The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel ★★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$245
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 23, 2016
4.3 /5
Overall score
90%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.7
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

  • St. Stephen's Green (across street)
  • National Museum of Ireland -- Archaeology and History (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Trinity College (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • National Gallery of Ireland (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (.6 mi/1 km)
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral (.7 mi/1.2 km)

General

Every detail of a guest's stay is accounted for at the Shelbourne Dublin. Amenities range from complimentary shoeshine, entertainment navigator to a genealogy butler on staff to help you trace your Irish ancestry. The Saddle Room restaurant is open throughout the day for meals that showcase local produce. The elegant Lord Mayor's Lounge offers a quiet refuge and the Horseshoe Bar is the choice locale for martinis among Dublin's elite residents. The hotel offers a business center, meeting facilities and a fitness room. Guests also have intimate dinner at Private Dining service offered by the hotel.

Location

The Shelbourne Dublin is a luxury hotel located in the city centre overlooking St. Stephen's Green. This chic hotel has been awarded with the Eco Label Award from Green Hospitality Ireland, prestigious 5 AA Red Star 2013, and AA 2 Star Rosettes. Restored in 2007, offering 265 guest rooms including 19 suites. The Shelbourne is a luxury 5-star hotel in Dublin's city center overlooking St. Stephen's Green, Europe's grandest garden square. Ideally situated close to Dublin's cultural and historic buildings. This 5-star Dublin hotel offers spacious accommodations, including luxurious Egyptian cotton bedding, flat-screen TV, and marble bathroom. Enjoy a cocktail or Ireland's own Guinness at our renowned Horseshoe Bar. Celebrate life at our Oyster Bar or a prime-cut steak at The Saddle Room Restaurant. When planning a wedding or business affair, you'll find perfection like no other Dublin 5-star hotels - with 13 banqueting and meeting suites, event planning and on-site catering. Wi-Fi access is available throughout the property. Additional services include butler service and in-house florist

Dining

  • Dublin bus service outside hotel
  • Luas tram service (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • DART station (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Aircoach service available on request
  • Taxi service available

Rooms

The hotel's 265 sumptuously decorated guest rooms, including 12 deluxe suites feature feather beds with Rivolta Carmignani bedding, an elegant marble bathroom with plush bathrobe and slippers, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary shoeshine and daily newspaper. Beautifully appointed suites have a separate living room and offer stunning views over St. Stephen's Green. Wheelchair accessible rooms are also available.

Property features

Every detail of a guest's stay is accounted for at the Shelbourne Dublin. Amenities range from complimentary shoeshine, entertainment navigator to a genealogy butler on staff to help you trace your Irish ancestry. The Saddle Room restaurant is open throughout the day for meals that showcase local produce. The elegant Lord Mayor's Lounge offers a quiet refuge and the Horseshoe Bar is the choice locale for martinis among Dublin's elite residents. The hotel offers a business center, meeting facilities and a fitness room. Guests also have intimate dinner at Private Dining service offered by the hotel.

Highlights

  • Site of drafting the Irish Constitution in 1922 and many literary masterpieces
  • Restaurants and lounges, including Horseshoe Bar are a famous part of Dublin's social scene
  • Genealogy butler helps you discover your Irish heritage

Nearby attractions

  • Site of drafting the Irish Constitution in 1922 and many literary masterpieces
  • Restaurants and lounges, including Horseshoe Bar are a famous part of Dublin's social scene
  • Genealogy butler helps you discover your Irish heritage

Business

  • 13 meeting rooms with views of St. Stephen's Green, capacity of up to 550 people
  • Full audiovisual facilities available
  • Business center with copy, fax, messenger, printer and postal services
  • Meeting services including AV technician, photographer, security guard, decorator
  • Wi-Fi in all meeting rooms
  • Experienced events team
  • Concierge services

Transportation

Historic luxury St. Stephen's Green hotel where Dublin's elite meet

 

