$122 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

The Gresham Hotel

4 stars
23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
69 reviews
Downtown Dublin - Perfect

Excellent location for all our business needs. Staff were over-the-top helpful will all our tour... See full review

  • Kim Caskey
  • Jun 21, 2014
Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Dublin.

Classy but comfortable hotel. All staff very polite, bar staff super-friendly. Perfectly situated... See full review

  • ATOZ
  • May 2, 2014
Live like a star at Dublin’s best-known hotel
The Gresham, one of Dublin's best-known hotels, is located right on the city's main thoroughfare, O'Connell Street, and minutes from the River Liffey, Trinity College and other major attractions. This charming traditional building, complete with Waterford crystal chandeliers, houses modern luxury accommodations and on-site amenities such as bars, a business center and fitness room. The four-star hotel also offers deluxe conference facilities and staff to help you plan and coordinate your event.

 

Highlights
  • The four-star hotel conveniently situated on O'Connell Street
  • Penthouse suites styled to match guest celebrities who frequented the hotel
  • Deluxe conference facilities
Rooms

 The Gresham's 228 beautifully appointed guest rooms feature plush white duvets, complimentary tea- and coffee stations, interactive TV services and free Wi-Fi access. Lavery rooms have marble bathrooms with separate bath and shower and mini-fridge. Luxury suites include stunning antique decor, separate sitting room, jukebox and bathrobe and slippers. Penthouse suites are the epitome of luxury. Each is unique and offers guests special features like a fireplace, four poster bed, Jacuzzi and terrace.

Features

The Gresham Hotel is located close to most of Dublin's major attractions, entertainment, restaurants and shopping. The relaxing Writer's Lounge bar serves light refreshments and drinks. Toddy's Bar and Brasserie stays open late for those who wish to nurse a whiskey or two from the comprehensive selection. The hotel conveniently provides luggage storage, babysitting services, laundry and dry cleaning facilities, postal and package services, a doctor on call and a guest library. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available.

Transportation
  • Aircoach service outside hotel
  • Dublin bus service outside hotel
  • Parking available (fees apply)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • The Hugh Lane Gallery (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Garden of Remembrance (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • The James Joyce Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • St. Mary's Pro-Cathedral (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (.2 mi/04 km)
  • Trinity College (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (.5 mi/.7 km)
Business
  • 20 conference and meeting rooms accommodating up to 350 guests
  • Full audiovisual capabilities
  • Dedicated butler service
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary parking for up to 12 guests
  • Most rooms are wheelchair accessible
  • Conference and banquet staff available to help with all stages of event planning

Hotel Map

53.3519 -6.2606
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
Located in Dublin City Centre, on O'Connell Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Gresham Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Gresham Hotel Rooms

Standard Double Room
Room with one double bed includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard Twin
Room with 2 single beds includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Deluxe Double
ROOM ONLY. 33 Sq. Meter bedroom with Queen sized bed, cotton duvet, Quadriga TV systems in room, with LCD TV, movies on demand, clock, music jukebox. WI-FI and wired internet access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Bathroom includes separate bath and shower areas, mist free shaving mirror, telephone. Deluxe rooms also include bathrobes and slippers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.4 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.5 mi
  • The Ark: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Gallery Restaurant
Situated to the rear of the lobby area, the Gallery is open for buffet style breakfast (from 7.00am to 10.30am Monday to Friday, open until 12noon on Saturdays and Sundays), lunch (from 12.30pm to 2.30pm Monday to Friday) and dinner (from 5.30pm to 10.30pm). Soft decor colouring and lighting provide a relaxed and elegant atmosphere, making the dining experience all the more memorable. Head Chef Declan Nolan prepares carefully presented mouth-watering dishes, different each day with a varied and intriguing Table d'Hote Menu. The restaurant comfortably seats up to 130 people, catering for early-bird diners on their way to The Gate Theatre and Abbey Theatre (each just a short stroll out the door), and last orders are at 10.30pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 69
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
steinanwine
Chicago
Apr 22, 2014

Decent but NOT a 4 star hotel

I'm not a snob about hotels. I need a nice, clean and warm place to sleep. The Gresham was all of those things but it's been billed as 4 stars. It is certainly not a 4 star hotel, it is just 3 stars, if that. The room itself while clean, including the bathroom, was drab and just meh. Again, I don't need chandeliers and glittery sheets but I was underwhelmed since its supposedly a 4 star place. The beds were springy and pretty uncomfortable but still clean. The bathroom had nice hot water and good water pressure but their toiletries they offered were of below average quality and they did not even have conditioner. The tape seal on my shampoo was already broken (do not use if seal is broken) which I only realized after I was in the shower. The shampoo is also labeled as moisturizing. I assure you it is not. The exterior and lobby of the hotel are nice but misleading. The rooms do not reflect the same grandeur as the exterior of the hotel. Staff was friendly and the location is pretty good but thats mostly considering that Dublin is not a huge city so as long as you are somewhere in the city you're probably near everything you want to see. It was fine for our one night stay and I didn't feel dirty or taken advantage of but this place was a bit expensive for what it actually was and is just definitely not 4 stars, at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patsi
Pennsylvania
Sep 19, 2013

