$286 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 23, 2015

The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

5 stars
View map of 27 St Stephen's Green, 27 St Stephen's Green, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.6

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well-travelled Irish lady
Business
Ireland
Aug 16, 2010

Very disappointing

I was extremely disappointed with my recent overnight stay at the Shelbourne. I paid 175 euro for one night; this included a very small room and tiny bathroom. The girl at reception said she would call when the room was ready (she did not). We had to queue once again to collect our room key. When we finally checked into the room, it was tiny and claustrophobic, the lighting was so poor that I could not read, and there was no bath, kettle or water. I asked for a twin room, or at least a spare bed (we were two singles travelling) but ended up with a double bed. The air-conditioning sounded like a helicopter landing in the room. We received a late-night phone call from reception (accident) which woke us up. Breakfast was not included. When checking-out the man at reception did not inquiry about our satisfaction with our stay. This is NOT a five-star hotel. I am Irish and have travelled all over the world, and unless you are willing to pay 100s of Euro for a suite or luxury room I would not recommend staying at the Shelbourne. The location is great, however, there are lots of other hotels that are more spacious and better value and also, well located. I say, save your money, stay somewhere else. If you are interested in the Shelbourne for historic reasons or to see the beautiful foyer go there for their 19.99 lunch menu, or for afternoon tea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boschtraveller
Business
New York
Aug 13, 2010

Shelbourne Hotel - Dublin

We were helped early in the morning and they helped find a place to eat and various places to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take in Dawson street and Grafton street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
V
Business
GB
Jul 22, 2010

Quality Hotel

Great hotel, excellent location right at the heart of Dublin. Very good quality of room facilities. Exorbitantly expensive internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen G
Business
Oxfordshire
Apr 3, 2010

Popular Hotel in a good Location

There is no doubt about it this is a well appointed hotel in a good location. Right next to Grafton Street and within an easy walk of the river. The Air Coach service from the Airport goes almost to the door too; which is worth the extra euros! However I am not sure that it is worth upgrading to a deluxe room. Despite booking and paying 6 months before the trip to celebrate my hubbies 50th; we ended up in a room at the very back of the Hotel with a very uninspiring view over a noisy service yard. The fittings may have been deluxe standard but the room was not much larger than a motel. Also what is it about the larger Hotels now a days not providing in room Tea & Coffee facilities?? Treating ourselves to room service one morning, the Tea was a pot of hot water and tea bogs in a cup!! Hardly "Deluxe." If you can get a deal with breakfast you are doing well, most hotels in Dublin are room only. However there are plenty of places to eat & drink very near by. Also if you like parks and gardens do find the time to walk around St Stephens Green, a real oasis in a very busy part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bewleys Breakfast is very good value!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen T Traveller
Business
Nor Cal
Mar 23, 2010

Not All That

Hotel is in a great location, but not five star. Staff was adequate at best. Nobody went out of their way to help us and they didn't know the answers to simple questions, such as which bus to the airport - even concierge. My husband fell down the stairs in the room in the middle of the night (horrible design of bathroom down stairs and around the corner) and when I requested ice the following night it took over thirty minutes to get it. There was no bag in the bucket and when I requested one since I needed the ice to put on an ankle, it was another thirty minutes. Is turn down service and ice too much to ask at 5 star? I would have been much happier at a neighboring 4 star that didn't charge 4 1/2 euro for 12 ounces of water out of the mini bar. Definitely not worth the money, especially since after I booked with [...] I realized it was a Marriott hotel and I could have booked direct with my Marriot account and gotten the same deal that included the 32 euro breakfast. I don't mind paying for service and quality, but felt like I didn't get value. After Dublin I stayed at the 5 star Marcliffe in Scotland and it was SUPERB in every way. Made the Shelbourne look like Motel 6. If you're looking for a place to work out, don't bother. The fitness center consists of two treadmills. That's IT. The shower was horrible. Water everywhere, I had to use a washcloth to turn it on because the handle was really stiff and pointy, and the showerhead was weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great places for coffee, breakfast and meals close by. Don't bother with the hoity toity atmosphere of the hotel bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jan 19, 2010

Superb!

When we arrived at 7:30am (after an all-night flight from the US) our beautiful room was ready and waiting, along with a breakfast tray complete with hot coffee. From check-in to check-out, the service was impeccable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining options beyond the hotel were virtually endless -- and within easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top