Dining

The Saddle Room
Named after the hotel's historic dining rooms, The Saddle Room features a relaxed restaurant atmosphere and showcases perfectly prepared steak, oysters and seafood. It is a wonderful venue for private dining events in Dublin.
No. 27 Bar & Lounge
With fabulous fine dining and a vibrant atmosphere, No. 27 Bar & Lounge has established itself as one of Dublin's most popular bar destinations. We serve creative cocktails and a wide range of food, perfect for sharing during lunch or dinner.
Lord Mayor's Lounge
The Lord Mayor's Lounge welcomes you with traditional fine dining and world-class service. The perfect location to relax and retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city.
The Horseshoe Bar
Distinctive and revered, The Horseshoe Bar has been a Dublin institution for years. With its rich red walls, original artifacts and fascinating memorabilia, it is arguably one of the city's most unique hotel bars.

Recommendations for you

Fitzwilliam Hotel

★★★★★
Guest score 4.5 / 5
$216

Conrad Dublin

★★★★★
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$216
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$123
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$120
Guest score 3.6 / 5
$68
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$129

Amenities

Featured

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • Air conditioned
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Elevators

Activities

  • Indoor pool
  • Fitness center or spa
  • Fitness Center
  • Exercise gym
  • Sauna
  • Water skiing
  • Steam bath
  • Horseback riding

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Continental breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Coffee maker in room
  • Lounge
  • 24 hour room service
  • Room service

Services

  • 24 hour front desk
  • Business center
  • Maid service
  • Laundry service
  • Guest laundromat
  • Express checkout
  • Concierge desk
  • Laundry/Valet services
  • Wake-up service
  • In-Room Safe
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
  • Car rental desk
  • Barber shop
  • FAX
  • Currency exchange
  • Drugstore
  • Florist

Internet

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room

Parking

  • Valet parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible facilities

Room

  • Television with cable
  • Radio
  • Safe
  • Telephone
  • AM/FM alarm clock
  • Mini bar
  • Free newspaper
  • Hairdryer in room
  • Outlet adapters
  • Turndown service
  • Bathroom telephone
  • Cribs available
  • In room movies
  • Sofa bed
  • Temperature control
  • Shower
  • Iron
  • Ironing board

Reviews

4.3 /5 Overall score

90% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.5/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.4/5
  • Comfort: 4.3/5
  • Location: 4.9/5
  • Value: 3.7/5

Romantic over night stay!

Would recommend Tue, Sep 15, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay at this Hotel. We were made feel special from the moment we pulled up outside. The valet parking took all the stress out of finding somewhere to park in a very busy Dublin city centre! The welcome inside was professional but warm! The bedroom was lovely and bed very comfortable. We stay in five star hotels quite a lot. This hotel was the first we've stayed at in a long time, that really lived up to its five star rating!

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Vacation

Would recommend Thu, Aug 27, 2015
We decided to splurge on our last couple of days in Ireland and stay at the Shelbourne. I am so glad we did. The hotel is beautiful. The staff is courteous and extremely helpful. The food is the Saddle Room was outstanding. Given the chance, we would stay here again in a heartbeat! Now if only I can get the recipe for the sweet potato soup with red pepper garnish. It was the best soup I've ever had!

| Alpine Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great couples trip

Would recommend Sat, Aug 22, 2015
Elegant hotel with friendly and helpful staff, and they have a great breakfast

| New York Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Fab weekend

Would recommend Tue, Apr 7, 2015
So great will be going back as soon as we can maybe fir Xmas. Loved it in every way the ambience superb

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great family stay

Would recommend Tue, Jan 20, 2015
There were a couple of issues with the room we were allocated initially, however the staff resolved them in a timely, professional and friendly fashion. Overall the stay was great. I would like to stay again when next time coming to Dublin.

Dining

Great food with a good selection of wines. Dining atmosphere was great too.

| N/A Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Reception staff is horrendous

Would not recommend Tue, Sep 16, 2014
Lost my luggage, irresponsive, pompous and altogether highly overrated. The times of the Grand Budapest Hotel are way over. And they need to do their jobs, not kiss my hand in fake compliance.

| New York City Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Excellent location and great room.

