$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 25, 2015 Check-out: Feb 26, 2015

The Regency Hotel

3 stars
Swords Road, Whitehall, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
45 reviews
Good Value.

Walls are thin so you can sometimes hear your neighbours. they should have a toast maker to save... See full review

  • POLE
  • Jul 2, 2014
Layover Relief

If you have a layover it's a great space. The location and view is wonderful. The room is perfectly... See full review

  • Erica Expat
  • Jun 27, 2014
Hotel offers leisure facilities near Dublin’s city center
The Regency Hotel is situated 3 miles from Dublin city center in a handsome 200-year-old Georgian building that has been lovingly redone to house 280 elegant guest rooms. The hotel features a large state-of-the-art conference facility, restaurant and bar and a new leisure facility with a swimming pool. Guests can reach the bustling city center with excellent shopping, entertainment and attractions via short trip by bus or car.
Highlights
  • Beautiful 200-year-old building with easy access to Dublin Airport and city center
  • Stunning new leisure center with gym, swimming pool, sauna and Jacuzzi included in stay
  • Large conference facility with state-of-the-art amenities
Rooms

The Regency Hotel has 280 well-appointed guest rooms with satellite TV, tea and coffee station, laundry service and hairdryer. Executive rooms also have computer points for Internet access, clothes care facilities, plasma TV and work desk. Tastefully decorated one- and two-bedroom apartments have a separate sitting room, kitchen area and offer use of the hotel's leisure center, swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna.

Features
Housed in a beautiful 200-year-old building on the outskirts of Dublin, the Regency Hotel blends Georgian charm with modern comforts. A large conference center hosts business events while nearby public transport takes leisure travelers into Dublin city center. A brand new leisure center with swimming pool, gym, sauna and Jacuzzi is available for guest use. The Allure Beauty Spa Center is the place to stop for a relaxing massage treatment after a long day in the city center or attending a conference. The in-house Shanard Restaurant serves Irish and international cuisine and the Appian Lounge is perfect for a cocktail. Free Wi-Fi service is available, as well as car parking (at a fee).
Transportation
  • Dublin bus service (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Train service, Drumcondra Station (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Croke Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • National Botanic Gardens (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • James Joyce Centre (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Hugh Lane Municipal Gallery of Modern Art (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Trinity College (2.7 mi/4.3)
Business
  • Conference center can be set up as 4 separate rooms, accommodating up to 750 guests
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual facilities
  • Technical assistance
  • Ample car parking (fees apply)
  • Business center
  • Secretarial support available
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Regency Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Regency Hotel Rooms

Budget Room
Basic un refurbished rooms in the older part of the Hotel Rooms are en- suite with Tea & Coffee facilities, TV and Direct Dial Telephone
Standard bedroom
All standard bedrooms are tastefully decorated, bright and designed to international standards

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dublin City University: 0.7 mi
  • River Tolka: 0.8 mi
  • Croke Park: 1.2 mi
  • GAA Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Parnell Park: 1.3 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 1.5 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Canal: 1.7 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 1.7 mi
  • Belvedere College: 1.7 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 1.7 mi
  • Clontarf: 1.7 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 1.8 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 1.8 mi
  • An Port Thoir: 1.8 mi
  • Dublin City University: 0.7 mi
  • River Tolka: 0.8 mi
  • Croke Park: 1.2 mi
  • GAA Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Parnell Park: 1.3 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 1.5 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Canal: 1.7 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 1.7 mi
  • Belvedere College: 1.7 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 1.7 mi
  • Clontarf: 1.7 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 1.8 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 1.8 mi
  • An Port Thoir: 1.8 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 1.8 mi
  • Connolly station: 1.8 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Baile Phib: 1.9 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 1.9 mi
  • Parnell Square: 1.9 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 1.9 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 2 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 2 mi
  • Kings Inns: 2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 2 mi
  • Moore Street: 2.1 mi
  • The Custom House: 2.1 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 2.1 mi
  • University of Dublin: 2.1 mi
  • General Post Office: 2.1 mi
  • Grangegorman: 2.1 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 2.1 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 2.1 mi
  • Arnotts: 2.1 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 2.1 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 2.1 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 2.1 mi
  • River Liffey: 2.1 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 2.2 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 2.2 mi
  • 3Arena: 2.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Regency Hotel is delighted to announce the arrival of a landmark development. The development consists of a 929sqm/10,000 sq ft. Conference Centre, suitable for 750 delegates or 600 for a dinner dance. The room is fully dividable into four separate rooms and most rooms have natural daylight. In addition, there are separate breakout rooms.

