$113 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

The Gresham Hotel

4 stars
23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin, 1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
70 reviews
Downtown Dublin - Perfect

Excellent location for all our business needs. Staff were over-the-top helpful will all our tour... See full review

  • Kim Caskey
  • Jun 21, 2014
Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Dublin.

Classy but comfortable hotel. All staff very polite, bar staff super-friendly. Perfectly situated... See full review

  • ATOZ
  • May 2, 2014
Live like a star at Dublin’s best-known hotel
The Gresham, one of Dublin's best-known hotels, is located right on the city's main thoroughfare, O'Connell Street, and minutes from the River Liffey, Trinity College and other major attractions. This charming traditional building, complete with Waterford crystal chandeliers, houses modern luxury accommodations and on-site amenities such as bars, a business center and fitness room. The four-star hotel also offers deluxe conference facilities and staff to help you plan and coordinate your event.

 

Highlights
  • The four-star hotel conveniently situated on O'Connell Street
  • Penthouse suites styled to match guest celebrities who frequented the hotel
  • Deluxe conference facilities
Rooms

 The Gresham's 228 beautifully appointed guest rooms feature plush white duvets, complimentary tea- and coffee stations, interactive TV services and free Wi-Fi access. Lavery rooms have marble bathrooms with separate bath and shower and mini-fridge. Luxury suites include stunning antique decor, separate sitting room, jukebox and bathrobe and slippers. Penthouse suites are the epitome of luxury. Each is unique and offers guests special features like a fireplace, four poster bed, Jacuzzi and terrace.

Features

The Gresham Hotel is located close to most of Dublin's major attractions, entertainment, restaurants and shopping. The relaxing Writer's Lounge bar serves light refreshments and drinks. Toddy's Bar and Brasserie stays open late for those who wish to nurse a whiskey or two from the comprehensive selection. The hotel conveniently provides luggage storage, babysitting services, laundry and dry cleaning facilities, postal and package services, a doctor on call and a guest library. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available.

Transportation
  • Aircoach service outside hotel
  • Dublin bus service outside hotel
  • Parking available (fees apply)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • The Hugh Lane Gallery (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Garden of Remembrance (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • The James Joyce Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • St. Mary's Pro-Cathedral (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (.2 mi/04 km)
  • Trinity College (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (.5 mi/.7 km)
Business
  • 20 conference and meeting rooms accommodating up to 350 guests
  • Full audiovisual capabilities
  • Dedicated butler service
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary parking for up to 12 guests
  • Most rooms are wheelchair accessible
  • Conference and banquet staff available to help with all stages of event planning

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Gresham Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Gresham Hotel Rooms

Standard Double Room
Room with one double bed includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard Twin
Room with 2 single beds includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Deluxe Double
ROOM ONLY. 33 Sq. Meter bedroom with Queen sized bed, cotton duvet, Quadriga TV systems in room, with LCD TV, movies on demand, clock, music jukebox. WI-FI and wired internet access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Bathroom includes separate bath and shower areas, mist free shaving mirror, telephone. Deluxe rooms also include bathrobes and slippers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.4 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.5 mi
  • The Ark: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Gallery Restaurant
Situated to the rear of the lobby area, the Gallery is open for buffet style breakfast (from 7.00am to 10.30am Monday to Friday, open until 12noon on Saturdays and Sundays), lunch (from 12.30pm to 2.30pm Monday to Friday) and dinner (from 5.30pm to 10.30pm). Soft decor colouring and lighting provide a relaxed and elegant atmosphere, making the dining experience all the more memorable. Head Chef Declan Nolan prepares carefully presented mouth-watering dishes, different each day with a varied and intriguing Table d'Hote Menu. The restaurant comfortably seats up to 130 people, catering for early-bird diners on their way to The Gate Theatre and Abbey Theatre (each just a short stroll out the door), and last orders are at 10.30pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 10, 2011

Great value, great location

The hotel was modern, rooms and bathroom seemed newly renovated and spacious. Location was very good on a main street (O'Connell Street) within easy walking distance of all tourist attractions and lots of restaurants, shopping, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Aug 31, 2010

