$208 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 20, 2014

The Westin Dublin

5 stars
at College Green, Westmoreland Street, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
56 reviews
Excellent Hotel!!

We stayed at the Westin Dublin based on the reviews we read and could not have made a better... See full review

  • CMcQ
  • Apr 26, 2014
Wonderful!

We had a wonderful time. The staff was amazing. They were friendly and helpful. The hotel is... See full review

  • Cathy2013
  • Jun 23, 2013
Rich surroundings in the Irish capital
The facade of The Westin Dublin only hints at the grandiose interior of this former 19th century bank turned five-star hotel. Opposite Trinity College in the center of the city, the hotel takes up an entire block of prime real estate. The location affords beautiful views over the grounds of the old college from many rooms, but guests need not venture outdoors to experience history and stunning scenery. From the wood and marble lobby to the frescoed walls of the Exchange Restaurant, this hotel exudes luxury.

 

Highlights
  • Centrally located luxury hotel housed in impressive former 19th century bank
  • Three unique restaurant and bar areas offer premier dining and entertainment
  • 24-hour fitness facility
  • In-room spa service available
  • Green Hospitality Award for eco-friendly practices
Rooms

Classic guest rooms in the 168-room Westin Dublin overlook the glass roof of the lounge, while many of the deluxe rooms look out over the city. Library suites named after Irish writers feature separate living room and study. The College Suite, a split-level penthouse with balcony, offers magnificent views. The first floor features a living room, dining room, bedroom, dressing area and large bathroom. On the upper level is an office, private exercise area and Nordic steam room. Wireless Internet access is available in rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin's clever restoration of the historic bank building it inhabits is evident in the guest spaces. The original bank building now houses the glass-topped Atrium Lounge where patrons sip refreshments. The popular Mint cocktail bar, housed in what once was the bank's vault still features a banking counter. The Exchange Restaurant offers an intimate, relaxing dining experience in a room decorated with attractive Art Deco murals. The hotel has a 24-hour gym and in-room spa services. Wireless Internet access is available in all rooms (fees apply). Luxury conference facilities are also available.

Transportation
  • Short walk to LUAS tram system
  • Short walk to DART trains
  • Aircoach service nearby
  • Taxi service
  • Parking available (reserve in advance)
Attractions
  • Trinity College
  • Bank of Ireland
  • Temple Bar
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Guinness Storehouse
  • Dublin Castle
  • National Gallery and National Museum of Ireland
Business
  • Luxury conference facilities accommodate up to 250 guests
  • Meeting rooms include unlimited tea and coffee, working buffet lunch, flip charts, pads and pens, LCD projector and screen, triple SPP points and Wi-Fi access

Hotel Map

53.3456 -6.2589
Nearby airports
Dublin Airport, (DUB), 10.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Dublin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

The Westin Dublin Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Westmoreland Street: 0 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • College Green: 0.1 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.1 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.1 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.2 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.2 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • College Green: 0.1 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.1 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.1 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.2 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.2 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.2 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.3 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.3 mi
  • The Ark: 0.3 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.3 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.3 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.3 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.3 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.3 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Dublin

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
5
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Jun 17, 2011

Dublin Westin

The building is fabulous. Rooms are spacious for such an old building, including large bathrooms. The location is just steps away from the Airport Coach dropoff and pickup, such that walking with a heavy suitcase is very easy. Will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel also has excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Occasional Euro Traveler
Chicago
Oct 3, 2010

Great location, Great hotel

The Westin Dublin is perfectly situated to see the sights in Dublin. Although our room wasn't ready when we checked-in, it was worth the wait. We were booked into a deluxe room with ample closet space and a large bathroom which had a separate shower and bath. The staff was very helpful and the room was very clean. We highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New Palace Bar Regular
Charlotte, NC
Jul 18, 2012

Great place to stay

Everything about the Westin was beyond expectations. Even the building itself, being a converted bank, was very interesting. Very close to everything in Centre City Dublin, all within walking distance. Staff was more than helpful, suggesting places to eat and giving directions. Baths had a shower as well as a large bathtub. Very spacious and elegant. Beds were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, Ca
Aug 29, 2009

Top Notch!