Dining

Shanard Restaurant
There is fine wining and dining available with the in-house restaurant serving Irish and international cuisine. The hotel also has a fine Bar and Lounge area, serving a range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages including a cocktail menu. Bar food Is available all day 7 days a week. There is also music several nights a week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for The Regency Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 45
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rdelsr
Business
Long Island, New York
Apr 28, 2013

Terrible

There was nothing good about this hotel. We were extremely surprised that it was a Resency. When we tried to walk down the main stairway to the lobby, we could not see. At 9:00 PM, we had to find the light switch to turn the lights on. Most of the bulbs were out anyway. We went to the restaurant to get dinner. We were not waited on for 45 minutes. No one asked if we wanted a drink or gave us a menu. Finally a waiter came with a dish of French fries. He said we ordered them. I'm sure they were ordered by the people that got fed up and left. We know they were serving food, because we saw them walking away from the kitchen. We left and walked down the block for dinner. Then the next morning at breakfast, they seemed to be annoyed that we were even there. Good thing it was a buffet. They were too busy getting ready for a tour bus. I think that was the same problem with dinner. Oh, and when it rained the night we were there, the room leaked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville, TN
May 25, 2011

Not what you think!

Looked a lot more upscale than it was. Hot water didn't work, blow dryer didn't work, restaurant was closed for a tour group making the bar area packed with 2 servers. Food was very average at best. Credit card machine didn't work so we charged to the room. [...] We stayed in hostels the entire trip except that night and I have to say the hostels were much nicer and better equipped than this hotel. I travel quit a bit and have never been so disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Love Ireland
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 8, 2011

Charming & Inexpensive

We spent one night only (airport layover). The room was lovely. Only problem was the hotel restaurant - the food was good, but some items we ordered weren't available, but the waiter didn't tell us until after he had served the rest of our party. We ended up having to share meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ireland Road trip
Business
NYC
Jan 14, 2013

Return Visit

Our first stay was great so we booked 2 more nights at the end of our trip. Was a completely different experience. Wifi barely worked in the room. Ordering room service was an unnecessarily difficult ordeal (was told to call back twice & they didn't have a proper menu available. Turns out food was terrible anyway.) They put us in a room with no heat, we were changed promptly, but was just completely unlike our first, pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sly0ns
Business
AZ
Aug 11, 2013

Dont stay here...

So the rooms are super tiny and the hall ways are cramped. Not to mention their 'lift' was a little bigger than a coffin. On the day I left we found a roach scurrying around the room. The shower leaked and started to get the room below us!!!! it was terrible!!! the only thing that was beneficial was the distance to the bus stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nicki2014
Business
Galway
Mar 4, 2014

Nice food and bar staff but room was awful!

Stayed here last weekend, got a great deal online. Asked for a room in the new part of the hotel because I'd read that the old part wasn't very nice. The room we got was awful. There was more rust on the radiator than paint, even less paint on the worn out chairs and the walls were covered in marks and doubt they have been painted in years either. Also there were cracks in the tiles in the bathroom. We ate in the bar that evening, food was lovely and service was quick and friendly. The hotel is on a good bus route to the city centre so location was ideal. It's a pity that the room we stayed in was so horrible. If I could be guaranteed a nicer room I would stay here again. Receptionists could be a bit more friendly & let us know meal times etc... I'd hate to see the "old rooms" after the "new one" we got!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Enterprise
Jan 2, 2009

My review of The Regency Hotel

The lobby and public dining areas of this hotel were very nice. The staff were friendly and accomodating. The rooms however, were very run down. The plumbing was finicky. The water would get cold or stop flowing altogether when trying to take a shower. The toilet only worked when it wanted to. The heat in the room would automatically turn off during day-time hours to save hotel energy. Overall I was very unhappy with accomodations. I would never stay there again and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel was only a couple miles from city centre where there is tons of shopping and parks and museums. It is a little too far to walk especially if it is cold or raining, but an easy drive or bus ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lesandy
Business
Western, NY, USA
Apr 25, 2012

An old hotel with some upgrades.

We picked this hotel not knowing anyting about it except that it was an old building in a good location for what we wanted. The rooms were clean but the windows were in need of repair or replacing. The service to the rooms and responds to our needs was very prompt and done with curtesy. I do not see taking children there, there is nothing for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ireland Road trip
Business
NYC
Jan 7, 2013

Close to Airport & City Center

Room was very outdated, but extremely inexpensive considering other options. Pool, hot tub & gym are great pluses. Is a 10 min drive to the airport or the city center, less than 15 euros depending on where you're going. Wifi worked pretty well in the rooms. Parking is 6 euros per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ireland Road trip
Business
NYC
Jan 9, 2013

Great fitness Center

Rooms are basic, wifi worked well in our room (3rd floor back corner). But the pool, sauna & jacuzzi were the highlights!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top