$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

The Regency Hotel

3 stars
View map of Swords Road, Whitehall, Dublin, 9

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Regency Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Love Ireland
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 8, 2011

Charming & Inexpensive

We spent one night only (airport layover). The room was lovely. Only problem was the hotel restaurant - the food was good, but some items we ordered weren't available, but the waiter didn't tell us until after he had served the rest of our party. We ended up having to share meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville, TN
May 25, 2011

Not what you think!

Looked a lot more upscale than it was. Hot water didn't work, blow dryer didn't work, restaurant was closed for a tour group making the bar area packed with 2 servers. Food was very average at best. Credit card machine didn't work so we charged to the room. [...] We stayed in hostels the entire trip except that night and I have to say the hostels were much nicer and better equipped than this hotel. I travel quit a bit and have never been so disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dshaff
Business
Marshall VA
Jul 18, 2010

Friendly, helpful staff

Good location, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FlagshipOne
Business
Fairfax, VA
Aug 23, 2009

Regency Hotel - Dublin

they charge for everything! shuttle to the airport gets charged! local phone calls get charged! check-in early gets charged! great place to stay but be ready to pay for things that one is normally used to getting for free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

to bus stop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 21, 2009

Very Nice Place!!!

It was our first time in Ireland, and the cleanliness of the hotel added to the great experience. Also included was a pool, fitness center, sauna, and steam room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L&A
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 9, 2009

great airport hotel

This hotel is a great airport hotel. It was perfect for our one night stay before flying out again. It also wasn't hard to take a quick bus ride downtown to O'Connell street. The service was great, and the staff awesome. The best part was probably the full Irish breakfast in the morning. The aren't many shops, stores, or supermarkets within walking distance, and the restaurants there are a bit expensive. But all in all, it was great for what we needed... restful, quiet, clean, and nice. We didn't use the pool or fitness area; a swimming cap is necessary in the pool and if you don't have one you have to purchase it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Ireland
Jun 16, 2009

Avoid like the plague

We were offered a shoebox sized room with an ensuite that would have caused an injury if a second person had attempted to enter it when the first was in it. The bed was described as a double but was a spacious single. When we requested a twin the receptionist was most put out and with very bad grace evetually granted the request. You needed a map to find the room and the staff were dismissive when asked for directions. The room was basic but walking around felt like you were walking straight on the water pipes due to the amount of noise they emitted. Parking was provided but they charged you [$] for the priviledge. The one highlight was the American style diner located outside it but still part of the Hotel complex. Courteous helpful staff, beautiful food and reasonably priced. The main hotel should take a long hard look at it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you must stay here, eat in JJ's. It really is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Ireland
Jun 16, 2009

Avoid like the plague

We were offered a shoebox sized room with an ensuite that would have caused an injury if a second person had attempted to enter it when the first was in it. The bed was described as a double but was a spacious single. When we requested a twin the receptionist was most put out and with very bad grace evetually granted the request. You needed a map to find the room and the staff were dismissive when asked for directions. The room was basic but walking around felt like you were walking straight on the water pipes due to the amount of noise they emitted. Parking was provided but they charged you [$] for the priviledge. The one highlight was the American style diner located outside it but still part of the Hotel complex. Courteous helpful staff, beautiful food and reasonably priced. The main hotel should take a long hard look at it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you must stay here, eat in JJ's. It really is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Enterprise
Jan 2, 2009

My review of The Regency Hotel

The lobby and public dining areas of this hotel were very nice. The staff were friendly and accomodating. The rooms however, were very run down. The plumbing was finicky. The water would get cold or stop flowing altogether when trying to take a shower. The toilet only worked when it wanted to. The heat in the room would automatically turn off during day-time hours to save hotel energy. Overall I was very unhappy with accomodations. I would never stay there again and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel was only a couple miles from city centre where there is tons of shopping and parks and museums. It is a little too far to walk especially if it is cold or raining, but an easy drive or bus ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saratoga Springs
Dec 16, 2008

Very comfortable and friendly

The Regency Hotel in Dublin was a pleasure to stay in. The room was comfortable with convenient self service for tea and coffee. The breakfast was delightful and all that one could ask for. We found the location to be perfect--very accessible to the airport and to local transportation . All in all a very good choice for accomodation in Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a lovely Chinese restaurant within a short walking distance with delightful food and wonderful service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top