The Westin Dublin

5 stars
at College Green, Westmoreland Street, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
56 reviews
Excellent Hotel!!

We stayed at the Westin Dublin based on the reviews we read and could not have made a better... See full review

  • CMcQ
  • Apr 26, 2014
Great Overall

The room was spacious and nice. Bathroom was very nice. It's a great location for a tourist. The... See full review

  • Biz Traveler 2014
  • Jul 7, 2014
Rich surroundings in the Irish capital
The facade of The Westin Dublin only hints at the grandiose interior of this former 19th century bank turned five-star hotel. Opposite Trinity College in the center of the city, the hotel takes up an entire block of prime real estate. The location affords beautiful views over the grounds of the old college from many rooms, but guests need not venture outdoors to experience history and stunning scenery. From the wood and marble lobby to the frescoed walls of the Exchange Restaurant, this hotel exudes luxury.

 

Highlights
  • Centrally located luxury hotel housed in impressive former 19th century bank
  • Three unique restaurant and bar areas offer premier dining and entertainment
  • 24-hour fitness facility
  • In-room spa service available
  • Green Hospitality Award for eco-friendly practices
Rooms

Classic guest rooms in the 168-room Westin Dublin overlook the glass roof of the lounge, while many of the deluxe rooms look out over the city. Library suites named after Irish writers feature separate living room and study. The College Suite, a split-level penthouse with balcony, offers magnificent views. The first floor features a living room, dining room, bedroom, dressing area and large bathroom. On the upper level is an office, private exercise area and Nordic steam room. Wireless Internet access is available in rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin's clever restoration of the historic bank building it inhabits is evident in the guest spaces. The original bank building now houses the glass-topped Atrium Lounge where patrons sip refreshments. The popular Mint cocktail bar, housed in what once was the bank's vault still features a banking counter. The Exchange Restaurant offers an intimate, relaxing dining experience in a room decorated with attractive Art Deco murals. The hotel has a 24-hour gym and in-room spa services. Wireless Internet access is available in all rooms (fees apply). Luxury conference facilities are also available.

Transportation
  • Short walk to LUAS tram system
  • Short walk to DART trains
  • Aircoach service nearby
  • Taxi service
  • Parking available (reserve in advance)
Attractions
  • Trinity College
  • Bank of Ireland
  • Temple Bar
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Guinness Storehouse
  • Dublin Castle
  • National Gallery and National Museum of Ireland
Business
  • Luxury conference facilities accommodate up to 250 guests
  • Meeting rooms include unlimited tea and coffee, working buffet lunch, flip charts, pads and pens, LCD projector and screen, triple SPP points and Wi-Fi access

The Westin Dublin Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Hotel Map

53.3456 -6.2589
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Dublin Airport, (DUB), 16.09, KM;
Area description
City Center, Urban

Nearby points of interest

  • Westmoreland Street: 0 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • College Green: 0.1 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.1 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.1 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.2 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.2 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • College Green: 0.1 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.1 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.1 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.2 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.2 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.2 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.3 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.3 mi
  • The Ark: 0.3 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.3 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.3 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.3 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.3 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.3 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.3 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.3 mi

Dining

The Exchange Restaurant
The Exchange Restaurant’s cosy atmosphere features natural light and intimate corners, with Art Deco touches throughout. Enjoy friendly service as you start your day with a healthy SuperFoodsRx™ breakfast.
The Atrium Lounge
The Atrium Lounge is an inspirational haven boasting a five-story glass ceiling. Relax and enjoy a traditional afternoon tea or sample any of the items from the all-day menu available seven days a week.
The Mint Bar
The Mint Bar has turned the former bank vaults into one of Dublin's favourite meeting places. The welcoming atmosphere, a great pint of Guinness, and an extensive cocktail list make it popular with locals and guests alike.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Dublin

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
5
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
9 travelers
Business
Phoenix,Az
Jun 25, 2012

Average for price paid

We had 5 rooms for 3 nights. Location great but staff so-so. The hotel turned off AC during night somehow and rooms got warm. Overall not worth price given other options. Beds did not seem to be heavenly beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

"Rural pub tours" and Shane O'Donoghue top notch. Great experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
islandtuberider
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jun 19, 2013

A Bit Pricey

We arrived just after 4 PM after traveling for several hours. Our room was not ready but we could upgrade for 50 euro a night. Already paying a lot so we did not upgrade. He then said we could downgrade but didn't go into details as to what we would get. Then magically our room was ready. So I feel that all they wanted was for us to pay more and upgrade. It was very hot in Dublin (80's) but the AC would not work in the night so it got rather hot. They provided a fan on the second night. The manager apologized at check out. Otherwise the hotel was fine for a short stay in Dublin and close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 29, 2010

