Old Ground Hotel ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$87
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 28, 2016 Check-out: Feb 29, 2016
4.1 /5
Overall score
88%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

The Old Ground Hotel is one of the leading 4 star hotels in Ennis, Couty Clare. Inside, the warmth of the blazing fire, is matched by the warmth of the welcome. Outside, the pretty winding streets of Ennis, and beyond, the rugged beauty of County Clare and the West of Ireland.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.1 / 5
$127
Guest score 2.0 / 5
$70

Temple Gate Hotel

★★★★
Guest score 3.3 / 5
$78
Guest score 3.6 / 5
$72
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$114
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$64

Amenities

Featured

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room

General

  • Elevators

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour room service
  • Room service

Services

  • Maid service
  • Laundry service
  • In-Room Safe
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
  • Car rental desk
  • Conference facilities
  • Doctor on call
  • Gift shop
  • Audio visual equipment
  • Conference suite

Internet

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room

Accessibility

  • Accessible facilities

Room

  • Telephone

Reviews

4.1 /5 Overall score

88% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.8/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.2/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.4/5
  • Comfort: 3.9/5
  • Location: 4.8/5
  • Value: 3.8/5

Charming Hotel

Would recommend Wed, Aug 26, 2015
I had a great time at this hotel. I enjoyed sitting by the fire and live music at the attached bar. Very cute town as well.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Our Favorite Hotel in Ireland

Would recommend Mon, Nov 24, 2014
We stumbled across this hotel in the adorable town of Ennis. We loved the hospitality of the people working there and the charm of the common rooms. The bar was the perfect place to have an Irish Coffee. And although we wanted to walk around town and find a different place to eat dinner: We ended up at the restaurant that was attached to the hotel and we did not even know it. The food was great there, it is somewhat detached. The town was lovely but the hotel made it our favorite.

Dining

The hotel's restaurant was wonderful.

| Chicago, illinois Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Perfect location

Would recommend Sat, May 3, 2014
We have stayed at this hotel many times now and always love it .The breakfasts are delicious with lots of variety.I have rated the comfort of the room lower than normal as there was no mini bar which would have been good to have or even some water. I have rated the cleanliness as ok even though the bed room was very clean but the bathroom is in need of refurbishment so the grouting and sealing etc looked dirty.

| Newcastle upon tyne Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Nice but small

Would recommend Tue, Oct 8, 2013
My husband, two year old daughter and myself checked in for a one night stay on our road trip. The hotel's location is great for checking out the cliffs of mohr, as we did. We didn't get a chance to shop, but the access to cute little shops couldn't be better. As for the hotel, it is nice but a bit stuffy for a fun family on the go. The hotel seemed turned off by the fact we had a two year old. They even made it a point to tell us that breakfast was complimentary for my husband and myself, but told us if our baby wanted to way, we would have to pay. We have am extremely picky eater, so of they were able to whip something up to her liking, I would have gladly paid, but I thought their concerns were dramatic. We are very easy going and do not make special requests. The room was very clean and up to date. There even was an America electrical outlet which was great. If you are into an uptight nice quiet stay...this is for you. If you are just looking for a clean place to lay I our head and don't consider yourself in need of social status, choose a warmer location to feel welcome.

| St. Louis, mo Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Historic property in historic Ireland

Would recommend Fri, Sep 6, 2013
The hotel is a mostly an historic property. The rooms are updated, comfortable, and very clean. The staff in the hotel are friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The three restaurants in the hotel are excellent, and each offers a different ambience. When visiting the west of Ireland's County Clare, it's hard to beat this town's location. Every site -- the Cliffs of Moher, the Burren, Spanish Beach, Knoppogue Castle, and even Bunratty Castle (if you must) -- is within a one hour or less drive. The drives are beautiful. The hotel is right in the middle of town, making for wonderful walks. My only complaint is the hotel parking lot, which is inadequately supervised and controlled. We stayed from Friday through Wednesday. On the weekend, parking was a serious problem as the hotel's "free" lot is used by shoppers at nearby Dunne's (who don't want to pay one euro per hour to park), and on Sunday, by churchgoers at the cathedral across the street. While the hotel occasionally boots some offending vehicles, many local vehicles come and go all day long, leaving few if any spots for guests. When I brought this issue to the hotel management's attention, its suggestion was to pay for on-street parking or at an off-site lot. Having spent a significant amount to stay at the hotel (and significantly more than the Dunne's shoppers), I thought this response inappropriate. The problem could be easily solved by a gate. If parking is more of a concern than historic looks, you should check out the Temple Gate Hotel, also in Ennis. It's newer and has more parking. You should also note that from Temple Gate a short pedestrian walkway provides easy access to Abbey Street where most of the pubs are located.

Entertainment hint

The music at the Poet's Corner pub, which is part of the hotel, is great. And, in all of Ennis, there are many pubs to enjoy live music. A real treat after sightseeing all day!

| Philadelphia, PA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great overnight stay

Would recommend Thu, Aug 9, 2012
Stayed here before leaving for the airport the next morning. Great location in Ennis, with friendly, efficient staff and comfortable rooms and beds! Would definitely stay again!

| Hawaii Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Best Hotel Stay

Would recommend Wed, Apr 25, 2012
Staying at the Old Ground Hotel in Ennis, Ireland was by far the best stay in a hotel. I cant say enough for the staff that works there. All were extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. The room we stayed in was fantastic. King size bed, and good size room. Hotel is centrally located with everything in Ennis with in walking distance. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks.

Attractions

Visit the Cliffs of Moher if you get the chance. Barrat tours picks you up from front of hotel and gives a great all day tour of some historic sites with the last stop being the Cliffs of Moher.

| Fort Myers, FL, USA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

great location but dated

Would not recommend Mon, Jun 6, 2011
nice hotel but the room i stayed in was quite dated. im all for the charm but the room was ragged. the curtains had tears in them, and the paint looked rather old. breakfast was so-so. cleaning service was good and staff was very friendly. centrally located to town and surrounding attractions. internet did NOT work outside of lobby. very frustrating because they even admitted to knwoing that

| usa Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Nice hotel

Would recommend Fri, Mar 27, 2009
Great hotel close to the shopping areas of town, really old area, They were having problems with their internet when we were there, never really got fixed, had to go to the lobby for access.Was a pain but overall, a fine hotel

| Flagstaff, AZ Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great Location

Would recommend Sun, Sep 30, 2007
The Old Ground Hotel is located in the center of Ennis allowing for easy access to shopping, restuarant and pubs. The rooms were small but comfortable.

Shopping hint

Shopping is right there. There is a nice pub and resturant in the hotel.

| USA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

$87
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2016 Check-out: Feb 29, 2016