$231 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

5 stars
27 St Stephen's Green, 27 St Stephen's Green, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
28 reviews
Excellent location and great room.

The location of the hotel was amazing - right by St. Stephen's Green. It is in the center of all... See full review

  • StandardUser
  • May 26, 2014
Excellent from beginning to end.

What a fabulous experience!!!! The level of service is 5 star. The room was spacious and... See full review

  • Georgina
  • Apr 28, 2013
Stay in Dublin's most luxurious five-star hotel situated just a few minutes' walk to Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College

The Shelbourne Dublin is a luxury hotel located in the city centre overlooking St. Stephen's Green. This chic hotel has been awarded with the Eco Label Award from Green Hospitality Ireland, prestigious 5 AA Red Star 2013, and AA 2 Star Rosettes. Restored in 2007, offering 265 guest rooms including 19 suites. The Shelbourne is a luxury 5-star hotel in Dublin's city center overlooking St. Stephen's Green, Europe's grandest garden square. Ideally situated close to Dublin's cultural and historic buildings. This 5-star Dublin hotel offers spacious accommodations, including luxurious Egyptian cotton bedding, flat-screen TV, and marble bathroom. Enjoy a cocktail or Ireland's own Guinness at our renowned Horseshoe Bar. Celebrate life at our Oyster Bar or a prime-cut steak at The Saddle Room Restaurant. When planning a wedding or business affair, you'll find perfection like no other Dublin 5-star hotels - with 13 banqueting and meeting suites, event planning and on-site catering. Wi-Fi access is available throughout the property. Additional services include butler service and in-house florist

Highlights
  • Site of drafting the Irish Constitution in 1922 and many literary masterpieces
  • Restaurants and lounges, including Horseshoe Bar are a famous part of Dublin's social scene
  • Genealogy butler helps you discover your Irish heritage
Rooms

The hotel's 265 sumptuously decorated guest rooms, including 12 deluxe suites feature feather beds with Rivolta Carmignani bedding, an elegant marble bathroom with plush bathrobe and slippers, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary shoeshine and daily newspaper. Beautifully appointed suites have a separate living room and offer stunning views over St. Stephen's Green. Wheelchair accessible rooms are also available.

Features

Every detail of a guest's stay is accounted for at the Shelbourne Dublin. Amenities range from complimentary shoeshine, entertainment navigator to a genealogy butler on staff to help you trace your Irish ancestry. The Saddle Room restaurant is open throughout the day for meals that showcase local produce. The elegant Lord Mayor's Lounge offers a quiet refuge and the Horseshoe Bar is the choice locale for martinis among Dublin's elite residents. The hotel offers a business center, meeting facilities and a fitness room. Guests also have intimate dinner at Private Dining service offered by the hotel.

Transportation
  • Dublin bus service outside hotel
  • Luas tram service (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • DART station (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Aircoach service available on request
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • St. Stephen's Green (across street)
  • National Museum of Ireland -- Archaeology and History (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Trinity College (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • National Gallery of Ireland (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (.6 mi/1 km)
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral (.7 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms with views of St. Stephen's Green, capacity of up to 550 people
  • Full audiovisual facilities available
  • Business center with copy, fax, messenger, printer and postal services
  • Meeting services including AV technician, photographer, security guard, decorator
  • Wi-Fi in all meeting rooms
  • Experienced events team
  • Concierge services

Hotel Map

53.3389 -6.2564
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
Dublin Airport, (DUB), 13.90, KM, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Taylor Galleries: 0 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • St Stephen's Green: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • St Stephen's Green: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.3 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.3 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.3 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.3 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.4 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.4 mi
  • College Green: 0.4 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.4 mi
  • Broadstone Studios XL: 0.4 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.5 mi