Would recommend Mon, May 26, 2014
The location of the hotel was amazing - right by St. Stephen's Green. It is in the center of all the nightlife but still very quiet. The room was very comfortable and much better than the other hotel where we stayed on the first leg of our trip. Breakfast at the hotel was good but not amazing. I would say the service was adequate and the breakfast buffet was just like any other buffet if not a bit more sparse. You could sort of tell that "free breakfast" was a standard deal so they wanted to do the minimum without damaging their reputation...if that makes any sense.

Dining

Restaurant 41 is catty corner to the hotel. The food was excellent...definitely go for the 6 course tasting menu. Reservations were pretty easy to get.

| North Carolina Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Very Disappointing

Would not recommend Tue, Mar 11, 2014
We stayed here last weekend celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. This was a very special occasion for us. The hotel was very busy as they were hosting the Irish rugby team and they also had a crew filming from RTE during the weekend. The hotel has a superb location and is very 'grand' for sure. Our room was quite nice - located on 5th floor. I could write about the mishaps of the weekend at length - but space does not permit. Suffice it to say - our room wasn't serviced during our stay - we had to make our own bed - we had no fresh towels, water, toiletries etc. The bath was also broken so we couldn't bathe. A maintenance man spent 45 mins in our room on Saturday night - trying in vain to fix the bath - while we were trying to dress to go out. Now in my book these are 2 of the most basic requirement of a 'night away' - a clean room and washing facilities. The hotel were notified and the matter is being investigated.

| Cork Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Excellent from beginning to end.

Would recommend Sun, Apr 28, 2013
What a fabulous experience!!!! The level of service is 5 star. The room was spacious and immaculate. Well done!!!!!!

| Oxfordshire, England Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Fading glory

Would not recommend Sun, Jul 15, 2012
Stayed here in July 2012. I am a Marriott Platinum Elite member and I travel for business extensively. This hotel is historical but not in a completely good way. I was upgraded to a "Heritage" suite but the carpet in the room was grey in areas (instead of the gold/tan color it was meant to be), the floor in the room was so soft in two areas that when I asked on it (and, no, I am not obese) the credenza and TV moved, the tile floor in the bathroom had a broken sharp edge near the sink, the grout in the shower had black mould and service in the Saddle Room restaurant was abysmal to the point where I could not even get food ordered. I expressed my concerns to the staff but I was studiously ignored.

| Canada Business

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Taylor Galleries 0 mi
Royal College of Science 0.1 mi
Mansion House 0.1 mi
National Musuem of Ireland 0.1 mi
National Museum of Ireland 0.1 mi
Famine Memorial 0.1 mi
Royal Hibernian Academy 0.1 mi
Natural History Museum 0.1 mi
Leinster House 0.2 mi
Dawson Street 0.2 mi
National Library of Ireland 0.2 mi
National Gallery of Ireland 0.2 mi
State Heraldic Museum 0.2 mi
National Museum of Archaeology and History 0.2 mi
The Duke Street Gallery 0.2 mi
Grafton Street 0.2 mi
Gaiety Theatre 0.2 mi
The Doorway Gallery 0.2 mi
Dublin Mall 0.3 mi
Brown Thomas 0.3 mi
Oscar Wilde House 0.3 mi
The Keeling Gallery 0.3 mi
Fitzwilliam Square 0.3 mi
Merrion Square 0.3 mi
The Douglas Hyde Gallery 0.3 mi
The Iveagh Gardens 0.3 mi
Kildare Street 0.3 mi
IMMA @ NCH 0.3 mi
The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum 0.4 mi
Castle Market 0.4 mi
Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum 0.4 mi
Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities 0.4 mi
Aungier Street 0.4 mi
College Green 0.4 mi
Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church 0.4 mi
Trinity Street 0.4 mi
Parliament House 0.4 mi
Dublin Institute of Technology 0.4 mi
Pearse Street 0.4 mi
Broadstone Studios XL 0.4 mi
Science Gallery 0.5 mi
The Science Gallery 0.5 mi
Westmoreland Street 0.5 mi
Chester Beatty Library 0.5 mi
Graphic Studio Gallery 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 03:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$245
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 23, 2016