$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

The Gresham Hotel

4 stars
View map of 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin, 1

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
76 reviews
birthday weekend

Decided at last minute to spend the weekend in Dublin to celebrate my wife's birthday checked some... See full review

  • brian mcgahan N.Ireland
  • Aug 19, 2015
Heart of Dublin

The Gresham hotel is beautiful. My husband and I were on holiday in Dublin and found the hotel to... See full review

  • Marilyn G.
  • Jul 19, 2015
  • The Hugh Lane Gallery (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Garden of Remembrance (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • The James Joyce Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • St. Mary's Pro-Cathedral (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (.2 mi/04 km)
  • Trinity College (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (.5 mi/.7 km)
General

The Gresham Hotel is located close to most of Dublin's major attractions, entertainment, restaurants and shopping. The relaxing Writer's Lounge bar serves light refreshments and drinks. Toddy's Bar and Brasserie stays open late for those who wish to nurse a whiskey or two from the comprehensive selection. The hotel conveniently provides luggage storage, babysitting services, laundry and dry cleaning facilities, postal and package services, a doctor on call and a guest library. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available.

Location
The Gresham, one of Dublin's best-known hotels, is located right on the city's main thoroughfare, O'Connell Street, and minutes from the River Liffey, Trinity College and other major attractions. This charming traditional building, complete with Waterford crystal chandeliers, houses modern luxury accommodations and on-site amenities such as bars, a business center and fitness room. The four-star hotel also offers deluxe conference facilities and staff to help you plan and coordinate your event.

 

Dining
  • Aircoach service outside hotel
  • Dublin bus service outside hotel
  • Parking available (fees apply)
  • Taxi service available
Rooms

 The Gresham's 228 beautifully appointed guest rooms feature plush white duvets, complimentary tea- and coffee stations, interactive TV services and free Wi-Fi access. Lavery rooms have marble bathrooms with separate bath and shower and mini-fridge. Luxury suites include stunning antique decor, separate sitting room, jukebox and bathrobe and slippers. Penthouse suites are the epitome of luxury. Each is unique and offers guests special features like a fireplace, four poster bed, Jacuzzi and terrace.

Property features

The Gresham Hotel is located close to most of Dublin's major attractions, entertainment, restaurants and shopping. The relaxing Writer's Lounge bar serves light refreshments and drinks. Toddy's Bar and Brasserie stays open late for those who wish to nurse a whiskey or two from the comprehensive selection. The hotel conveniently provides luggage storage, babysitting services, laundry and dry cleaning facilities, postal and package services, a doctor on call and a guest library. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available.

Highlights
  • The four-star hotel conveniently situated on O'Connell Street
  • Penthouse suites styled to match guest celebrities who frequented the hotel
  • Deluxe conference facilities
Nearby attractions
  • The four-star hotel conveniently situated on O'Connell Street
  • Penthouse suites styled to match guest celebrities who frequented the hotel
  • Deluxe conference facilities
Business
  • 20 conference and meeting rooms accommodating up to 350 guests
  • Full audiovisual capabilities
  • Dedicated butler service
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary parking for up to 12 guests
  • Most rooms are wheelchair accessible
  • Conference and banquet staff available to help with all stages of event planning
Transportation
Landmark O’Connell Street hotel houses modern luxury

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Gresham Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$122
4.0 / 5 224 reviews
★★★★
$140
3.9 / 5 105 reviews
★★★★
$133
4.0 / 5 43 reviews
★★★
$108
3.6 / 5 54 reviews
★★★★
$147
4.0 / 5 90 reviews
★★★
$122
4.0 / 5 22 reviews
★★★
$98
3.8 / 5 59 reviews
★★★
$122
3.8 / 5 39 reviews

The Gresham Hotel Rooms

Standard Double Room
Room with one double bed includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard Twin
Room with 2 single beds includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Deluxe Double
ROOM ONLY. 33 Sq. Meter bedroom with Queen sized bed, cotton duvet, Quadriga TV systems in room, with LCD TV, movies on demand, clock, music jukebox. WI-FI and wired internet access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Bathroom includes separate bath and shower areas, mist free shaving mirror, telephone. Deluxe rooms also include bathrobes and slippers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • An Post Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • An Post Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.4 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.5 mi
  • The Ark: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Gallery Restaurant
Situated to the rear of the lobby area, the Gallery is open for buffet style breakfast (from 7.00am to 10.30am Monday to Friday, open until 12noon on Saturdays and Sundays), lunch (from 12.30pm to 2.30pm Monday to Friday) and dinner (from 5.30pm to 10.30pm). Soft decor colouring and lighting provide a relaxed and elegant atmosphere, making the dining experience all the more memorable. Head Chef Declan Nolan prepares carefully presented mouth-watering dishes, different each day with a varied and intriguing Table d'Hote Menu. The restaurant comfortably seats up to 130 people, catering for early-bird diners on their way to The Gate Theatre and Abbey Theatre (each just a short stroll out the door), and last orders are at 10.30pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 76
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
British Wonderer
Couples
England
Mar 23, 2014

