$231 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

5 stars
27 St Stephen's Green, 27 St Stephen's Green, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
28 reviews
Excellent location and great room.

The location of the hotel was amazing - right by St. Stephen's Green. It is in the center of all... See full review

  • StandardUser
  • May 26, 2014
Excellent from beginning to end.

What a fabulous experience!!!! The level of service is 5 star. The room was spacious and... See full review

  • Georgina
  • Apr 28, 2013
Stay in Dublin's most luxurious five-star hotel situated just a few minutes' walk to Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College

The Shelbourne Dublin is a luxury hotel located in the city centre overlooking St. Stephen's Green. This chic hotel has been awarded with the Eco Label Award from Green Hospitality Ireland, prestigious 5 AA Red Star 2013, and AA 2 Star Rosettes. Restored in 2007, offering 265 guest rooms including 19 suites. The Shelbourne is a luxury 5-star hotel in Dublin's city center overlooking St. Stephen's Green, Europe's grandest garden square. Ideally situated close to Dublin's cultural and historic buildings. This 5-star Dublin hotel offers spacious accommodations, including luxurious Egyptian cotton bedding, flat-screen TV, and marble bathroom. Enjoy a cocktail or Ireland's own Guinness at our renowned Horseshoe Bar. Celebrate life at our Oyster Bar or a prime-cut steak at The Saddle Room Restaurant. When planning a wedding or business affair, you'll find perfection like no other Dublin 5-star hotels - with 13 banqueting and meeting suites, event planning and on-site catering. Wi-Fi access is available throughout the property. Additional services include butler service and in-house florist

Highlights
  • Site of drafting the Irish Constitution in 1922 and many literary masterpieces
  • Restaurants and lounges, including Horseshoe Bar are a famous part of Dublin's social scene
  • Genealogy butler helps you discover your Irish heritage
Rooms

The hotel's 265 sumptuously decorated guest rooms, including 12 deluxe suites feature feather beds with Rivolta Carmignani bedding, an elegant marble bathroom with plush bathrobe and slippers, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary shoeshine and daily newspaper. Beautifully appointed suites have a separate living room and offer stunning views over St. Stephen's Green. Wheelchair accessible rooms are also available.

Features

Every detail of a guest's stay is accounted for at the Shelbourne Dublin. Amenities range from complimentary shoeshine, entertainment navigator to a genealogy butler on staff to help you trace your Irish ancestry. The Saddle Room restaurant is open throughout the day for meals that showcase local produce. The elegant Lord Mayor's Lounge offers a quiet refuge and the Horseshoe Bar is the choice locale for martinis among Dublin's elite residents. The hotel offers a business center, meeting facilities and a fitness room. Guests also have intimate dinner at Private Dining service offered by the hotel.

Transportation
  • Dublin bus service outside hotel
  • Luas tram service (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • DART station (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Aircoach service available on request
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • St. Stephen's Green (across street)
  • National Museum of Ireland -- Archaeology and History (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Trinity College (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • National Gallery of Ireland (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (.6 mi/1 km)
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral (.7 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms with views of St. Stephen's Green, capacity of up to 550 people
  • Full audiovisual facilities available
  • Business center with copy, fax, messenger, printer and postal services
  • Meeting services including AV technician, photographer, security guard, decorator
  • Wi-Fi in all meeting rooms
  • Experienced events team
  • Concierge services

Hotel Map

53.3389 -6.2564
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
Dublin Airport, (DUB), 13.90, KM, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Taylor Galleries: 0 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • St Stephen's Green: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • St Stephen's Green: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.2 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.3 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.3 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.3 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.3 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.4 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.4 mi
  • College Green: 0.4 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Pearse Street: 0.4 mi
  • Broadstone Studios XL: 0.4 mi
  • Science Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.5 mi

Dining

The Saddle Room
Named after The Shelbourne’s historic dining rooms, The Saddle Room has a cool, relaxed atmosphere and a modern menu specializing in steak, oysters and seafood. Our intimate setting makes us an ideal location for private dining in Dublin, Ireland.
No. 27 Bar & Lounge
No. 27 Bar & Lounge is the place to see and be seen for Dublin fine dining. Always buzzing, we serve creative cocktails and a wide range of food perfect for sharing during lunch or dinner outings in our atmosphere of style and sophisticated fun.
Lord Mayor's Lounge
Combine elegance, comfort and style in The Lord Mayor's Lounge, one of the most traditional restaurants in Dublin, Ireland. This hot spot is the perfect place to sample indulgent afternoon tea, encounter famous faces and savor life's great pleasures.
The Horseshoe Bar
As distinctive as it is revered in Dublin culture, The Horseshoe Bar has seen it all throughout the years. With its rich red walls, original artifacts and fascinating memorabilia, it is firmly established as one of Dublin's finest city center bars.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.6

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StandardUser
North Carolina
May 26, 2014

Excellent location and great room.

