$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

5 stars
View map of 27 St Stephen's Green, 27 St Stephen's Green, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.5

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen T Traveller
Business
Nor Cal
Mar 23, 2010

Not All That

Hotel is in a great location, but not five star. Staff was adequate at best. Nobody went out of their way to help us and they didn't know the answers to simple questions, such as which bus to the airport - even concierge. My husband fell down the stairs in the room in the middle of the night (horrible design of bathroom down stairs and around the corner) and when I requested ice the following night it took over thirty minutes to get it. There was no bag in the bucket and when I requested one since I needed the ice to put on an ankle, it was another thirty minutes. Is turn down service and ice too much to ask at 5 star? I would have been much happier at a neighboring 4 star that didn't charge 4 1/2 euro for 12 ounces of water out of the mini bar. Definitely not worth the money, especially since after I booked with [...] I realized it was a Marriott hotel and I could have booked direct with my Marriot account and gotten the same deal that included the 32 euro breakfast. I don't mind paying for service and quality, but felt like I didn't get value. After Dublin I stayed at the 5 star Marcliffe in Scotland and it was SUPERB in every way. Made the Shelbourne look like Motel 6. If you're looking for a place to work out, don't bother. The fitness center consists of two treadmills. That's IT. The shower was horrible. Water everywhere, I had to use a washcloth to turn it on because the handle was really stiff and pointy, and the showerhead was weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great places for coffee, breakfast and meals close by. Don't bother with the hoity toity atmosphere of the hotel bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palos verdes, ca
Jul 19, 2011

Shelbourne dublin

Vacation. Room is good. Staff friendly. Restaurant is very good but expensive. Bar food is so- so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hollywood, CA
Jun 2, 2011

Excellent location...

Loved the hotel location to all nearby attractions. Walkable to Grafton Street. Hop-on/hop-off tour bus stop across the street down the block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ying Z.
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Great family stay

There were a couple of issues with the room we were allocated initially, however the staff resolved them in a timely, professional and friendly fashion. Overall the stay was great. I would like to stay again when next time coming to Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food with a good selection of wines. Dining atmosphere was great too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jan 19, 2010

Superb!

When we arrived at 7:30am (after an all-night flight from the US) our beautiful room was ready and waiting, along with a breakfast tray complete with hot coffee. From check-in to check-out, the service was impeccable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining options beyond the hotel were virtually endless -- and within easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ebookers Hotel Inspector
Business
Dublin Ireland
Dec 2, 2010

City Luxury but pricey !

The Shelbourne is well located in Dublin city centre; within walking distance to many touristy sights, St.Stephens Green across the road and only a stroll away from Grafton Street shopping. The staff are professional, friendly and helpful, the food is excellent but a little pricey for what you get? If you happen to book B&B rate, then the breakfast is amazing with excellent choice of buffet or menu options.. go for the eggs benedict and you won't be disappointed! Definitely luxury with first class service at this establishment but it will cost you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food is interesting and unique... best breakfast in town !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
New Hampshire, USA
Jun 22, 2011

Luxurious, nicely located, reasonable

Perfectly located to access the best of Dublin and the tour bus. The staff was very helpful. Our room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable --- the breakfast buffet which was included in our price was excellent. Really enjoyed the raw oysters in the Saddle Room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to take the hop on and hop off tour bus (located across the street from the hotel) to see the highlights of Dublin --- it even stops at the Guiness Brewery!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alphonzo
Business
Marion, SC, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Best hotel in Dublin

Bed too soft, and covers lumpy. Very nice room, spacious, quiet, nicely appointed, great TV, nice minibar, etc. Temp. control quiet and good. Staff polite and capable. Very historic building and location. Went on several tours recommended by concierge, all good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All restaurants & bars first class, food and service. Bring money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan Jan
Business
San Francisco
Oct 20, 2011

A hotel in the heart of Dublin

The Shelbourne is located in a perfect part of town. Directly across from St. Stevens Green and just two blocks from the shopping district. Everyone in the hotel is very helpful from directions to more towels. You can walk to almost every attraction that you would want to see. Should you want to take the on off bus you can pick it up across the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Georgina
Business
Oxfordshire, England
Apr 28, 2013

Excellent from beginning to end.

What a fabulous experience!!!! The level of service is 5 star. The room was spacious and immaculate. Well done!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top