Excellent Location

I had passed the Gresham Hotel on a number of visits to Dublin and thought it would a pleasant hotel to stay in, if I ever had the opportunity. How wonderfully surprised I was when I decided to book a room for our visit. From arrival to departure all of the staff were attentive, courteous and responsive. The room was really nice and the food beautifully prepared and served. We would be happy to book a room in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Niamh
Couples
Cork
Dec 13, 2011

Shopping weekend

Friendly staff centre of everything would definitely stay there again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DPboy
Couples
USA
Nov 10, 2012

DPsteveo

Excellent location. We arrived on early am flight and they gave us our room by 9am ! Would stay there again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
babahatchi
Couples
San Diego
Dec 15, 2012

best possible location

The aircoach from Dublin airport stops in front of the hotel, and the big green tour buses (if you're so inclined) start from right around the corner. Plenty of restaurants and shops can be found within a couple blocks, and the place is walking distance from the city center, Temple Bar etc. With all that activity you'd think that it'd be noisy, but our room was quiet, spacious and clean. Can't comment on the in-hotel eateries as we didn't bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Narberth nark
Couples
Liverpool
Jul 23, 2013

Excellent location, courteous staff !

The airport bus drops you right outside this hotel. We stayed just for one night. Couldn't fault it. Had afternoon tea, drinks, etc. Staff very attentive and polite. room was clean with Air Con. Had a good night sleep. had breakfast in the hotel in the morning. Yes, you can eat in Mcdonalds if you want less expensive. We had the breakfast and was quite happy with everything. Our thanks to the people of Dublin. We had a great time, and hope to see you all again soon ! ! !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short 5 minute walk into shoppers paradise. Just a perfect location to stay and explore from.

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, TX
Mar 23, 2010

Awesome St. Patty's experience

After traveling through Paris and London, this hotel had 5 times the quality of room for the same price. Location was excellent, right in the middle of city center. The evening were noisy, but since it was St. Patrick's day, we were kind of expecting it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Dublin Bus Company "hop on, hop off" tours pick up right down the street. This is the best way to see the city and spend an hour or two at various sites. St. Patricks, Christchurch, Guiness and Trinity college are all on the route. Ask the concierges.

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandersons
Couples
The Gresham hotel Dublin
Jan 2, 2015

New year stay

Stayed at the Gresham hotel in Dublin no complaints fantastic hotel in the heart of Dublin and well worth the money . Also both resteraunts are good we stayed for 3 nites very good and will go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was very good

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nm101
Couples
West Yorkshire.
Dec 31, 2014

Brilliant!

Great hotel, beautifully decorated for Christmas, and nive and clean. Very nice staff, brilliant location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marilyn G.
Couples
N/A
Jul 19, 2015

Heart of Dublin

The Gresham hotel is beautiful. My husband and I were on holiday in Dublin and found the hotel to be everything we expect at a 4 star hotel. The front desk staff was awesome and able to assist us in our every need. Callen (concierge) handled all details for a trip to Belfast for us and with check-in and boarding passes for our flight to Copenhagen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brian mcgahan N.Ireland
Couples
N/A
Aug 19, 2015

birthday weekend

Decided at last minute to spend the weekend in Dublin to celebrate my wife's birthday checked some of the reviews for this hotel and was a bit sceptical as some them were not good but decided to book it as i knew the location was excellent . at check in i asked for a room overlooking o'connell street and was told they would try and accommodate me but i would maybe have to wait an hour as the room would not be ready until then, i agreed to this and was pleasantly surprised to be given a room on the first floor in the new wing. This room was first class big and spotless, it had a walk in large rain shower with a large bath in an other area of the bathroom, with regards to the staff we found all of them very,very polite and really helpful we did not eat in the hotel as we were meeting friends elsewhere in dublin. Will definitely book this hotel every time i visit Dublin which has to be one of the best city's in the world for restaurant's and music. My wife and i had a fabulous weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top