$234 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

The Westin Dublin

5 stars
at College Green, Westmoreland Street, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
56 reviews
Excellent Hotel!!

We stayed at the Westin Dublin based on the reviews we read and could not have made a better... See full review

  • CMcQ
  • Apr 26, 2014
Wonderful!

We had a wonderful time. The staff was amazing. They were friendly and helpful. The hotel is... See full review

  • Cathy2013
  • Jun 23, 2013
Rich surroundings in the Irish capital
The facade of The Westin Dublin only hints at the grandiose interior of this former 19th century bank turned five-star hotel. Opposite Trinity College in the center of the city, the hotel takes up an entire block of prime real estate. The location affords beautiful views over the grounds of the old college from many rooms, but guests need not venture outdoors to experience history and stunning scenery. From the wood and marble lobby to the frescoed walls of the Exchange Restaurant, this hotel exudes luxury.

 

Highlights
  • Centrally located luxury hotel housed in impressive former 19th century bank
  • Three unique restaurant and bar areas offer premier dining and entertainment
  • 24-hour fitness facility
  • In-room spa service available
  • Green Hospitality Award for eco-friendly practices
Rooms

Classic guest rooms in the 168-room Westin Dublin overlook the glass roof of the lounge, while many of the deluxe rooms look out over the city. Library suites named after Irish writers feature separate living room and study. The College Suite, a split-level penthouse with balcony, offers magnificent views. The first floor features a living room, dining room, bedroom, dressing area and large bathroom. On the upper level is an office, private exercise area and Nordic steam room. Wireless Internet access is available in rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin's clever restoration of the historic bank building it inhabits is evident in the guest spaces. The original bank building now houses the glass-topped Atrium Lounge where patrons sip refreshments. The popular Mint cocktail bar, housed in what once was the bank's vault still features a banking counter. The Exchange Restaurant offers an intimate, relaxing dining experience in a room decorated with attractive Art Deco murals. The hotel has a 24-hour gym and in-room spa services. Wireless Internet access is available in all rooms (fees apply). Luxury conference facilities are also available.

Transportation
  • Short walk to LUAS tram system
  • Short walk to DART trains
  • Aircoach service nearby
  • Taxi service
  • Parking available (reserve in advance)
Attractions
  • Trinity College
  • Bank of Ireland
  • Temple Bar
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Guinness Storehouse
  • Dublin Castle
  • National Gallery and National Museum of Ireland
Business
  • Luxury conference facilities accommodate up to 250 guests
  • Meeting rooms include unlimited tea and coffee, working buffet lunch, flip charts, pads and pens, LCD projector and screen, triple SPP points and Wi-Fi access

Hotel Map

53.3456 -6.2589
Nearby airports
Dublin Airport, (DUB), 10.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Dublin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

The Westin Dublin Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Westmoreland Street: 0 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • College Green: 0.1 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.1 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.1 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.2 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.2 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • College Green: 0.1 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.1 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.1 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.2 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.2 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.2 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.3 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.3 mi
  • The Ark: 0.3 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.3 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.3 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.3 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.3 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.3 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Dublin

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
5
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K Rae
Great Neck, New York
Apr 15, 2012

Outstanding Dublin Experience

The Westin Dublin could not be more centrally located. It is in the heart of the city walking distance to almost every attaction. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, the choice of restaurants and foods more than satisfactory, and the fitness room very adequate although after a full day of sightseeing I didn't have the need or energy to use it. The room was large and well appointed. I like the "green option" of foregoing room cleaning for a 5 euro voucher to use in one of the restaurants/bars and therefore was "treated" to a nice meal by the end of my stay. The historic building is luxurious. My daughters and I loved our experience at The Westin Dublin and would absolutely stay there again if we return to Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, FL
Nov 29, 2010