An absolutely TOP NOTCH hotel. I've never experienced such amazing customer service! After only a brief exchange with [...], the Events Manager, I wish I could have an event there just to have her plan it! The rest of my staff encounters were all wonderful as well.I booked the Classic room each time and both rooms I stayed in were beautiful. They overlooked the atrium, which gave me plenty of light. The bed and linens… wow! When they say "Heavenly Bed", they mean heavenly!!! The bathrooms with big tubs… sigh.I had a few meals via room service and was not disappointed. Even used the workout room, which I found kind of dark, but supplying everything I wanted. As a fresh off the plane traveler, first time in Dublin, I can't imagine being happier anywhere else. This place put my trip off to a great and relaxing start.I'm ready to move in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Napa Valley Vacationers
Napa Valley, CA
Feb 25, 2013

Great Getaway to Dublin

This hotel is centrally located in the heart of Dublin, close to banks, the best restaurants and bars, as well as Grafton Street shopping. The hotel restaurants were excellent serving delicious and fresh food, The international hotel staff was very professional and helpful with directions, concierge services, and suggestions for a truly Dublin experience. When we return to Dublin, we will definitely stay at the Westin Dublin Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fran5477
Belmont, California
Apr 12, 2013

Beautiful, lovely experience

We stayed here during our honeymoon to the UK and Ireland, and it was the nicest hotel we stayed in by far. The hotel is gorgeous and the staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. When they learned it was our honeymoon, they upgraded us to a superior room, which had a king-sized bed (the most comfortable bed ever) and lots of extra space. It was the best sleep we got the entire trip! This hotel is absolutely lovely, and I would recommend it to anyone who is going to Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Good Bird Oreb
Portland, OR
Jun 26, 2010

Elegant oasis in the heart of Dublin

We arrived exhausted and sans luggage, but the staff were so helpful and friendly that we soon settled in, forgot all those little frustrations that come with globetrotting, and got around to exploring Temple Bar, Trinity, St. Stephen's Green and O'Connell Street, all of which are right at your doorstep when staying at the Westin. The decor theme is understated Georgian elegance rather than flashy or ostentatious modernity. The room was comfy, had a wonderful view, and surprisingly provided what was surely the biggest, most impressive shower I have ever seen in the UK or Ireland. You will not regret spending the extra money to stay at this classy, comfortable hotel in the heart of Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar is a short staggering distance from the hotel's front door, if partying the night away is your thing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deb & Dennis
Massillon, OH
Feb 14, 2010

Has to be one of the best in Dublin.

Being our first trip to Dublin Ireland we were very impressed and happy with our decision to stay at The Westin Dublin. It's central location made sightseeing and getting around the city very easy. The Temple Bar area is just a few minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel staff was exceptionally helpful. The hotel had beautiful marble columns and several fireplaces in the main lobby and a mezzanine area that was totally gorgeous with a fireplace, bar and multiple seating areas. In the lower level was the Mint Bar which was open late and also served food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try to avoid using the taxis services, even though they are very plentiful and convenient they are overpriced. Staying at the Westin we were centrally located so walking was not a problem. Also the bus system provided easy access to other attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just Veronica
Dallas, Texas
Mar 22, 2010

St. Patty's Day Stay

The entire staff was wonderful and made our stay so delightful. I had arranged for the staff to give my boyfriend a surprise on his birthday and they delivered! A wonderful dessert tray arrived along with champaigne!! The room was great, bathroom very nice. View was obstructed but still great, just make sure to ask for a westmorland facing room if possible. Then you can watch the St. Patricks Day parade from your window. Otherwise, all you need to do is walk out the front door. The Westin Dublin is truly in the heart of the city. We thought about getting a rental car, but thank goodness we didn't. Every morning we got up and walked everywhere. To your right about one block down is the River Liffey, immediately to your left Trinity College. Just past Trinity on the next block, entrance to Grafton Street! Across the street from Westin the entrance to Temple Bar. Three - four blocks behind Merrion Square area. If you don't mind walking this is the place to stay and the city to go to. We went as far as walking to Jameson Distillery and even that wasn't far. Dublin was great! Westin was wonderful and I cannot wait to go back. There's no doubt in my mind that my next stay will be at the Westin!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The one and only complaint I have is the food prices at the Westin. We wanted breakfast in bed so bad but we could not get ourselves to pay the Westin's prices for meals. Over 20 Euro for Continental breakfast each (and thats without drinks)I highly recommend Kylemore's its a couple blocks north of the the Liffey, right across from the Spire and a hot breakfast starts at 5 Euro, you can't beat that! For dinner if you're craving Italian in Ireland there's this great place in the Temple Bar area right off the main street. You can get two appetizers, two main courses and a bottle of wine for 31 Euro. And no matter where you're at Guinness is always the cheapest beer to get. Everywhere it was only about 3 Euro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 5, 2009

westin Dublin

great location-walking distance to everything! Bus stop across the street-Great!!! An oasis of luxury in a busy busy city!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top