Not at same level as other Westin Hotels

I have stayed many times at Westin hotels and this was the first time that I was not happy. The hotel was centrally located, and this is just about the best part. Our reservation was for a king size room and I was given what they call a queen size bed. I am 6 ft tall and my feet were hanging of the edge. At first we were given a room that had been made, but there were half empty bottles of beer and water all over the furniture. Also there were half used shampoo and soaps in the shower, tub and sink. We were given another room without trouble, but on two different days as we spoke with the concierge, other guests were complaining about similar issues. By the way, the concierge was far less than helpful. Their suggestion was to wonder the streets and find a place to eat on a Friday night. After wondering the city for 2 hours and being turned several times because of a lack of reservation, we came back to the hotel and ordered room service. This hotel is not at the same level as other Westin properties and not worth the extra money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 18, 2011

Great location- disappointing service

The rooms were lovely and the location was great. The room however was incredibly hot and it took hotel maintenance almost 2 hours to fix it. The dining room was closed for some reason when we were there so dining options were limited. We arrived in the lounge area 3 minutes after they stopped serving sandwiches (7:30pm) and the waiter was not only unable to make an exception to serve us a sandwhoch but was quite rude. The only place therefore open for dinner was a very noisy basement lounge where the food was unremarkable and over priced. Generally I wod say the only thing the hotel has going for it is location (which is ideal for exploring Dublin by foot) butotherwise it is over priced. I expect better service from a Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 11, 2009

Hotel is OK, but.......

Hotel was OK, but for a Westin and a five star rating there were some disappointments. Room was decorated well, comfortable, excellent bed, etc. But...no clock radio with alarm, safe in the closet did not work, no turn down service, single vanity in bathroom, one bath robe instead of two for a couple occupying the room, parking charge of 25 Euros per night, and an automatic, mandatory 1 Euro charge for UNICEF!!! Beautiful hotel, friendly & helpful staff, excellent location, good breakfast available but expensive. It just lacked the little amenities that should be provided for a five star rating. The previous 3 nights we were spoiled staying at the Hayfield Manor in Cork.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Jun 3, 2010

Westin

On business trip without Internet. Have been changed rooms without luck on Internet as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hilton head sc
Oct 28, 2009

I just fell through the cracks

I Work in this field I travel a lot.I just think i was that one customer that fell threw the cracks.When i first got to the hotel everything was great.The staff was very nice the front door man was the best.I got into my room it was Ok I had requested a king got a queen that's fine.just to find the bathroom not to be up to 4 stars as requested the shower needs to be updated the grout is mildew and leeks down the hall not fun because the carpet stays wet told them about this matter 4 times on the 3 time the front desk girl said i told my gm?On my first night I had 3 friends in town and we got lost from our group so I said lets go back to my room and wait for them,as we walked into the hotel the night doorman told me i was not aloud to bring my friend up to my room,I was taken back by this so the night mgr [...] came out and talk to me and I said I was not going to let my friends wait out in the rain.On the next night the fire alarm was pulled about 230 in the morn there was nobody on the street to let us know what was going on.House keeping did a good job all but one day it seamed like they walked in and out.One the day before i ck out i got my wifi bill i called down to tell them i had one more night,they said oh yah sorry so i stepped out of my room it locked me out its no big deal just that when you call down to tell them something the right hand doesnt tell the left @ the front desk.the last thing is that if your on the right side of the building you will listen to the buses all night not fun.In the good points this is a nice hotel the mint bar is a good first drink place.there are a lot of people that work hard at there job and go out of there way.From this hotel you could walk to about any place.I was that one person that fell threw the cracks,I would stay here again but,I stay in westin about 50 times a year they just need to take a good look at this hotel again to give it 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoeBeans
Business
USA
Oct 19, 2009

it's not the buget motel

It's a great location. You get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve and Roxie
Business
Maple Grove Minnesota
Jul 30, 2012

Great experience!

Second time at the Westin. Can't find a better location if you want to experience Dublin City Centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snug09
Business
Iowa, USA
Sep 11, 2012

Great Location

The location is unbeatable. Rooms are stylish and very clean. Staff is very helpful and available at all hours. Despite a high price, internet and breakfast are not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the literary pub crawl starting at Duke's Pub. It is wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top