Not at same level as other Westin Hotels

I have stayed many times at Westin hotels and this was the first time that I was not happy. The hotel was centrally located, and this is just about the best part. Our reservation was for a king size room and I was given what they call a queen size bed. I am 6 ft tall and my feet were hanging of the edge. At first we were given a room that had been made, but there were half empty bottles of beer and water all over the furniture. Also there were half used shampoo and soaps in the shower, tub and sink. We were given another room without trouble, but on two different days as we spoke with the concierge, other guests were complaining about similar issues. By the way, the concierge was far less than helpful. Their suggestion was to wonder the streets and find a place to eat on a Friday night. After wondering the city for 2 hours and being turned several times because of a lack of reservation, we came back to the hotel and ordered room service. This hotel is not at the same level as other Westin properties and not worth the extra money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Occasional Euro Traveler
Chicago
Oct 3, 2010

Great location, Great hotel

The Westin Dublin is perfectly situated to see the sights in Dublin. Although our room wasn't ready when we checked-in, it was worth the wait. We were booked into a deluxe room with ample closet space and a large bathroom which had a separate shower and bath. The staff was very helpful and the room was very clean. We highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston
Aug 30, 2010

Great hotel

Great hotel. Very nice and clean rooms. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dub in Georgia
Warner Robins, GA
Aug 25, 2010

Great Place, great city.

Amazing experience at an amazing hotel. The staff were extraordinarily friendly and helpful and made the whole stay a delight. We'll be back and we'll be staying at the Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Good Bird Oreb
Portland, OR
Jun 26, 2010

Elegant oasis in the heart of Dublin

We arrived exhausted and sans luggage, but the staff were so helpful and friendly that we soon settled in, forgot all those little frustrations that come with globetrotting, and got around to exploring Temple Bar, Trinity, St. Stephen's Green and O'Connell Street, all of which are right at your doorstep when staying at the Westin. The decor theme is understated Georgian elegance rather than flashy or ostentatious modernity. The room was comfy, had a wonderful view, and surprisingly provided what was surely the biggest, most impressive shower I have ever seen in the UK or Ireland. You will not regret spending the extra money to stay at this classy, comfortable hotel in the heart of Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar is a short staggering distance from the hotel's front door, if partying the night away is your thing.

Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Jun 16, 2010

Hot & Cold

Great location & ambiance, overlooks Trinity College, steps to shopping on Grafton St. and Temple Bar. For the most part the hotel staff was great, but there were a few clunkers working there. We were able to check in early and check out late which was terrific since we were travelling internationally. Romms are a little small, but that's to be expected in city hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of places to dine and the concierge will book you a reservation at the finer restaurants.

Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chapel Hill, NC
Jun 14, 2010

Great Hotel

The hotel was great. The staff were very attentive and our room was great. The view could have been better (window looked out to a gravel courtyard and the windows of other rooms (no city view). The location was perfect for seeing all of Dublin's sites and the temple bar area where all the great pubs are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the block (behind the hotel), there is a great pub called Doyle's. It is great for grabbing a few beers before calling it a night.

Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Millbrae, CA
Jun 10, 2010

5 Star in American Standards

This was a beautiful property in a prime location (walking distance to every tourist site). Clean, beautiful rooms, great food for room service and nice club with live music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was so very close and easy to get to

Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Jun 3, 2010

Westin

On business trip without Internet. Have been changed rooms without luck on Internet as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John the Screenplay Writer
Rossmoor, CA
Mar 30, 2010

Friendly Hotel

What makes this hotel special, in addition to the excellent location in the city centre, is the exceptionally helpful staff. We were there for a week, and every day we relied on the staff for directions and assistance. They were without exception courteous and conscientious. They lent my wife a step-down trasnformer for her U.S.-made hair curlers, gave us directions, booked reservations for a play, and gave us many good tips on where to go and what to see. [...], the doorman, was a goldmine of information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bewley's Oriental Cafe on Grafton Street is a charming place with lovely decor and good food at a reasonable price. It's just a five-minute walk from the Westin.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search