$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

The Gresham Hotel

4 stars
View map of 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin, 1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TNAZ
Business
Saint Louis, MO
Oct 12, 2010

dublin 2010

They moved us to another room with a better view upon our request but all rooms small and beds were quite uncomfortable. All in all a clean and safe hotel ! We took day tours and took public transportation - cheap !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy tours online for a discounted rate. Use public transportation to get to tour sights - very cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sun and Sand from CT
Business
Westport, CT
Jun 19, 2014

No A/C, poor service

We happened to stay here during warm weather. The room was very very hot and there was no air conditioning. We called 3x before we got a fan. Our room looked out to another building so there was no air circulation through the windows. The towel heater would not turn off. We called several times, but noone showed up to fix it. There were no wash cloths. the blow dryer did not work. The in room coffee was instant... Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Floffy
Business
Queens, New York
Jul 19, 2014

Great Location...but...

Gave 2 seniors a room down a long hallway that was furthest from the elevators. The bed was extremely hard, uncomfortable and small (only full not queen) with pillows that were flat as a pancake. Every morning noisy birds outside our window would wake us up at the crack of dawn. BUT....the hotel IS in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired but happy
Business
London
Sep 19, 2010

Great location and easy access

Had a great first time visit to Dublin. The Gresham was a really good location for getting anywhere around the City. We walked miles - to the Guinness store and also to Kilmainham Jail. It was all easily accesible from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The live music in Temple Bar area was just brilliant. We saw four differnt bands on two nights. the Gresham Hotel was a great location to get easily to and from the area safely at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sabat1jm
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Good Location, not the friendliest of staff

This hotel is in a great location and easy to get to from the airport. It is literally the first stop when taking the 10 minute, 7 euro Aircoach bus from the airport. Don't bother taking a cab. We arrived earlier than expected and were able to check in immediately which was great! The folks at the front desk were not very friendly and when there were lines, they did not acknowledge anyone in line, or say much to folks waiting (even if one of the staff members was not with another guest) There were three of us so the room was spacious enough to include an extra bed, or cot for a 3rd person. The bedrooms here only had either 1. two twin beds, or 2. a double bed. Not very good for a party of three. When we asked for a cot, they brought a Pack n' Play (Baby crib). Hilarious. When we asked for an adult folding bed, they said they did not have these and if we wanted to have the 3rd person stay it was an extra 50 euro a night and the gentlemen we spoke with was not friendly about this. Aside from that, the location and ground floor bar/restaurant are what sold this place. It is close to all the attractions on one of Dublin's main thoroughfares.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The lounge in the hotel is the perfect place to wind down the night. Sit in the cozy couches and enjoy a nightcap just steps from your room. There is also a pub right next door if you want to go somewhere more casual and tavern-esque.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CMRK
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Great time in Dublin

We stayed for five nights. Location was great. This was our second stay at the Gresham in six months. We must have gotten an upgrade during this stay as our bed was more comfortable. You could open the window in the room which was welcome as i enjoy the fresh air. Our bathroom had a separate tub and shower. I NEVER take a tub bath in a hotel but the tub was so clean and inviting I jumped in and soaked away the international flight. We had high tea one afternoon and it was great, almost too much food. Drinks at the bar were spendy but the bar was nice. Staff was very nice. Anna, in housekeeping was very helpful and located an ice bucket for us. Helped us with extra towels, etc. She's a good ambassador for the Gresham. Will stay again. See you next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Voice of Reason
Business
Surrey, UK
Apr 14, 2012

Very good hotel

A very good hotel in particularly good location. Very pleasing open areas on ground floor. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Bedroom (on 5th floor overlooking O'Connell Street) good size and comfortable with pleasant bathroom. Brasserie restaurant a bit disappointing - staff attentive but food rather bland. Hotel as booked with e-bookers was very good value but breakfast expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located just round the corner from bus stop on the airport bus number 747 route. Only E10 return.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vlad43210
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 6, 2012

great 4-star hotel

I had a really good time at the Gresham! The room was comfortable, though a bit small. The view out on the street was a bit underwhelming and the room was on the hot & stuffy side, even though the thermostat said 14C. The service was great, though, and the location was pretty much perfect, right near the town center. Overall, pretty happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WynB
Business
New York
Nov 3, 2012

Only one night but quite perfect

Very pleasant staff. Nice room. Comfortable and I could turn up the heating to suit my cold self. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Guiness Dubliner
Business
Brooklyn New York
Dec 5, 2012

The Guiness Vacation

Perfect. No complaints whatsoever. Staff great. Room great. Location great. Breakfast, bars, tea time, all great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

L'gueuleton restaurant. Absolutely great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top