$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

The Gresham Hotel

4 stars
View map of 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin, 1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaguar Skills
Couples
England
Feb 4, 2014

30th Birthday

Staff were very friendly. The hotel was very clean, had a nice bar and seating area for drinks, and the location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. Your pretty much close to everything you would want to do! Also Muhammad Ali stayed there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right outside the hotel you can catch one of the Dublin tour buses - it takes you to pretty much everywhere you want to go and you can use the same ticket the next day - saves on taxi fares :-)

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ed01
Single
Stuttgart. Germany
Dec 17, 2013

Dublin Weekend

The hotel was in a great location and had some charm. The room was clean and comfortable but I must say that I did not have a 5 star experience. My room window faced a dirty alley that was constantly noisy and the window did not seal very well, there was a constant cold draft. The wifi internet did not work well and I could not keep a connection and at most times if would not connect at all. The breakfast buffet for 20 euro was the worst I have ever experienced, not something you would expect from a 5 start hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelGuy77
Couples
NY
Oct 8, 2013

Quick Trip to Ireland

The hotel is upgrading some rooms and not others. I was in 2 seperate rooms during my trip. One was upgraded and the other wasn't. The upgraded one was much nicer and more acceptible. My shower in the orig room as not really working properly and the beds were not that comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mlssrvs
Single
Evanston, IL
Oct 8, 2013

Nice hotel, pricey but in line for the location.

I had a nice stay at the Gresham. The lobby areas are well appointed. The rooms had all the right amenities and were good sized. The only issue I encountered was someone pulled a fire alarm at 3am on saturday night/sunday morning so we all the hotel guests had to trek out to the streets in our PJs. This is obviously not the hotels fault but it definitely did damper my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

all walking distance or a short cab ride away Saba - Thai food Temple bar area for drinking

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patsi
Friends
Pennsylvania
Sep 19, 2013

Great Location

We stayed at the Gresham Hotel for three days and enjoyed our stay. Some problems arose during our visit but the staff solved them right away. The mattress was too hard for me. Also loved the key light switch thing. Great idea. Never saw that before. Our Afternoon tea on Tuesday was lovely and our waitress was very sweet. Most of the servers were friendly and helpful. I would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

We ate there all three nights and tried all the dinning areas. All were very good and it was nice not to have to walk around in the rain. It rained a lot the week we were there...welcome to Ireland!

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Glys
Single
Tampa, FL
Sep 18, 2013

Lovely room, broken water

I really enjoyed the room and the convenience of the location. Unfortunately, that was combined with a broken water heater that had water from all faucets (shower, bath, sink) set to scalding for the latter two days of my visit. Also, the restaurant is really disappointing. I ate really well in Dublin, except at the hotel. That said, the room was lovely and comfortable and I could walk every where.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Winding Stair down by the Liffey

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Classy Lady traveler
Single
Los Angeles, California
Sep 10, 2013

Dublin getaway

I love this Hotel, I will definitely stay here when I go back to Dublin. It was a great location walking distance to Temple Bar area and the Hop on hop off bus is just around the corner. The Hotel Lobby is a great place to hang out and have a drink, or relax and have the tea service. The food was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelSavvy
Couples
Ireland
Aug 30, 2013

Excellent location! Best Deal at Bargain Price ... Expensive at its regular rate!!!

Location is excellent. The hotel is in a central location and in strategically located. It is right on O'Connell street, Dublin's main street, right in the heart of the city center. City bus stops and tourist bus stops right in front of the hotel, including the 24hr Airport coach. Taxis right in front of the hotel. The luas (tram) is a short walk, about 100meters away. Well lit, safe location to return to after a night out in the city. A good selection and variety of places to eat just a short stroll away. Booked this hotel at its bargain rate of 125.00 USD. This is a very good rate (year 2013) for a hotel in Dublin city center. If you can get it anywhere near this rate, look no further and book this hotel. At its regular rate, it is expensive, so I would think twice and quite possibly look elsewhere. The standard double rooms small, just enough to fit the bed, although they are suited for a decent good night's sleep and the bathroom is clean and very presentable. I'll bet the upper class rooms are much more spacious and opulent (as they should be for their more expensive prices!!!). Any additional perks come at a price --- a rather expensive price!!! I'll take this hotel for a place to sleep at its bargain rate. Then I would take advantage of its excellent location and eat out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the pricey full Irish breakfast at this hotel. Just 50m from the hotel is Murray's Pub and Grill, which offers excellent breakfast; full Irish breakfast is half the price of what's offered in the Gresham hotel.

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laww
Family
Brooklyn, New York
Aug 24, 2013

Average!

The hotel was nice, though very old. A number of family stayed here and all of the rooms were different. My room was huge, but had no AC and it was hot :(. This was probably the worst part of the stay, though we were given a fan, but had to leave the windows wide open (with no screens), causing bugs to fly in. My brothers room had an AC but was so small you could barely open the door and walk through with your luggage. The rooms were fortunately kept clean, though many channels on the TV did not work. The location is probably its best attribute, right in the heart of Dublin, a nice walking distance to Temple Bar and Graffton Street. Some of the staff and bartenders were very nice and friendly as well, and the lobby and bar area were very pretty. Unfortunately the drinks were pricey & durin late hours when there was no food service, you were not allowed to bring outside food in. Overall, the hotel served its purpose and the rooms were clean,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hop on/hop off bus is definitely something all visitors should do. Go to the jail first, as tours book up quickly and it is definitely worth seeing! The Jameson brewery is another great tour and everyone enjoyed the Guinness tour, though Jameson was better. Definitely go for a walk around Graffton street and do some shopping; you never know what performers you will find!

Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flier
Couples
UK
Jul 31, 2013

weekend break

had a wonderful time - excellent position for sight seeing and the hotel staff were really good. Airport bus stops straight outside. only thing was the room was really hot - no air conditioning but when we asked a fan one was brought to the room within minutes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good breakfast available just up the road at several cafes for between 5 - 7 euros

Back to menu Return to top