$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

The Gresham Hotel

4 stars
View map of 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin, 1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patsi
Friends
Pennsylvania
Sep 19, 2013

Great Location

We stayed at the Gresham Hotel for three days and enjoyed our stay. Some problems arose during our visit but the staff solved them right away. The mattress was too hard for me. Also loved the key light switch thing. Great idea. Never saw that before. Our Afternoon tea on Tuesday was lovely and our waitress was very sweet. Most of the servers were friendly and helpful. I would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

We ate there all three nights and tried all the dinning areas. All were very good and it was nice not to have to walk around in the rain. It rained a lot the week we were there...welcome to Ireland!

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mlssrvs
Single
Evanston, IL
Oct 8, 2013

Nice hotel, pricey but in line for the location.

I had a nice stay at the Gresham. The lobby areas are well appointed. The rooms had all the right amenities and were good sized. The only issue I encountered was someone pulled a fire alarm at 3am on saturday night/sunday morning so we all the hotel guests had to trek out to the streets in our PJs. This is obviously not the hotels fault but it definitely did damper my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

all walking distance or a short cab ride away Saba - Thai food Temple bar area for drinking

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Terri
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Jun 4, 2014

Classic Hotel

This is a lovely classic old hotel. Loved the fact that the Beatles and U2 both have stayed there before. :o) Great staff and nice facility. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Nice walk from the very Irish Temple Pub.

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NJ
Jun 4, 2011

Very nice hotel at an excellent location

First time in Dublin, and having stayed at the Gresham allowed us to roam about Dublin easily. Even tours and public transportation was very easy to manage. The hotel is very nice, and I understand recently revamped. We tried the continental breakfast and it was very good. Pricey but highly recommended (please note that we tried alternate venues for breakfast, but the hotel was the better choice by far)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Apple Valley, MN
Sep 12, 2009

Great Location and great staff

We were extremely tired when we arrived and the wonderful manager arranged for us to get into our rooms early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 10, 2011

Great value, great location

The hotel was modern, rooms and bathroom seemed newly renovated and spacious. Location was very good on a main street (O'Connell Street) within easy walking distance of all tourist attractions and lots of restaurants, shopping, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Boston
Aug 31, 2010

Great Touring Location

One of Dublin's oldest hotels, though kept up very well. Our room was clean and surprisingly of good size compared to other rooms I've seen in Europe. Amenities were fine (A/C, flatscreen TV, Hairdryer). The staff was very nice and helpful. We enjoyed the location of the hotel as it was very easy to get around Dublin (walking or bus....we mostly walked). The area is not in the most prestigious part of Dublin, however, we found it was much more accessible to everything. If you want a quiet hotel, out of the way, this is not where you should stay. It is on a very busy street and if you get overwhelmed by city traffic, people of all walks of life etc. then this hotel would not be for you. Good value and I am sure if it was located on the other side of the River it would be much more expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Orange County, CA.
Aug 4, 2011

Great Location, Good Value

The Gresham is very elegant on the outside, and has really nice lobbies to relax in, and the bars and restaurant are classy. Our room was ready early, clean, and decent in size for Europe. The room was a little worn here and there, but not bad. The location was superb, right on the main street of Dublin. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Mac Daddy
Couples
NYC
Aug 24, 2010

the gresham, dublin

The location of The Gresham Hotel is great because it's within walking distance of all the great tourist attractions in Dublin. The hotel has an old fashioned feel and is very beautiful inside. They let us upgrade to a bigger room upon check-in and it was very spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to get a taxi or take the bus (although they are readily available) to get to the popular tourist attractions or pubs on Temple Bar. There are helpful maps in the hotel's lobby that make getting around the city on foot simple. You can take a bus that leaves right outside of the airport to get to the hotel in order to avoid paying for a cab. Touring the Guiness Factory, Jameson Factory, and various Churches are worth the price, some unbelieveable treasures are to be found among Dublin's tourist sights. Don't forget an umbrella and jacket (it was cold and rainy in August!).

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cat Sass
Couples
Huntington Beach CA
Aug 4, 2010

Dublin 07302010

Fantastic location in a premier old, elegant hotel. No air conditioning, so our room on O'Connell St. was occassionally noisy. Probably not a problem in winter or colder months of the year or if your room is not on the front of the hotel. Maintenance could be a little better. Our toilet was loose on the floor which proved to be a bit disconcerting at times and one of the elevators was out of service for several days. The toilet was not repaired during our stay due to the holiday weekend. Otherwise, this is a terrific hotel with reasonable pricing/good value. Breakfast is quite pricy at the Gresham, so we elected to go several steps down the street to small restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hop On Hop Off bus is right there, and the program worked very well for us. It goes to all of the major museums and sights that any tourist would like to see.

Back to menu Return to top