Great Location

We stayed at the Gresham Hotel for three days and enjoyed our stay. Some problems arose during our visit but the staff solved them right away. The mattress was too hard for me. Also loved the key light switch thing. Great idea. Never saw that before. Our Afternoon tea on Tuesday was lovely and our waitress was very sweet. Most of the servers were friendly and helpful. I would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

We ate there all three nights and tried all the dinning areas. All were very good and it was nice not to have to walk around in the rain. It rained a lot the week we were there...welcome to Ireland!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeW10
Ohio
Jul 8, 2013

Gresham dublin

Great location in center of city. Staff was very helpful/friendly. Only down side was the view out my window. I was on the back side of the hotel and the view was a grey brick wall. We were very near an alley vagrants hung out and they were very loud at night. Vagrants were not the hotels fault.......... I would stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Stay out of Temple Bar area if you want a good I dish pub experience. That place is built for tourists....... Do go to Oneills though. That pub is amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skittercat
New York
May 23, 2013

Lovely experience- pricey tea.

Pricey tea- that's the only negative thing I can say about this hotel. Room was quiet, clean. Shower was hot. Beds were cozy. And it was very smooth checking in and out. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kells98
Philadelphia, PA
May 5, 2013

Perfect Home-base for Exploring Dublin

We had a wonderful time in Dublin. The location of this hotel was a perfect jumping off point for exploration around the city. The standard double room was clean, with more than adequate space for two adults. And the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vivian from Miami
Miani, Fl
Mar 25, 2013

Amazing!

Truly a 4-start hotel with very helpful staff. I was pleasantly surprise with the size of the room and the bathroom. It also has an amazing location in O’ Connell St., walking distance from the nightlife in Temple Bar but “far” and quiet enough when you want to relax and sleep. I would definitely stay there again if I ever go back to Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If traveling by air book the Air Link from Dublin airport to the hotel. Only 7 euros and the bus stop is right in front of the hotel..seriously! Only 10 steps from the door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Apple Baby Boomer
New York, N.Y.
Mar 3, 2013

Great Location and Even Greater Valus

Arrived for a six night stay. I would highly reccomend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark Loves the Scottish
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Jan 14, 2013

Excellent Hotel

Great staff, friendly,helpful. If anything needed to be better, it would be the air flow on the fifth floor room we stayed, room was very warm even without the heat on and window opened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TAngo crazy
Enniscorthy, Co;. Wexford
Jun 23, 2012

Theatre break

The rooms were comfortable and clean. However they are a bit on the small side - could have had the bathrooms a bit smaller and extend the size of rooms. . At least the ones we were in - they were at the back and over some kind of generator which was constantly humming... We did not have breakfast there. Also there was a €15 charge for one night in the car park. A bit steep for a resident staying just overnight. Overall it was a nice hotel but not the classy hotel it once was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sabat1jm
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Good Location, not the friendliest of staff

This hotel is in a great location and easy to get to from the airport. It is literally the first stop when taking the 10 minute, 7 euro Aircoach bus from the airport. Don't bother taking a cab. We arrived earlier than expected and were able to check in immediately which was great! The folks at the front desk were not very friendly and when there were lines, they did not acknowledge anyone in line, or say much to folks waiting (even if one of the staff members was not with another guest) There were three of us so the room was spacious enough to include an extra bed, or cot for a 3rd person. The bedrooms here only had either 1. two twin beds, or 2. a double bed. Not very good for a party of three. When we asked for a cot, they brought a Pack n' Play (Baby crib). Hilarious. When we asked for an adult folding bed, they said they did not have these and if we wanted to have the 3rd person stay it was an extra 50 euro a night and the gentlemen we spoke with was not friendly about this. Aside from that, the location and ground floor bar/restaurant are what sold this place. It is close to all the attractions on one of Dublin's main thoroughfares.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The lounge in the hotel is the perfect place to wind down the night. Sit in the cozy couches and enjoy a nightcap just steps from your room. There is also a pub right next door if you want to go somewhere more casual and tavern-esque.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search