Great Touring Location

One of Dublin's oldest hotels, though kept up very well. Our room was clean and surprisingly of good size compared to other rooms I've seen in Europe. Amenities were fine (A/C, flatscreen TV, Hairdryer). The staff was very nice and helpful. We enjoyed the location of the hotel as it was very easy to get around Dublin (walking or bus....we mostly walked). The area is not in the most prestigious part of Dublin, however, we found it was much more accessible to everything. If you want a quiet hotel, out of the way, this is not where you should stay. It is on a very busy street and if you get overwhelmed by city traffic, people of all walks of life etc. then this hotel would not be for you. Good value and I am sure if it was located on the other side of the River it would be much more expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA.
Aug 4, 2011

Great Location, Good Value

The Gresham is very elegant on the outside, and has really nice lobbies to relax in, and the bars and restaurant are classy. Our room was ready early, clean, and decent in size for Europe. The room was a little worn here and there, but not bad. The location was superb, right on the main street of Dublin. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Mac Daddy
Business
NYC
Aug 24, 2010

the gresham, dublin

The location of The Gresham Hotel is great because it's within walking distance of all the great tourist attractions in Dublin. The hotel has an old fashioned feel and is very beautiful inside. They let us upgrade to a bigger room upon check-in and it was very spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to get a taxi or take the bus (although they are readily available) to get to the popular tourist attractions or pubs on Temple Bar. There are helpful maps in the hotel's lobby that make getting around the city on foot simple. You can take a bus that leaves right outside of the airport to get to the hotel in order to avoid paying for a cab. Touring the Guiness Factory, Jameson Factory, and various Churches are worth the price, some unbelieveable treasures are to be found among Dublin's tourist sights. Don't forget an umbrella and jacket (it was cold and rainy in August!).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cat Sass
Business
Huntington Beach CA
Aug 4, 2010

Dublin 07302010

Fantastic location in a premier old, elegant hotel. No air conditioning, so our room on O'Connell St. was occassionally noisy. Probably not a problem in winter or colder months of the year or if your room is not on the front of the hotel. Maintenance could be a little better. Our toilet was loose on the floor which proved to be a bit disconcerting at times and one of the elevators was out of service for several days. The toilet was not repaired during our stay due to the holiday weekend. Otherwise, this is a terrific hotel with reasonable pricing/good value. Breakfast is quite pricy at the Gresham, so we elected to go several steps down the street to small restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hop On Hop Off bus is right there, and the program worked very well for us. It goes to all of the major museums and sights that any tourist would like to see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
world traveler2223
Business
Akron, OH
Jun 14, 2014

wonderful hotel

The hotel was wonderful. Great location in the city. They gave us a free room upgrade for the entire week. Everyone was beyond helpful and nice. Very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pub right next door has wonderful food for half the price of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yank Invasion
Business
USA
Nov 23, 2014

Great Trip to Ireland

Great hotel in the heart of Dublin. Close to all attractions. Friendly and courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TAngo crazy
Business
Enniscorthy, Co;. Wexford
Jun 23, 2012

Theatre break

The rooms were comfortable and clean. However they are a bit on the small side - could have had the bathrooms a bit smaller and extend the size of rooms. . At least the ones we were in - they were at the back and over some kind of generator which was constantly humming... We did not have breakfast there. Also there was a €15 charge for one night in the car park. A bit steep for a resident staying just overnight. Overall it was a nice hotel but not the classy hotel it once was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winnie Wonka
Business
Dublin
Mar 5, 2013

Weekend in Dublin

On arrival, the room was cold: heating not working; trouser press not working. We were supplied with an oil filled radiator which was inadequate to heat a large room with a high ceiling. We were offered an upgrade but we accepted another room, with one complimentary breakfast. The TV in that room was 'temperamental' despite the best efforts of the staff: after 4-5 attempts to make it work, it still wasn't working on the morning we checked out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Essex middleager
Business
Leigh-on-Sea
Mar 26, 2013

Central location good

This hotel was ok for the price but we were disappointed that breakfast wasn't included as it was expensive. There was poor hot water supply to our room (important as it was freezing when we stayed) and on the final morning we had no hot water at all and had to take a cold shower - brrr! There was a draught from an air vent over the windows which allowed a very cold wind to cool the room - probably ok when the weather's warmer but a pain at 3-degrees centigrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is right by the central taxi rank - as all the taxis are good value, this is very useful, especially if the weather is bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top