$137 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

The Gresham Hotel

4 stars
23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
69 reviews
Downtown Dublin - Perfect

Excellent location for all our business needs. Staff were over-the-top helpful will all our tour... See full review

  • Kim Caskey
  • Jun 21, 2014
Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Dublin.

Classy but comfortable hotel. All staff very polite, bar staff super-friendly. Perfectly situated... See full review

  • ATOZ
  • May 2, 2014
Live like a star at Dublin’s best-known hotel
The Gresham, one of Dublin's best-known hotels, is located right on the city's main thoroughfare, O'Connell Street, and minutes from the River Liffey, Trinity College and other major attractions. This charming traditional building, complete with Waterford crystal chandeliers, houses modern luxury accommodations and on-site amenities such as bars, a business center and fitness room. The four-star hotel also offers deluxe conference facilities and staff to help you plan and coordinate your event.

 

Highlights
  • The four-star hotel conveniently situated on O'Connell Street
  • Penthouse suites styled to match guest celebrities who frequented the hotel
  • Deluxe conference facilities
Rooms

 The Gresham's 228 beautifully appointed guest rooms feature plush white duvets, complimentary tea- and coffee stations, interactive TV services and free Wi-Fi access. Lavery rooms have marble bathrooms with separate bath and shower and mini-fridge. Luxury suites include stunning antique decor, separate sitting room, jukebox and bathrobe and slippers. Penthouse suites are the epitome of luxury. Each is unique and offers guests special features like a fireplace, four poster bed, Jacuzzi and terrace.

Features

The Gresham Hotel is located close to most of Dublin's major attractions, entertainment, restaurants and shopping. The relaxing Writer's Lounge bar serves light refreshments and drinks. Toddy's Bar and Brasserie stays open late for those who wish to nurse a whiskey or two from the comprehensive selection. The hotel conveniently provides luggage storage, babysitting services, laundry and dry cleaning facilities, postal and package services, a doctor on call and a guest library. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available.

Transportation
  • Aircoach service outside hotel
  • Dublin bus service outside hotel
  • Parking available (fees apply)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • The Hugh Lane Gallery (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Garden of Remembrance (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • The James Joyce Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • St. Mary's Pro-Cathedral (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (.2 mi/04 km)
  • Trinity College (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (.5 mi/.7 km)
Business
  • 20 conference and meeting rooms accommodating up to 350 guests
  • Full audiovisual capabilities
  • Dedicated butler service
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary parking for up to 12 guests
  • Most rooms are wheelchair accessible
  • Conference and banquet staff available to help with all stages of event planning

Hotel Map

53.3519 -6.2606
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
Located in Dublin City Centre, on O'Connell Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Gresham Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Gresham Hotel Rooms

Standard Double Room
Room with one double bed includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard Twin
Room with 2 single beds includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Deluxe Double
ROOM ONLY. 33 Sq. Meter bedroom with Queen sized bed, cotton duvet, Quadriga TV systems in room, with LCD TV, movies on demand, clock, music jukebox. WI-FI and wired internet access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Bathroom includes separate bath and shower areas, mist free shaving mirror, telephone. Deluxe rooms also include bathrobes and slippers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.4 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.5 mi
  • The Ark: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Gallery Restaurant
Situated to the rear of the lobby area, the Gallery is open for buffet style breakfast (from 7.00am to 10.30am Monday to Friday, open until 12noon on Saturdays and Sundays), lunch (from 12.30pm to 2.30pm Monday to Friday) and dinner (from 5.30pm to 10.30pm). Soft decor colouring and lighting provide a relaxed and elegant atmosphere, making the dining experience all the more memorable. Head Chef Declan Nolan prepares carefully presented mouth-watering dishes, different each day with a varied and intriguing Table d'Hote Menu. The restaurant comfortably seats up to 130 people, catering for early-bird diners on their way to The Gate Theatre and Abbey Theatre (each just a short stroll out the door), and last orders are at 10.30pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelGuy77
NY
Oct 8, 2013

Quick Trip to Ireland

The hotel is upgrading some rooms and not others. I was in 2 seperate rooms during my trip. One was upgraded and the other wasn't. The upgraded one was much nicer and more acceptible. My shower in the orig room as not really working properly and the beds were not that comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 22, 2011

Not Bad

I went on a two day trips and did some sight seeing around the city. The hotel was nice. But overpriced. This beds were hard for my taste and had a no top sheet only a comforter. Instant coffee. No AC in the rooms so it was hot at night. Showers and tub combo was small. The best part of the hotel in the nice people who work there and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TNAZ
Saint Louis, MO
Oct 12, 2010

dublin 2010

They moved us to another room with a better view upon our request but all rooms small and beds were quite uncomfortable. All in all a clean and safe hotel ! We took day tours and took public transportation - cheap !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy tours online for a discounted rate. Use public transportation to get to tour sights - very cheap.

