The Westin Dublin

5 stars
at College Green, Westmoreland Street, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
91 reviews
Excellent Hotel!!

We stayed at the Westin Dublin based on the reviews we read and could not have made a better... See full review

  • CMcQ
  • Apr 26, 2014
Wonderful!

We had a wonderful time. The staff was amazing. They were friendly and helpful. The hotel is... See full review

  • Cathy2013
  • Jun 23, 2013
Rich surroundings in the Irish capital
The facade of The Westin Dublin only hints at the grandiose interior of this former 19th century bank turned five-star hotel. Opposite Trinity College in the center of the city, the hotel takes up an entire block of prime real estate. The location affords beautiful views over the grounds of the old college from many rooms, but guests need not venture outdoors to experience history and stunning scenery. From the wood and marble lobby to the frescoed walls of the Exchange Restaurant, this hotel exudes luxury.

 

Highlights
  • Centrally located luxury hotel housed in impressive former 19th century bank
  • Three unique restaurant and bar areas offer premier dining and entertainment
  • 24-hour fitness facility
  • In-room spa service available
  • Green Hospitality Award for eco-friendly practices
Rooms

Classic guest rooms in the 168-room Westin Dublin overlook the glass roof of the lounge, while many of the deluxe rooms look out over the city. Library suites named after Irish writers feature separate living room and study. The College Suite, a split-level penthouse with balcony, offers magnificent views. The first floor features a living room, dining room, bedroom, dressing area and large bathroom. On the upper level is an office, private exercise area and Nordic steam room. Wireless Internet access is available in rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin's clever restoration of the historic bank building it inhabits is evident in the guest spaces. The original bank building now houses the glass-topped Atrium Lounge where patrons sip refreshments. The popular Mint cocktail bar, housed in what once was the bank's vault still features a banking counter. The Exchange Restaurant offers an intimate, relaxing dining experience in a room decorated with attractive Art Deco murals. The hotel has a 24-hour gym and in-room spa services. Wireless Internet access is available in all rooms (fees apply). Luxury conference facilities are also available.

Transportation
  • Short walk to LUAS tram system
  • Short walk to DART trains
  • Aircoach service nearby
  • Taxi service
  • Parking available (reserve in advance)
Attractions
  • Trinity College
  • Bank of Ireland
  • Temple Bar
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Guinness Storehouse
  • Dublin Castle
  • National Gallery and National Museum of Ireland
Business
  • Luxury conference facilities accommodate up to 250 guests
  • Meeting rooms include unlimited tea and coffee, working buffet lunch, flip charts, pads and pens, LCD projector and screen, triple SPP points and Wi-Fi access

The Westin Dublin Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

53.3456 -6.2589
Nearby airports
Dublin Airport, (DUB), 10.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Westmoreland Street: 0 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • College Green: 0.1 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.1 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.1 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.2 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.2 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • College Green: 0.1 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.1 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.1 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.2 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.2 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.2 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.3 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.3 mi
  • The Ark: 0.3 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.3 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.3 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.3 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.3 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.3 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Dublin

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Livonia, MI
Apr 25, 2011

excellent experience

The people were friendly and professional. The rooms were clean and well maintained

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The doormen were excellent at recommending places to try

Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Livonia, MI
Apr 25, 2011

excellent experience

The people were friendly and professional. The rooms were clean and well maintained

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The doormen were excellent at recommending places to try

Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
boulderresident
Boulder, CO
Apr 9, 2011

Very nice stay

My mom and I were vacationing in Dublin and the location of the Westin can't be beat. It is withing walking distance of everything and the concierge was very helpful in planning day trips outside of Dublin for us. The hotel itself was beautiful with very friendly and professional staff. We particularly enjoyed having tea in the Atrium restaurant. Although I would stay here again in a heartbeat, I do wish that the hotel provided complimentary wi-fi and allowed early check-ins (arrive in Dublin at 6am and not being able to check-in until 1pm wasn't fun!). I would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Have the concierge arrange a day trip to the Cliffs of Moher. The travel time is long (over 2 hours, but very scenic) but totally worth it!

Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
boulderresident
Boulder, CO
Apr 9, 2011

Very nice stay

My mom and I were vacationing in Dublin and the location of the Westin can't be beat. It is withing walking distance of everything and the concierge was very helpful in planning day trips outside of Dublin for us. The hotel itself was beautiful with very friendly and professional staff. We particularly enjoyed having tea in the Atrium restaurant. Although I would stay here again in a heartbeat, I do wish that the hotel provided complimentary wi-fi and allowed early check-ins (arrive in Dublin at 6am and not being able to check-in until 1pm wasn't fun!). I would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Have the concierge arrange a day trip to the Cliffs of Moher. The travel time is long (over 2 hours, but very scenic) but totally worth it!

Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
spring hill, florida
Apr 4, 2011

Fantastic family vacation

Best vacation ever, excellent hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
spring hill, florida
Apr 4, 2011

Fantastic family vacation

Best vacation ever, excellent hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jan 18, 2011

Great location- disappointing service

The rooms were lovely and the location was great. The room however was incredibly hot and it took hotel maintenance almost 2 hours to fix it. The dining room was closed for some reason when we were there so dining options were limited. We arrived in the lounge area 3 minutes after they stopped serving sandwiches (7:30pm) and the waiter was not only unable to make an exception to serve us a sandwhoch but was quite rude. The only place therefore open for dinner was a very noisy basement lounge where the food was unremarkable and over priced. Generally I wod say the only thing the hotel has going for it is location (which is ideal for exploring Dublin by foot) butotherwise it is over priced. I expect better service from a Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jan 18, 2011

Great location- disappointing service

The rooms were lovely and the location was great. The room however was incredibly hot and it took hotel maintenance almost 2 hours to fix it. The dining room was closed for some reason when we were there so dining options were limited. We arrived in the lounge area 3 minutes after they stopped serving sandwiches (7:30pm) and the waiter was not only unable to make an exception to serve us a sandwhoch but was quite rude. The only place therefore open for dinner was a very noisy basement lounge where the food was unremarkable and over priced. Generally I wod say the only thing the hotel has going for it is location (which is ideal for exploring Dublin by foot) butotherwise it is over priced. I expect better service from a Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Over 50 new traveler
New York City suburbs
Jan 2, 2011

Wonderful getaway!

This was our first trip in a very long time, but well worth the wait. First of all, thanks to Mother Nature and the 2010 Blizzard, our flight was delayed for 2 days. [...] The hotel was fabulous. We arrived at 10:15 in the morning and even tho check in wasn't until 3 pm, our room was ready. They also extended check out to 1pm. The beds were absolutely a pleasant highlight of the trip...so very comfortable! The hotel is luxurious and yet they offer you the choice of no maid service in exchange for 5 euros per night to be applied to any of the 3 in house restaurants. The room was equipped with just about everything including a hair dryer. The fridge was completely stocked with snacks/ drinks but they did have a high cost. The Mint Bar in the basement and the Atrium Bar on the 1st floor were both great places to hang out and relax. The staff is very accommodating and the Concierge very willing to give suggestions, make restaurant/sight seeing arrangements and find information about store hours. The breakfasts in the hotel were very expensive but we did eat there one morning-it was outstanding. Bewley's-right on Grafton St.-offered a terrific breakfast for much less money. Our room was a perfect size for the 2 of us and the bathroom was huge-had a large shower and a large separate tub. As far as we were concerned, The Westin is located in the best part of the city-right across from the Temple Bar area and one block away from Grafton St. The airbus to/from the airport is directly across from the front door, and the Hop On Hop Off Tour bus was also very convenient. Right across the street from Trinity College-You could walk to everything. There was a great assortment of excellent restaurants and Pubs close by too. And the workout room had an adequate assortment of top shelf equipment-treadmills, ellipticals, bikes, weights,medicine balls etc.If we go to Dublin again, we would definitely choose the Westin!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you've never been to Dublin, you may want to try the Hop On Hop Off Tour bus-it's very inexpensive and your ticket is good for 2 days. It stops at each attraction every 10-15 minutes so you can stay as long as you like and you can get off and then on again when you're ready. The stop for Trinity College is right across the street from the Westin

Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Over 50 new traveler
New York City suburbs
Jan 2, 2011

Wonderful getaway!

This was our first trip in a very long time, but well worth the wait. First of all, thanks to Mother Nature and the 2010 Blizzard, our flight was delayed for 2 days. [...] The hotel was fabulous. We arrived at 10:15 in the morning and even tho check in wasn't until 3 pm, our room was ready. They also extended check out to 1pm. The beds were absolutely a pleasant highlight of the trip...so very comfortable! The hotel is luxurious and yet they offer you the choice of no maid service in exchange for 5 euros per night to be applied to any of the 3 in house restaurants. The room was equipped with just about everything including a hair dryer. The fridge was completely stocked with snacks/ drinks but they did have a high cost. The Mint Bar in the basement and the Atrium Bar on the 1st floor were both great places to hang out and relax. The staff is very accommodating and the Concierge very willing to give suggestions, make restaurant/sight seeing arrangements and find information about store hours. The breakfasts in the hotel were very expensive but we did eat there one morning-it was outstanding. Bewley's-right on Grafton St.-offered a terrific breakfast for much less money. Our room was a perfect size for the 2 of us and the bathroom was huge-had a large shower and a large separate tub. As far as we were concerned, The Westin is located in the best part of the city-right across from the Temple Bar area and one block away from Grafton St. The airbus to/from the airport is directly across from the front door, and the Hop On Hop Off Tour bus was also very convenient. Right across the street from Trinity College-You could walk to everything. There was a great assortment of excellent restaurants and Pubs close by too. And the workout room had an adequate assortment of top shelf equipment-treadmills, ellipticals, bikes, weights,medicine balls etc.If we go to Dublin again, we would definitely choose the Westin!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you've never been to Dublin, you may want to try the Hop On Hop Off Tour bus-it's very inexpensive and your ticket is good for 2 days. It stops at each attraction every 10-15 minutes so you can stay as long as you like and you can get off and then on again when you're ready. The stop for Trinity College is right across the street from the Westin

Back to menu Return to top