$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

The Gresham Hotel

4 stars
23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
82 reviews
Downtown Dublin - Perfect

Excellent location for all our business needs. Staff were over-the-top helpful will all our tour... See full review

  • Kim Caskey
  • Jun 21, 2014
Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Dublin.

Classy but comfortable hotel. All staff very polite, bar staff super-friendly. Perfectly situated... See full review

  • ATOZ
  • May 2, 2014
Live like a star at Dublin’s best-known hotel
The Gresham, one of Dublin's best-known hotels, is located right on the city's main thoroughfare, O'Connell Street, and minutes from the River Liffey, Trinity College and other major attractions. This charming traditional building, complete with Waterford crystal chandeliers, houses modern luxury accommodations and on-site amenities such as bars, a business center and fitness room. The four-star hotel also offers deluxe conference facilities and staff to help you plan and coordinate your event.

 

Highlights
  • The four-star hotel conveniently situated on O'Connell Street
  • Penthouse suites styled to match guest celebrities who frequented the hotel
  • Deluxe conference facilities
Rooms

 The Gresham's 228 beautifully appointed guest rooms feature plush white duvets, complimentary tea- and coffee stations, interactive TV services and free Wi-Fi access. Lavery rooms have marble bathrooms with separate bath and shower and mini-fridge. Luxury suites include stunning antique decor, separate sitting room, jukebox and bathrobe and slippers. Penthouse suites are the epitome of luxury. Each is unique and offers guests special features like a fireplace, four poster bed, Jacuzzi and terrace.

Features

The Gresham Hotel is located close to most of Dublin's major attractions, entertainment, restaurants and shopping. The relaxing Writer's Lounge bar serves light refreshments and drinks. Toddy's Bar and Brasserie stays open late for those who wish to nurse a whiskey or two from the comprehensive selection. The hotel conveniently provides luggage storage, babysitting services, laundry and dry cleaning facilities, postal and package services, a doctor on call and a guest library. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available.

Transportation
  • Aircoach service outside hotel
  • Dublin bus service outside hotel
  • Parking available (fees apply)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • The Hugh Lane Gallery (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Garden of Remembrance (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • The James Joyce Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • St. Mary's Pro-Cathedral (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (.2 mi/04 km)
  • Trinity College (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (.5 mi/.7 km)
Business
  • 20 conference and meeting rooms accommodating up to 350 guests
  • Full audiovisual capabilities
  • Dedicated butler service
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary parking for up to 12 guests
  • Most rooms are wheelchair accessible
  • Conference and banquet staff available to help with all stages of event planning

Hotel Map

53.3519 -6.2606
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
Located in Dublin City Centre, on O'Connell Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Gresham Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Gresham Hotel Rooms

Standard Double Room
Room with one double bed includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard Twin
Room with 2 single beds includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Deluxe Double
ROOM ONLY. 33 Sq. Meter bedroom with Queen sized bed, cotton duvet, Quadriga TV systems in room, with LCD TV, movies on demand, clock, music jukebox. WI-FI and wired internet access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Bathroom includes separate bath and shower areas, mist free shaving mirror, telephone. Deluxe rooms also include bathrobes and slippers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.4 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.5 mi
  • The Ark: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Gallery Restaurant
Situated to the rear of the lobby area, the Gallery is open for buffet style breakfast (from 7.00am to 10.30am Monday to Friday, open until 12noon on Saturdays and Sundays), lunch (from 12.30pm to 2.30pm Monday to Friday) and dinner (from 5.30pm to 10.30pm). Soft decor colouring and lighting provide a relaxed and elegant atmosphere, making the dining experience all the more memorable. Head Chef Declan Nolan prepares carefully presented mouth-watering dishes, different each day with a varied and intriguing Table d'Hote Menu. The restaurant comfortably seats up to 130 people, catering for early-bird diners on their way to The Gate Theatre and Abbey Theatre (each just a short stroll out the door), and last orders are at 10.30pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Leastm
Boston. MA
Feb 11, 2013

Small, uncomfortable room, overpriced

The room was very small and bare. The staff was incredibly unhelpful. The location is centric, but very noisy. Grossly overpriced. I would never go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kagee
Washington, D.C.
Sep 17, 2012

over priced and nothing special about this hotel

room was hot and noisy and nothing special at all. bed was extremely uncomfortable and old. Paid 300 euros a night for the room and breakfast was not included. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kwake
Windsor, CA, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Sore toes

Upon check in our room was not ready and we had to wait. Then the room we were given was the smallest we had while in Ireland on a 10 day trip. While I was taking a shower the control knob for the shower fell off and hit my toes. I had a hard time walking. I called the manager to report this and they really did nothing to help. When I asked to be moved to a room with a properly working shower knob they acted put out. They did bring me some ice to use for my swollen toes but it really ruined the rest of our stay having a sore foot. The shower also had tile missing and the floor tile was loose and actually came all the way off. I would not recommend this hotel while in Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Iced lady
Dundalk
Feb 19, 2014

Very cold room

When we arrived there was no heating on in the room We had to ask them to look at it which they did Very quickly, but after a few minutes it went Off again. Asked again and they got it Working, but the bathroom was freezing no Heating at all. Very disappointing for the Price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ed01
Stuttgart. Germany
Dec 17, 2013

Dublin Weekend

The hotel was in a great location and had some charm. The room was clean and comfortable but I must say that I did not have a 5 star experience. My room window faced a dirty alley that was constantly noisy and the window did not seal very well, there was a constant cold draft. The wifi internet did not work well and I could not keep a connection and at most times if would not connect at all. The breakfast buffet for 20 euro was the worst I have ever experienced, not something you would expect from a 5 start hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ESTAR
Long Beach, CA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Does the job

We needed a one night deal in Dublin. It is not four star. The only thing it has going for itself is location. It was clean but nothing special to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maxaroo
Chesapeake, Virginia
May 14, 2012

Faded Past

My wife wanted to stay at the Gresham eversince she was a small girl. Well was she ever disappointed. The lobby area may be impressive, but the room accomodations are something else. Our room had the distinction of facing a wall........great view!! My wife got a panic attack in the night and tried to open a bathroom window with no luck. The pillows on the bed were the worst ever...like sleeping on rocks!! This hotel needs a major makeover.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 23, 2010

Tiny, noisy room

A tiny room in the very noisy front portion of the hotel with no recourse to change rooms short of paying a significant price upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 23, 2010

Tiny, noisy room

A tiny room in the very noisy front portion of the hotel with no recourse to change rooms short of paying a significant price upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ctenidae
Boston
Oct 18, 2010

The Gresham- well faded glory

Lobby is really nice, so had high hopes. Alas, they were dashed. Room was very small, with the walls and doors showing their age- bulging plaster patches, a door jamb that looked like a SWAT team had given it some love. IKEA-quality wardrobe and desk. TV remote didn't work properly (programming problem with the TV, not a battery issue). Water took forever to get hot in both the sink and shower. We were well acquainted with all our neighbor's bathroom habits by the end of the night. Bed was hard as a rock, and squeaky to boot. AC didn't work. Overall, not worth the price for the standard room. An upgraded one, maybe, but then for that price you can get the super-deluxe at several other locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar is lively, popular, and packed. Of course, worth seeing, but go off the beaten path for truly good times.

Back to menu Return to top