$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Regency Hotel

3 stars
Swords Road, Whitehall, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
84 reviews
Good Value.

Walls are thin so you can sometimes hear your neighbours. they should have a toast maker to save... See full review

  • POLE
  • Jul 2, 2014
Handy for city break

booked hotel for heineken cup final, great room and great service from all staff. I would recommend... See full review

  • music fan
  • May 27, 2013
The Regency Airport Hotel is a family owned and operated hotel located 3 km north of Dublin City centre and on the main route from Dublin airport. The main Hotel building dates back to the 19th Century when it was formerly a stately home. The high ceilings, original tiles and main stair case in the old Hallway are a giveaway to this. The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million Euro refurbishment blending Georgian charm with modern comforts. Restaurant, Bar, 24 Hour Reception & Room Service, Multilingual staff on hand 24 hours a day, Garden, Non-Smoking Rooms, Elevator, Safe-Deposit Box, Heating, Luggage Storage Garden terrace and Patio All Rooms and Public Areas are Non-Smoking Designated Smoking Areas Centrally controlled air conditioning

Hotel Map

53.3781 -6.2462
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
Located just 3 km north of Dublin city centre and 4 km from Dublin airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Regency Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Regency Hotel Rooms

Budget Room
Basic un refurbished rooms in the older part of the Hotel Rooms are en- suite with Tea & Coffee facilities, TV and Direct Dial Telephone
Standard bedroom
All standard bedrooms are tastefully decorated, bright and designed to international standards

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dublin City University: 0.7 mi
  • River Tolka: 0.8 mi
  • Croke Park: 1.2 mi
  • GAA Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Parnell Park: 1.3 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 1.5 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Canal: 1.7 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 1.7 mi
  • Belvedere College: 1.7 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 1.7 mi
  • Clontarf: 1.7 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 1.8 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 1.8 mi
  • An Port Thoir: 1.8 mi
  • Dublin City University: 0.7 mi
  • River Tolka: 0.8 mi
  • Croke Park: 1.2 mi
  • GAA Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Parnell Park: 1.3 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 1.5 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Canal: 1.7 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 1.7 mi
  • Belvedere College: 1.7 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 1.7 mi
  • Clontarf: 1.7 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 1.8 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 1.8 mi
  • An Port Thoir: 1.8 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 1.8 mi
  • Connolly station: 1.8 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Baile Phib: 1.9 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 1.9 mi
  • Parnell Square: 1.9 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 1.9 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 2 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 2 mi
  • Kings Inns: 2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 2 mi
  • Moore Street: 2.1 mi
  • The Custom House: 2.1 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 2.1 mi
  • University of Dublin: 2.1 mi
  • General Post Office: 2.1 mi
  • Grangegorman: 2.1 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 2.1 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 2.1 mi
  • Arnotts: 2.1 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 2.1 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 2.1 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 2.1 mi
  • River Liffey: 2.1 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 2.2 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 2.2 mi
  • The O2: 2.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Regency Hotel is delighted to announce the arrival of a landmark development. The development consists of a 929sqm/10,000 sq ft. Conference Centre, suitable for 750 delegates or 600 for a dinner dance. The room is fully dividable into four separate rooms and most rooms have natural daylight. In addition, there are separate breakout rooms.

Dining

Shanard Restaurant
There is fine wining and dining available with the in-house restaurant serving Irish and international cuisine. The hotel also has a fine Bar and Lounge area, serving a range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages including a cocktail menu. Bar food Is available all day 7 days a week. There is also music several nights a week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for The Regency Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
benz
devon , UK
Jul 18, 2013

dublin break away

very friendly staff, clean rooms and good location near bus stop to get into town (10min on bus) great value for money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern Ireland
Jun 16, 2009

Avoid like the plague

We were offered a shoebox sized room with an ensuite that would have caused an injury if a second person had attempted to enter it when the first was in it. The bed was described as a double but was a spacious single. When we requested a twin the receptionist was most put out and with very bad grace evetually granted the request. You needed a map to find the room and the staff were dismissive when asked for directions. The room was basic but walking around felt like you were walking straight on the water pipes due to the amount of noise they emitted. Parking was provided but they charged you [$] for the priviledge. The one highlight was the American style diner located outside it but still part of the Hotel complex. Courteous helpful staff, beautiful food and reasonably priced. The main hotel should take a long hard look at it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you must stay here, eat in JJ's. It really is very good.

Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissatisfied
Belfast
Aug 26, 2012

Awful experience

I booked this hotel last minute for friends as their father is extremely ill in a hospital nearby. I am disgusted at the staff and their attitude towards my friends. They were ignorant and unhelpful. They need to have training on how to deal with customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jan55
Dublin
Nov 4, 2012

Terrible

No electric, sockets not working, tele not working, waited 2 hours for maintenence to fix it. Cracks on the tile floors, holes and cracks on the walls,walls are made of cardboard, 99 euro for a so called new room, ended up going home, did not stay and got no refund :O will never stay here again, ever...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not get roped into staying here, it is a dump, would n't let my dog stay here..

Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
can't leave one
massachusetts
Dec 13, 2012

Bad

Having stayed before (twice) things have gone downhill. Did not have room when I arrived, had to wait hour. Did not get room as booked. It was cold and heat was not turned on until 8PM. Window was open one day and it was really cold. Was told they would send a spaceheater up but it did not arrive until next day. Won't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rdelsr
Long Island, New York
Apr 28, 2013

Terrible

There was nothing good about this hotel. We were extremely surprised that it was a Resency. When we tried to walk down the main stairway to the lobby, we could not see. At 9:00 PM, we had to find the light switch to turn the lights on. Most of the bulbs were out anyway. We went to the restaurant to get dinner. We were not waited on for 45 minutes. No one asked if we wanted a drink or gave us a menu. Finally a waiter came with a dish of French fries. He said we ordered them. I'm sure they were ordered by the people that got fed up and left. We know they were serving food, because we saw them walking away from the kitchen. We left and walked down the block for dinner. Then the next morning at breakfast, they seemed to be annoyed that we were even there. Good thing it was a buffet. They were too busy getting ready for a tour bus. I think that was the same problem with dinner. Oh, and when it rained the night we were there, the room leaked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roxyz
Sacramento, CA
Aug 10, 2013

Try to find different accommodations

This was dreadful. We re-booked the third day and spent $1000 more NOT to be there. Absolutely noisy...far away from town center (and a bus strike) Broken furniture. Overall feeling of not clean. View from room was dreadful, peeling and dirty stucco rail with litter on landing. Did I say NOISY--you can literally hear normal conversations and foodsteps in next room....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Knoxville, TN
May 25, 2011

Not what you think!

Looked a lot more upscale than it was. Hot water didn't work, blow dryer didn't work, restaurant was closed for a tour group making the bar area packed with 2 servers. Food was very average at best. Credit card machine didn't work so we charged to the room. [...] We stayed in hostels the entire trip except that night and I have to say the hostels were much nicer and better equipped than this hotel. I travel quit a bit and have never been so disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JP875
UK
Apr 6, 2013

Extremely unpleasant experience

Booked a budget room which is in a run down part of the hotel. The main hotel is on one side but they have budget rooms on other side which are shabby, extremely cold and ofcourse cheap. Got what i paid for will never go back again. Advice is if you have to book this hotel then donot book a budget room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nicki2014
Galway
Mar 4, 2014

Nice food and bar staff but room was awful!

Stayed here last weekend, got a great deal online. Asked for a room in the new part of the hotel because I'd read that the old part wasn't very nice. The room we got was awful. There was more rust on the radiator than paint, even less paint on the worn out chairs and the walls were covered in marks and doubt they have been painted in years either. Also there were cracks in the tiles in the bathroom. We ate in the bar that evening, food was lovely and service was quick and friendly. The hotel is on a good bus route to the city centre so location was ideal. It's a pity that the room we stayed in was so horrible. If I could be guaranteed a nicer room I would stay here again. Receptionists could be a bit more friendly & let us know meal times etc... I'd hate to see the "old rooms" after the "new one" we got!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Love Ireland
Atlanta, GA
Aug 8, 2011

Charming & Inexpensive

We spent one night only (airport layover). The room was lovely. Only problem was the hotel restaurant - the food was good, but some items we ordered weren't available, but the waiter didn't tell us until after he had served the rest of our party. We ended up having to share meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search