$108 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

The Gresham Hotel

4 stars
23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin, 1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
70 reviews
Downtown Dublin - Perfect

Excellent location for all our business needs. Staff were over-the-top helpful will all our tour... See full review

  • Kim Caskey
  • Jun 21, 2014
Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Dublin.

Classy but comfortable hotel. All staff very polite, bar staff super-friendly. Perfectly situated... See full review

  • ATOZ
  • May 2, 2014
Live like a star at Dublin’s best-known hotel
The Gresham, one of Dublin's best-known hotels, is located right on the city's main thoroughfare, O'Connell Street, and minutes from the River Liffey, Trinity College and other major attractions. This charming traditional building, complete with Waterford crystal chandeliers, houses modern luxury accommodations and on-site amenities such as bars, a business center and fitness room. The four-star hotel also offers deluxe conference facilities and staff to help you plan and coordinate your event.

 

Highlights
  • The four-star hotel conveniently situated on O'Connell Street
  • Penthouse suites styled to match guest celebrities who frequented the hotel
  • Deluxe conference facilities
Rooms

 The Gresham's 228 beautifully appointed guest rooms feature plush white duvets, complimentary tea- and coffee stations, interactive TV services and free Wi-Fi access. Lavery rooms have marble bathrooms with separate bath and shower and mini-fridge. Luxury suites include stunning antique decor, separate sitting room, jukebox and bathrobe and slippers. Penthouse suites are the epitome of luxury. Each is unique and offers guests special features like a fireplace, four poster bed, Jacuzzi and terrace.

Features

The Gresham Hotel is located close to most of Dublin's major attractions, entertainment, restaurants and shopping. The relaxing Writer's Lounge bar serves light refreshments and drinks. Toddy's Bar and Brasserie stays open late for those who wish to nurse a whiskey or two from the comprehensive selection. The hotel conveniently provides luggage storage, babysitting services, laundry and dry cleaning facilities, postal and package services, a doctor on call and a guest library. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available.

Transportation
  • Aircoach service outside hotel
  • Dublin bus service outside hotel
  • Parking available (fees apply)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • The Hugh Lane Gallery (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Garden of Remembrance (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • The James Joyce Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • St. Mary's Pro-Cathedral (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (.2 mi/04 km)
  • Trinity College (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (.5 mi/.7 km)
Business
  • 20 conference and meeting rooms accommodating up to 350 guests
  • Full audiovisual capabilities
  • Dedicated butler service
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary parking for up to 12 guests
  • Most rooms are wheelchair accessible
  • Conference and banquet staff available to help with all stages of event planning

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Gresham Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Gresham Hotel Rooms

Standard Double Room
Room with one double bed includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard Twin
Room with 2 single beds includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Deluxe Double
ROOM ONLY. 33 Sq. Meter bedroom with Queen sized bed, cotton duvet, Quadriga TV systems in room, with LCD TV, movies on demand, clock, music jukebox. WI-FI and wired internet access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Bathroom includes separate bath and shower areas, mist free shaving mirror, telephone. Deluxe rooms also include bathrobes and slippers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.4 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.5 mi
  • The Ark: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Gallery Restaurant
Situated to the rear of the lobby area, the Gallery is open for buffet style breakfast (from 7.00am to 10.30am Monday to Friday, open until 12noon on Saturdays and Sundays), lunch (from 12.30pm to 2.30pm Monday to Friday) and dinner (from 5.30pm to 10.30pm). Soft decor colouring and lighting provide a relaxed and elegant atmosphere, making the dining experience all the more memorable. Head Chef Declan Nolan prepares carefully presented mouth-watering dishes, different each day with a varied and intriguing Table d'Hote Menu. The restaurant comfortably seats up to 130 people, catering for early-bird diners on their way to The Gate Theatre and Abbey Theatre (each just a short stroll out the door), and last orders are at 10.30pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Classy Lady traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 10, 2013

Dublin getaway

I love this Hotel, I will definitely stay here when I go back to Dublin. It was a great location walking distance to Temple Bar area and the Hop on hop off bus is just around the corner. The Hotel Lobby is a great place to hang out and have a drink, or relax and have the tea service. The food was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
British Wonderer
Business
England
Mar 23, 2014

Excellent Location

I had passed the Gresham Hotel on a number of visits to Dublin and thought it would a pleasant hotel to stay in, if I ever had the opportunity. How wonderfully surprised I was when I decided to book a room for our visit. From arrival to departure all of the staff were attentive, courteous and responsive. The room was really nice and the food beautifully prepared and served. We would be happy to book a room in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mauram
Business
Norhern Ireland
Apr 30, 2014