Dining

The Saddle Room
Named after The Shelbourne’s historic dining rooms, The Saddle Room has a cool, relaxed atmosphere and a modern menu specializing in steak, oysters and seafood. Our intimate setting makes us an ideal location for private dining in Dublin, Ireland.
No. 27 Bar & Lounge
No. 27 Bar & Lounge is the place to see and be seen for Dublin fine dining. Always buzzing, we serve creative cocktails and a wide range of food perfect for sharing during lunch or dinner outings in our atmosphere of style and sophisticated fun.
Lord Mayor's Lounge
Combine elegance, comfort and style in The Lord Mayor's Lounge, one of the most traditional restaurants in Dublin, Ireland. This hot spot is the perfect place to sample indulgent afternoon tea, encounter famous faces and savor life's great pleasures.
The Horseshoe Bar
As distinctive as it is revered in Dublin culture, The Horseshoe Bar has seen it all throughout the years. With its rich red walls, original artifacts and fascinating memorabilia, it is firmly established as one of Dublin's finest city center bars.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.6

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alphonzo
Marion, SC, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Best hotel in Dublin

Bed too soft, and covers lumpy. Very nice room, spacious, quiet, nicely appointed, great TV, nice minibar, etc. Temp. control quiet and good. Staff polite and capable. Very historic building and location. Went on several tours recommended by concierge, all good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

All restaurants & bars first class, food and service. Bring money.

Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Martia
Cork
Mar 11, 2014

Very Disappointing

We stayed here last weekend celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. This was a very special occasion for us. The hotel was very busy as they were hosting the Irish rugby team and they also had a crew filming from RTE during the weekend. The hotel has a superb location and is very 'grand' for sure. Our room was quite nice - located on 5th floor. I could write about the mishaps of the weekend at length - but space does not permit. Suffice it to say - our room wasn't serviced during our stay - we had to make our own bed - we had no fresh towels, water, toiletries etc. The bath was also broken so we couldn't bathe. A maintenance man spent 45 mins in our room on Saturday night - trying in vain to fix the bath - while we were trying to dress to go out. Now in my book these are 2 of the most basic requirement of a 'night away' - a clean room and washing facilities. The hotel were notified and the matter is being investigated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SavvyTraveller
Business
Canada
Jul 15, 2012

Fading glory

Stayed here in July 2012. I am a Marriott Platinum Elite member and I travel for business extensively. This hotel is historical but not in a completely good way. I was upgraded to a "Heritage" suite but the carpet in the room was grey in areas (instead of the gold/tan color it was meant to be), the floor in the room was so soft in two areas that when I asked on it (and, no, I am not obese) the credenza and TV moved, the tile floor in the bathroom had a broken sharp edge near the sink, the grout in the shower had black mould and service in the Saddle Room restaurant was abysmal to the point where I could not even get food ordered. I expressed my concerns to the staff but I was studiously ignored.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well-travelled Irish lady
Ireland
Aug 16, 2010

Very disappointing

I was extremely disappointed with my recent overnight stay at the Shelbourne. I paid 175 euro for one night; this included a very small room and tiny bathroom. The girl at reception said she would call when the room was ready (she did not). We had to queue once again to collect our room key. When we finally checked into the room, it was tiny and claustrophobic, the lighting was so poor that I could not read, and there was no bath, kettle or water. I asked for a twin room, or at least a spare bed (we were two singles travelling) but ended up with a double bed. The air-conditioning sounded like a helicopter landing in the room. We received a late-night phone call from reception (accident) which woke us up. Breakfast was not included. When checking-out the man at reception did not inquiry about our satisfaction with our stay. This is NOT a five-star hotel. I am Irish and have travelled all over the world, and unless you are willing to pay 100s of Euro for a suite or luxury room I would not recommend staying at the Shelbourne. The location is great, however, there are lots of other hotels that are more spacious and better value and also, well located. I say, save your money, stay somewhere else. If you are interested in the Shelbourne for historic reasons or to see the beautiful foyer go there for their 19.99 lunch menu, or for afternoon tea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen G
Oxfordshire
Apr 3, 2010

Popular Hotel in a good Location

There is no doubt about it this is a well appointed hotel in a good location. Right next to Grafton Street and within an easy walk of the river. The Air Coach service from the Airport goes almost to the door too; which is worth the extra euros! However I am not sure that it is worth upgrading to a deluxe room. Despite booking and paying 6 months before the trip to celebrate my hubbies 50th; we ended up in a room at the very back of the Hotel with a very uninspiring view over a noisy service yard. The fittings may have been deluxe standard but the room was not much larger than a motel. Also what is it about the larger Hotels now a days not providing in room Tea & Coffee facilities?? Treating ourselves to room service one morning, the Tea was a pot of hot water and tea bogs in a cup!! Hardly "Deluxe." If you can get a deal with breakfast you are doing well, most hotels in Dublin are room only. However there are plenty of places to eat & drink very near by. Also if you like parks and gardens do find the time to walk around St Stephens Green, a real oasis in a very busy part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bewleys Breakfast is very good value!!

Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
V
GB
Jul 22, 2010

Quality Hotel

Great hotel, excellent location right at the heart of Dublin. Very good quality of room facilities. Exorbitantly expensive internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Windsor
Sep 2, 2010

Nice hotel, but....

A nice hotel, but the heritage room we had wasn't impressive. In fact, very normal. Comfortable bed, a roomy room, but the floor shook when people walked by and it was a bit dark as the window was a small one. There wasn't any tea making facility. Friendly staff. Great location and the bars are very lively. Good food too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Open top bus stops just opposite the hotel, it is a great way to see the city.

Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anitag
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Quintessential Old Dublin

For a true feeling of Dublin and to feel the history of this city and essence of its’ many great literally figures – stay at the Shelbourne Hotel, a step back in time with all modern day luxuries & modern comforts. Dublin done right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JeffeB
New York, NY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Great location and great hotel

Very good staff. Excellent location. Slightly expensive for Dublin, but worth it for a landmark hotel and bigger than typical European room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA,
Jul 28, 2011

Outstanding location but not 5 star

I usually go to the Shelbourne when I'm in Dublin for drinks. This is the first time I've stayed there and was looking forward to it. The location is ideal, close to Grafton Street and across from St. Stephen's Green. However, I will admit that I was just a bit dissapointed. We went there for dinner and I found the quality of the meal adequate at best. The service was very slow and left much to be desired. They even charged us 3.50 euros for water. The two bars were overflowing after dinner, which really said no to an after dinner drink. This was something I hadn't experienced before and made the atmosphere seem like any pub in Dublin. Our room was adequate with plenty of space and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. There was just really nothing that stood out that yelled 5 star hotel. This is not to say that I wouldn't go back or recommend the hotel to others. We had a nice price on the room so we certainly got our monies worth. On a very minor point, the hotel must have gotten a rule from the new corporate headquarters that they had to refer to themselves by the complete new name, "The Shelbourne Dublin: A Renaissance Hotel." When this comes up 3-4 times in a paragraph it is a bit laughable. Why not just say "The Shelbourne"? Is the corporation that worried?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the immediate area of the Shelbourne, within a block, there are at least three restaurants that are excellent. It is also a short walk to many of the attractions in Dublin.

Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen T Traveller
Nor Cal
Mar 23, 2010

Not All That

Hotel is in a great location, but not five star. Staff was adequate at best. Nobody went out of their way to help us and they didn't know the answers to simple questions, such as which bus to the airport - even concierge. My husband fell down the stairs in the room in the middle of the night (horrible design of bathroom down stairs and around the corner) and when I requested ice the following night it took over thirty minutes to get it. There was no bag in the bucket and when I requested one since I needed the ice to put on an ankle, it was another thirty minutes. Is turn down service and ice too much to ask at 5 star? I would have been much happier at a neighboring 4 star that didn't charge 4 1/2 euro for 12 ounces of water out of the mini bar. Definitely not worth the money, especially since after I booked with [...] I realized it was a Marriott hotel and I could have booked direct with my Marriot account and gotten the same deal that included the 32 euro breakfast. I don't mind paying for service and quality, but felt like I didn't get value. After Dublin I stayed at the 5 star Marcliffe in Scotland and it was SUPERB in every way. Made the Shelbourne look like Motel 6. If you're looking for a place to work out, don't bother. The fitness center consists of two treadmills. That's IT. The shower was horrible. Water everywhere, I had to use a washcloth to turn it on because the handle was really stiff and pointy, and the showerhead was weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great places for coffee, breakfast and meals close by. Don't bother with the hoity toity atmosphere of the hotel bars.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search