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Glys
Tampa, FL
Sep 18, 2013

Lovely room, broken water

I really enjoyed the room and the convenience of the location. Unfortunately, that was combined with a broken water heater that had water from all faucets (shower, bath, sink) set to scalding for the latter two days of my visit. Also, the restaurant is really disappointing. I ate really well in Dublin, except at the hotel. That said, the room was lovely and comfortable and I could walk every where.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Winding Stair down by the Liffey

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sun and Sand from CT
Westport, CT
Jun 19, 2014

No A/C, poor service

We happened to stay here during warm weather. The room was very very hot and there was no air conditioning. We called 3x before we got a fan. Our room looked out to another building so there was no air circulation through the windows. The towel heater would not turn off. We called several times, but noone showed up to fix it. There were no wash cloths. the blow dryer did not work. The in room coffee was instant... Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TAngo crazy
Enniscorthy, Co;. Wexford
Jun 23, 2012

Theatre break

The rooms were comfortable and clean. However they are a bit on the small side - could have had the bathrooms a bit smaller and extend the size of rooms. . At least the ones we were in - they were at the back and over some kind of generator which was constantly humming... We did not have breakfast there. Also there was a €15 charge for one night in the car park. A bit steep for a resident staying just overnight. Overall it was a nice hotel but not the classy hotel it once was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelSavvy
Ireland
Aug 30, 2013

Excellent location! Best Deal at Bargain Price ... Expensive at its regular rate!!!

Location is excellent. The hotel is in a central location and in strategically located. It is right on O'Connell street, Dublin's main street, right in the heart of the city center. City bus stops and tourist bus stops right in front of the hotel, including the 24hr Airport coach. Taxis right in front of the hotel. The luas (tram) is a short walk, about 100meters away. Well lit, safe location to return to after a night out in the city. A good selection and variety of places to eat just a short stroll away. Booked this hotel at its bargain rate of 125.00 USD. This is a very good rate (year 2013) for a hotel in Dublin city center. If you can get it anywhere near this rate, look no further and book this hotel. At its regular rate, it is expensive, so I would think twice and quite possibly look elsewhere. The standard double rooms small, just enough to fit the bed, although they are suited for a decent good night's sleep and the bathroom is clean and very presentable. I'll bet the upper class rooms are much more spacious and opulent (as they should be for their more expensive prices!!!). Any additional perks come at a price --- a rather expensive price!!! I'll take this hotel for a place to sleep at its bargain rate. Then I would take advantage of its excellent location and eat out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the pricey full Irish breakfast at this hotel. Just 50m from the hotel is Murray's Pub and Grill, which offers excellent breakfast; full Irish breakfast is half the price of what's offered in the Gresham hotel.

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Floffy
Queens, New York
Jul 19, 2014

Great Location...but...

Gave 2 seniors a room down a long hallway that was furthest from the elevators. The bed was extremely hard, uncomfortable and small (only full not queen) with pillows that were flat as a pancake. Every morning noisy birds outside our window would wake us up at the crack of dawn. BUT....the hotel IS in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Essex middleager
Leigh-on-Sea
Mar 26, 2013

Central location good

This hotel was ok for the price but we were disappointed that breakfast wasn't included as it was expensive. There was poor hot water supply to our room (important as it was freezing when we stayed) and on the final morning we had no hot water at all and had to take a cold shower - brrr! There was a draught from an air vent over the windows which allowed a very cold wind to cool the room - probably ok when the weather's warmer but a pain at 3-degrees centigrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is right by the central taxi rank - as all the taxis are good value, this is very useful, especially if the weather is bad.

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ed01
Stuttgart. Germany
Dec 17, 2013

Dublin Weekend

The hotel was in a great location and had some charm. The room was clean and comfortable but I must say that I did not have a 5 star experience. My room window faced a dirty alley that was constantly noisy and the window did not seal very well, there was a constant cold draft. The wifi internet did not work well and I could not keep a connection and at most times if would not connect at all. The breakfast buffet for 20 euro was the worst I have ever experienced, not something you would expect from a 5 start hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search