Loved it

Stayed in the Gresham Sudnay 27t April. On arrival the receptionist was very helpfefull, expecially when i asked for a room facing O'Connell Street. My room was on the 1st floor, was quite big and newly refurbished. Beds were comfortable and had a great nights sleep. Had all the little extras in the bathroom that can be so easily forgotten. It also had the dressing gowns and slippers, nice touch. My only fault for the room, was the hairdryer, i like hairdryers to have a nozzle, but it still did the job, so not too big an issue. The Gresham has the pefect location, right in O'Connell Street, really handy for everything. I will definitely be back and stay longer next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ATOZ
Business
West Yorkshire
May 2, 2014

Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Dublin.

Classy but comfortable hotel. All staff very polite, bar staff super-friendly. Perfectly situated in the thick of things. Cannot say anything negative about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Forget taxis to/from hotel. Get a coach from the airport - it stops immediately outside hotel, pick-up is directly across the road and runs every 15 mins (cost 7 euros each way).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 23, 2010

Awesome St. Patty's experience

After traveling through Paris and London, this hotel had 5 times the quality of room for the same price. Location was excellent, right in the middle of city center. The evening were noisy, but since it was St. Patrick's day, we were kind of expecting it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Dublin Bus Company "hop on, hop off" tours pick up right down the street. This is the best way to see the city and spend an hour or two at various sites. St. Patricks, Christchurch, Guiness and Trinity college are all on the route. Ask the concierges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim Caskey
Business
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Jun 21, 2014

Downtown Dublin - Perfect

Excellent location for all our business needs. Staff were over-the-top helpful will all our tour hosting needs. THANK YOU!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the MOST excellent shoe store just minutes away! Barratts?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired but happy
Business
London
Sep 19, 2010

Great location and easy access

Had a great first time visit to Dublin. The Gresham was a really good location for getting anywhere around the City. We walked miles - to the Guinness store and also to Kilmainham Jail. It was all easily accesible from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The live music in Temple Bar area was just brilliant. We saw four differnt bands on two nights. the Gresham Hotel was a great location to get easily to and from the area safely at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sabat1jm
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Good Location, not the friendliest of staff

This hotel is in a great location and easy to get to from the airport. It is literally the first stop when taking the 10 minute, 7 euro Aircoach bus from the airport. Don't bother taking a cab. We arrived earlier than expected and were able to check in immediately which was great! The folks at the front desk were not very friendly and when there were lines, they did not acknowledge anyone in line, or say much to folks waiting (even if one of the staff members was not with another guest) There were three of us so the room was spacious enough to include an extra bed, or cot for a 3rd person. The bedrooms here only had either 1. two twin beds, or 2. a double bed. Not very good for a party of three. When we asked for a cot, they brought a Pack n' Play (Baby crib). Hilarious. When we asked for an adult folding bed, they said they did not have these and if we wanted to have the 3rd person stay it was an extra 50 euro a night and the gentlemen we spoke with was not friendly about this. Aside from that, the location and ground floor bar/restaurant are what sold this place. It is close to all the attractions on one of Dublin's main thoroughfares.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The lounge in the hotel is the perfect place to wind down the night. Sit in the cozy couches and enjoy a nightcap just steps from your room. There is also a pub right next door if you want to go somewhere more casual and tavern-esque.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CMRK
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Great time in Dublin

We stayed for five nights. Location was great. This was our second stay at the Gresham in six months. We must have gotten an upgrade during this stay as our bed was more comfortable. You could open the window in the room which was welcome as i enjoy the fresh air. Our bathroom had a separate tub and shower. I NEVER take a tub bath in a hotel but the tub was so clean and inviting I jumped in and soaked away the international flight. We had high tea one afternoon and it was great, almost too much food. Drinks at the bar were spendy but the bar was nice. Staff was very nice. Anna, in housekeeping was very helpful and located an ice bucket for us. Helped us with extra towels, etc. She's a good ambassador for the Gresham. Will stay again. See you next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Voice of Reason
Business
Surrey, UK
Apr 14, 2012

Very good hotel

A very good hotel in particularly good location. Very pleasing open areas on ground floor. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Bedroom (on 5th floor overlooking O'Connell Street) good size and comfortable with pleasant bathroom. Brasserie restaurant a bit disappointing - staff attentive but food rather bland. Hotel as booked with e-bookers was very good value but breakfast expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located just round the corner from bus stop on the airport bus number 747 route. Only E10 return.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top