The Westin Dublin

5 stars
at College Green, Westmoreland Street, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
56 reviews
Excellent Hotel!!

We stayed at the Westin Dublin based on the reviews we read and could not have made a better... See full review

  • CMcQ
  • Apr 26, 2014
Wonderful!

We had a wonderful time. The staff was amazing. They were friendly and helpful. The hotel is... See full review

  • Cathy2013
  • Jun 23, 2013
Rich surroundings in the Irish capital
The facade of The Westin Dublin only hints at the grandiose interior of this former 19th century bank turned five-star hotel. Opposite Trinity College in the center of the city, the hotel takes up an entire block of prime real estate. The location affords beautiful views over the grounds of the old college from many rooms, but guests need not venture outdoors to experience history and stunning scenery. From the wood and marble lobby to the frescoed walls of the Exchange Restaurant, this hotel exudes luxury.

 

Highlights
  • Centrally located luxury hotel housed in impressive former 19th century bank
  • Three unique restaurant and bar areas offer premier dining and entertainment
  • 24-hour fitness facility
  • In-room spa service available
  • Green Hospitality Award for eco-friendly practices
Rooms

Classic guest rooms in the 168-room Westin Dublin overlook the glass roof of the lounge, while many of the deluxe rooms look out over the city. Library suites named after Irish writers feature separate living room and study. The College Suite, a split-level penthouse with balcony, offers magnificent views. The first floor features a living room, dining room, bedroom, dressing area and large bathroom. On the upper level is an office, private exercise area and Nordic steam room. Wireless Internet access is available in rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin's clever restoration of the historic bank building it inhabits is evident in the guest spaces. The original bank building now houses the glass-topped Atrium Lounge where patrons sip refreshments. The popular Mint cocktail bar, housed in what once was the bank's vault still features a banking counter. The Exchange Restaurant offers an intimate, relaxing dining experience in a room decorated with attractive Art Deco murals. The hotel has a 24-hour gym and in-room spa services. Wireless Internet access is available in all rooms (fees apply). Luxury conference facilities are also available.

Transportation
  • Short walk to LUAS tram system
  • Short walk to DART trains
  • Aircoach service nearby
  • Taxi service
  • Parking available (reserve in advance)
Attractions
  • Trinity College
  • Bank of Ireland
  • Temple Bar
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Guinness Storehouse
  • Dublin Castle
  • National Gallery and National Museum of Ireland
Business
  • Luxury conference facilities accommodate up to 250 guests
  • Meeting rooms include unlimited tea and coffee, working buffet lunch, flip charts, pads and pens, LCD projector and screen, triple SPP points and Wi-Fi access

The Westin Dublin Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

53.3456 -6.2589
Nearby airports
Dublin Airport, (DUB), 10.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Westmoreland Street: 0 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • College Green: 0.1 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.1 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.1 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.2 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.2 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • College Green: 0.1 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.1 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.1 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.2 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.2 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.2 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.3 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.3 mi
  • The Ark: 0.3 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.3 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.3 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.3 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.3 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.3 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.3 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Dublin

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
5
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biz Traveler 2014
San Jose, California
Jul 7, 2014

Great Overall

The room was spacious and nice. Bathroom was very nice. It's a great location for a tourist. The only negative is that you only get complimentary internet access in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CMcQ
Staten Island, New York
Apr 26, 2014

Excellent Hotel!!

We stayed at the Westin Dublin based on the reviews we read and could not have made a better choice. The hotel is in the best location. Walking distance to everything including the Temple Bar area and shopping areas yet far enoungh away to be quiet and peaceful. Like all Westin Hotels we have visited in the past the staff was terrific. Everyone went above and beyond to make sure our stay was pleasant and they were very informative and helpful with suggestions for resturants, pubs and attractions in the area. they rooms were very comfortable and clean. This is definitely the hotel I would recommend to anyone visiting Dublin and we can't wait to return there on our next visit to Dublin!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cweng
Forest Hills, NY
Apr 24, 2014

Great Hotel Except..

This hotel was great except when we tried to fill the tub with water, the water would be brown at times even when we ran it for a few minutes. It didn't happen in the sink or in the shower, so we just didn't use the tub. Otherwise, the concierge and the reception were great hosts, the hotel is in a very convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cathy2013
Stony Point, New York
Jun 23, 2013

Wonderful!

We had a wonderful time. The staff was amazing. They were friendly and helpful. The hotel is convieniently located within walking distance of shopping, museums, and tourist attractions. The rooms are comfortable and elegant. I would recomment this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
islandtuberider
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jun 19, 2013

A Bit Pricey

We arrived just after 4 PM after traveling for several hours. Our room was not ready but we could upgrade for 50 euro a night. Already paying a lot so we did not upgrade. He then said we could downgrade but didn't go into details as to what we would get. Then magically our room was ready. So I feel that all they wanted was for us to pay more and upgrade. It was very hot in Dublin (80's) but the AC would not work in the night so it got rather hot. They provided a fan on the second night. The manager apologized at check out. Otherwise the hotel was fine for a short stay in Dublin and close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fran5477
Belmont, California
Apr 12, 2013

Beautiful, lovely experience

We stayed here during our honeymoon to the UK and Ireland, and it was the nicest hotel we stayed in by far. The hotel is gorgeous and the staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. When they learned it was our honeymoon, they upgraded us to a superior room, which had a king-sized bed (the most comfortable bed ever) and lots of extra space. It was the best sleep we got the entire trip! This hotel is absolutely lovely, and I would recommend it to anyone who is going to Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
katsb
New York, New York
Apr 5, 2013

Fantastic Services

The room service delivers for food were always on time. The concierge, front desk, and bell persons were very attenttive to my every need. I wished that they had had a gift shop as was stated online. The location was central to everything that I needed. K. Savageblanchard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leeshy
Boston, MA
Feb 26, 2013

Friendly and accommodating

Convenient location, friendly staff and outstanding concierge service (thanks Daragh!). I arrived very early in the morning, and despite the early hour, the staff was highly accommodating and flexible. Our room was quiet and the beds ridiculously comfortable. We enjoyed the lovely amenities such as the robes and the tea/coffee service. The wifi isn't quite up to par for a hotel this size and standard, but I believe it's about to be upgraded capacity wise. Thanks for a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for a fun environment with great live music- try the Merchant's Arch pub. We went here on a recommendation from a local man and it turned out to be a great place to go. The crowd was more local, the food was good and the music was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Napa Valley Vacationers
Napa Valley, CA
Feb 25, 2013

Great Getaway to Dublin

This hotel is centrally located in the heart of Dublin, close to banks, the best restaurants and bars, as well as Grafton Street shopping. The hotel restaurants were excellent serving delicious and fresh food, The international hotel staff was very professional and helpful with directions, concierge services, and suggestions for a truly Dublin experience. When we return to Dublin, we will definitely stay at the Westin Dublin Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Napa Valley Vacationers
Napa Valley, CA
Feb 25, 2013

Great Hotel for Business and Vacation Travels

This hotel is centrally located in the heart of Dublin, close to banks, the best restaurants and bars, as well as Grafton Street shopping. The hotel restaurants were excellent serving delicious and fresh food, The international hotel staff was very professional and helpful with directions, concierge services, and suggestions for a truly Dublin experience. When we return to Dublin, we will definitely stay at the Westin Dublin Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top