The location of the hotel was amazing - right by St. Stephen's Green. It is in the center of all the nightlife but still very quiet. The room was very comfortable and much better than the other hotel where we stayed on the first leg of our trip. Breakfast at the hotel was good but not amazing. I would say the service was adequate and the breakfast buffet was just like any other buffet if not a bit more sparse. You could sort of tell that "free breakfast" was a standard deal so they wanted to do the minimum without damaging their reputation...if that makes any sense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant 41 is catty corner to the hotel. The food was excellent...definitely go for the 6 course tasting menu. Reservations were pretty easy to get.

Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Martia
Cork
Mar 11, 2014

Very Disappointing

We stayed here last weekend celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. This was a very special occasion for us. The hotel was very busy as they were hosting the Irish rugby team and they also had a crew filming from RTE during the weekend. The hotel has a superb location and is very 'grand' for sure. Our room was quite nice - located on 5th floor. I could write about the mishaps of the weekend at length - but space does not permit. Suffice it to say - our room wasn't serviced during our stay - we had to make our own bed - we had no fresh towels, water, toiletries etc. The bath was also broken so we couldn't bathe. A maintenance man spent 45 mins in our room on Saturday night - trying in vain to fix the bath - while we were trying to dress to go out. Now in my book these are 2 of the most basic requirement of a 'night away' - a clean room and washing facilities. The hotel were notified and the matter is being investigated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Georgina
Oxfordshire, England
Apr 28, 2013

Excellent from beginning to end.

What a fabulous experience!!!! The level of service is 5 star. The room was spacious and immaculate. Well done!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SavvyTraveller
Business
Canada
Jul 15, 2012

Fading glory

Stayed here in July 2012. I am a Marriott Platinum Elite member and I travel for business extensively. This hotel is historical but not in a completely good way. I was upgraded to a "Heritage" suite but the carpet in the room was grey in areas (instead of the gold/tan color it was meant to be), the floor in the room was so soft in two areas that when I asked on it (and, no, I am not obese) the credenza and TV moved, the tile floor in the bathroom had a broken sharp edge near the sink, the grout in the shower had black mould and service in the Saddle Room restaurant was abysmal to the point where I could not even get food ordered. I expressed my concerns to the staff but I was studiously ignored.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JeffeB
New York, NY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Great location and great hotel

Very good staff. Excellent location. Slightly expensive for Dublin, but worth it for a landmark hotel and bigger than typical European room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anitag
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Quintessential Old Dublin

For a true feeling of Dublin and to feel the history of this city and essence of its’ many great literally figures – stay at the Shelbourne Hotel, a step back in time with all modern day luxuries & modern comforts. Dublin done right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan Jan
San Francisco
Oct 20, 2011

A hotel in the heart of Dublin

The Shelbourne is located in a perfect part of town. Directly across from St. Stevens Green and just two blocks from the shopping district. Everyone in the hotel is very helpful from directions to more towels. You can walk to almost every attraction that you would want to see. Should you want to take the on off bus you can pick it up across the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alphonzo
Marion, SC, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Best hotel in Dublin

Bed too soft, and covers lumpy. Very nice room, spacious, quiet, nicely appointed, great TV, nice minibar, etc. Temp. control quiet and good. Staff polite and capable. Very historic building and location. Went on several tours recommended by concierge, all good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

All restaurants & bars first class, food and service. Bring money.

Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John
Not Provided
Aug 10, 2011

The location of the hotel is amazing,

The location of the hotel is amazing, and the staff were all very helpful. I was concerned staff of a 5* might be a bit snotty, but not at all. I felt the rooms lacked charm somewhat, and could be from any hotel in the world. Having grown up in Ireland, the Shelbourne was always seen as the pinnacle of luxury, and while the rooms were very nice, they were not special enough. Also, I missed tea and coffee facilities. And of far more concern was that £100 per night was taken from my credit card at check-in (so £300) as a preauthorisation for any charges. I've never had more than £50 taken, and that was for the entire stay. Despite checking out nearly 2 days ago, it's still on my card. Reception told me today when I phoned it would take 5 days for the block to be lifted. This isn't good enough and it ruined an otherwise enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ddublin
galway, ireland
Aug 9, 2011

Beautiful elegant Dublin hotel

A brilliantly beautiful and prestigious hotel in a central location, just across St. Stephen's Green in the heart of Dublin. Friendly service.. comfortable beds, beautiful bathrooms. The staff allowed me to have a late checkout time of 2pm :) Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Only a couple blocks from major shopping on Grafton Street.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search