead the attendant at the desk offered us an apartment suite for our entire weeks stay at our same rate. This was the most wonderful vacation as a result.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Western Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wagno Wheel
Offaly
Oct 28, 2012

Just ordinary compared to reviews

Just basic needs. no fresh water bottles on tray, had to go out to purchase water to make tea when arrived, or a couple of biscuits would have made a difference. Room very small for double. The lounge area was very comfortable and friendly. Asked for a fresh pot of tea with our breakfast but the empty pot was just topped up with just a little amount of boiling water instead of a fresh pot of tea! would not have cost much extra, just lacking attention to detail. Please note mildew all around the windows and curtains could do with a little fixing. As for value friends stayed in a hotel close by for just 9 euro's extra 4* quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Western Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CoCoMundy
Co Donegal
Oct 25, 2012

Daughters conferring ceremony in NUI

Enjoyed our stay no end,staff very friendly and helpful, food and drink great. Wish we had known about this hotel before now, its so central for shopping, its a gem we will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search