$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

The Gresham Hotel

4 stars
View map of 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin, 1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sabat1jm
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Good Location, not the friendliest of staff

This hotel is in a great location and easy to get to from the airport. It is literally the first stop when taking the 10 minute, 7 euro Aircoach bus from the airport. Don't bother taking a cab. We arrived earlier than expected and were able to check in immediately which was great! The folks at the front desk were not very friendly and when there were lines, they did not acknowledge anyone in line, or say much to folks waiting (even if one of the staff members was not with another guest) There were three of us so the room was spacious enough to include an extra bed, or cot for a 3rd person. The bedrooms here only had either 1. two twin beds, or 2. a double bed. Not very good for a party of three. When we asked for a cot, they brought a Pack n' Play (Baby crib). Hilarious. When we asked for an adult folding bed, they said they did not have these and if we wanted to have the 3rd person stay it was an extra 50 euro a night and the gentlemen we spoke with was not friendly about this. Aside from that, the location and ground floor bar/restaurant are what sold this place. It is close to all the attractions on one of Dublin's main thoroughfares.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The lounge in the hotel is the perfect place to wind down the night. Sit in the cozy couches and enjoy a nightcap just steps from your room. There is also a pub right next door if you want to go somewhere more casual and tavern-esque.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CMRK
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Great time in Dublin

We stayed for five nights. Location was great. This was our second stay at the Gresham in six months. We must have gotten an upgrade during this stay as our bed was more comfortable. You could open the window in the room which was welcome as i enjoy the fresh air. Our bathroom had a separate tub and shower. I NEVER take a tub bath in a hotel but the tub was so clean and inviting I jumped in and soaked away the international flight. We had high tea one afternoon and it was great, almost too much food. Drinks at the bar were spendy but the bar was nice. Staff was very nice. Anna, in housekeeping was very helpful and located an ice bucket for us. Helped us with extra towels, etc. She's a good ambassador for the Gresham. Will stay again. See you next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Voice of Reason
Business
Surrey, UK
Apr 14, 2012

Very good hotel

A very good hotel in particularly good location. Very pleasing open areas on ground floor. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Bedroom (on 5th floor overlooking O'Connell Street) good size and comfortable with pleasant bathroom. Brasserie restaurant a bit disappointing - staff attentive but food rather bland. Hotel as booked with e-bookers was very good value but breakfast expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located just round the corner from bus stop on the airport bus number 747 route. Only E10 return.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vlad43210
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 6, 2012

great 4-star hotel

I had a really good time at the Gresham! The room was comfortable, though a bit small. The view out on the street was a bit underwhelming and the room was on the hot & stuffy side, even though the thermostat said 14C. The service was great, though, and the location was pretty much perfect, right near the town center. Overall, pretty happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WynB
Business
New York
Nov 3, 2012

Only one night but quite perfect

Very pleasant staff. Nice room. Comfortable and I could turn up the heating to suit my cold self. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Guiness Dubliner
Business
Brooklyn New York
Dec 5, 2012

The Guiness Vacation

Perfect. No complaints whatsoever. Staff great. Room great. Location great. Breakfast, bars, tea time, all great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

L'gueuleton restaurant. Absolutely great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.E.P.
Business
Dallas, TX
Feb 12, 2013

Great Stay

Had a pleasant stay at this hotel. Great location, next to hop on hop of bus stop and hop on hop off Airport stop. Walking distance to Temple Bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy 72 hour hop on hop off pass that includes bus and airport transportation round trip for 28 Euros.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MattV
Business
Lexington KY
Mar 3, 2013

Great time in Dublin

Great time at the Gresham on our honeymoon. The hotel was lovely, the staff very helpful, and walking distance to everything. Close to shopping food and drink. Temple Bar is a 10 minute walk and bus from the airport drops you right next to the hotel for 6 Euro. The pub next door had wonderful live music. The breakfast is a little pricey at 20 Euro. Overall a great stay. Would definitely stay again and suggest to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Madrigals next door for great drinks and live Irish music. Good times

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Apple Baby Boomer
Business
New York, N.Y.
Mar 3, 2013

Great Location and Even Greater Valus

Arrived for a six night stay. I would highly reccomend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
swimmom
Business
Islip, NY, USA
Apr 29, 2013

good choice

Good location. Easy airpirt access by bus. Easy walk to see the sights. Old world charm. Clean rooms. Internet accessible at no charge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top