$108 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

The Gresham Hotel

4 stars
23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin, 1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
70 reviews
Downtown Dublin - Perfect

Excellent location for all our business needs. Staff were over-the-top helpful will all our tour... See full review

  • Kim Caskey
  • Jun 21, 2014
Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Dublin.

Classy but comfortable hotel. All staff very polite, bar staff super-friendly. Perfectly situated... See full review

  • ATOZ
  • May 2, 2014
Live like a star at Dublin’s best-known hotel
The Gresham, one of Dublin's best-known hotels, is located right on the city's main thoroughfare, O'Connell Street, and minutes from the River Liffey, Trinity College and other major attractions. This charming traditional building, complete with Waterford crystal chandeliers, houses modern luxury accommodations and on-site amenities such as bars, a business center and fitness room. The four-star hotel also offers deluxe conference facilities and staff to help you plan and coordinate your event.

 

Highlights
  • The four-star hotel conveniently situated on O'Connell Street
  • Penthouse suites styled to match guest celebrities who frequented the hotel
  • Deluxe conference facilities
Rooms

 The Gresham's 228 beautifully appointed guest rooms feature plush white duvets, complimentary tea- and coffee stations, interactive TV services and free Wi-Fi access. Lavery rooms have marble bathrooms with separate bath and shower and mini-fridge. Luxury suites include stunning antique decor, separate sitting room, jukebox and bathrobe and slippers. Penthouse suites are the epitome of luxury. Each is unique and offers guests special features like a fireplace, four poster bed, Jacuzzi and terrace.

Features

The Gresham Hotel is located close to most of Dublin's major attractions, entertainment, restaurants and shopping. The relaxing Writer's Lounge bar serves light refreshments and drinks. Toddy's Bar and Brasserie stays open late for those who wish to nurse a whiskey or two from the comprehensive selection. The hotel conveniently provides luggage storage, babysitting services, laundry and dry cleaning facilities, postal and package services, a doctor on call and a guest library. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available.

Transportation
  • Aircoach service outside hotel
  • Dublin bus service outside hotel
  • Parking available (fees apply)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • The Hugh Lane Gallery (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Garden of Remembrance (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • The James Joyce Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • St. Mary's Pro-Cathedral (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (.2 mi/04 km)
  • Trinity College (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (.5 mi/.7 km)
Business
  • 20 conference and meeting rooms accommodating up to 350 guests
  • Full audiovisual capabilities
  • Dedicated butler service
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary parking for up to 12 guests
  • Most rooms are wheelchair accessible
  • Conference and banquet staff available to help with all stages of event planning

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Gresham Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Gresham Hotel Rooms

Standard Double Room
Room with one double bed includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard Twin
Room with 2 single beds includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Deluxe Double
ROOM ONLY. 33 Sq. Meter bedroom with Queen sized bed, cotton duvet, Quadriga TV systems in room, with LCD TV, movies on demand, clock, music jukebox. WI-FI and wired internet access complimentary in all rooms. Air conditioning, room safe, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, separate writing desk, blackout lined curtains, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Bathroom includes separate bath and shower areas, mist free shaving mirror, telephone. Deluxe rooms also include bathrobes and slippers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.4 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.5 mi
  • The Ark: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Gallery Restaurant
Situated to the rear of the lobby area, the Gallery is open for buffet style breakfast (from 7.00am to 10.30am Monday to Friday, open until 12noon on Saturdays and Sundays), lunch (from 12.30pm to 2.30pm Monday to Friday) and dinner (from 5.30pm to 10.30pm). Soft decor colouring and lighting provide a relaxed and elegant atmosphere, making the dining experience all the more memorable. Head Chef Declan Nolan prepares carefully presented mouth-watering dishes, different each day with a varied and intriguing Table d'Hote Menu. The restaurant comfortably seats up to 130 people, catering for early-bird diners on their way to The Gate Theatre and Abbey Theatre (each just a short stroll out the door), and last orders are at 10.30pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Iced lady
Business
Dundalk
Feb 19, 2014

Very cold room

When we arrived there was no heating on in the room We had to ask them to look at it which they did Very quickly, but after a few minutes it went Off again. Asked again and they got it Working, but the bathroom was freezing no Heating at all. Very disappointing for the Price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaguar Skills
Business
England
Feb 4, 2014

30th Birthday

Staff were very friendly. The hotel was very clean, had a nice bar and seating area for drinks, and the location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. Your pretty much close to everything you would want to do! Also Muhammad Ali stayed there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right outside the hotel you can catch one of the Dublin tour buses - it takes you to pretty much everywhere you want to go and you can use the same ticket the next day - saves on taxi fares :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ed01
Business
Stuttgart. Germany
Dec 17, 2013

Dublin Weekend

The hotel was in a great location and had some charm. The room was clean and comfortable but I must say that I did not have a 5 star experience. My room window faced a dirty alley that was constantly noisy and the window did not seal very well, there was a constant cold draft. The wifi internet did not work well and I could not keep a connection and at most times if would not connect at all. The breakfast buffet for 20 euro was the worst I have ever experienced, not something you would expect from a 5 start hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelGuy77
Business
NY
Oct 8, 2013

Quick Trip to Ireland

The hotel is upgrading some rooms and not others. I was in 2 seperate rooms during my trip. One was upgraded and the other wasn't. The upgraded one was much nicer and more acceptible. My shower in the orig room as not really working properly and the beds were not that comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mlssrvs
Business
Evanston, IL
Oct 8, 2013

Nice hotel, pricey but in line for the location.

I had a nice stay at the Gresham. The lobby areas are well appointed. The rooms had all the right amenities and were good sized. The only issue I encountered was someone pulled a fire alarm at 3am on saturday night/sunday morning so we all the hotel guests had to trek out to the streets in our PJs. This is obviously not the hotels fault but it definitely did damper my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

all walking distance or a short cab ride away Saba - Thai food Temple bar area for drinking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patsi
Business
Pennsylvania
Sep 19, 2013

Great Location

We stayed at the Gresham Hotel for three days and enjoyed our stay. Some problems arose during our visit but the staff solved them right away. The mattress was too hard for me. Also loved the key light switch thing. Great idea. Never saw that before. Our Afternoon tea on Tuesday was lovely and our waitress was very sweet. Most of the servers were friendly and helpful. I would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We ate there all three nights and tried all the dinning areas. All were very good and it was nice not to have to walk around in the rain. It rained a lot the week we were there...welcome to Ireland!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Glys
Business
Tampa, FL
Sep 18, 2013

Lovely room, broken water

I really enjoyed the room and the convenience of the location. Unfortunately, that was combined with a broken water heater that had water from all faucets (shower, bath, sink) set to scalding for the latter two days of my visit. Also, the restaurant is really disappointing. I ate really well in Dublin, except at the hotel. That said, the room was lovely and comfortable and I could walk every where.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Winding Stair down by the Liffey

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Classy Lady traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 10, 2013

Dublin getaway

I love this Hotel, I will definitely stay here when I go back to Dublin. It was a great location walking distance to Temple Bar area and the Hop on hop off bus is just around the corner. The Hotel Lobby is a great place to hang out and have a drink, or relax and have the tea service. The food was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelSavvy
Business
Ireland
Aug 30, 2013

Excellent location! Best Deal at Bargain Price ... Expensive at its regular rate!!!

Location is excellent. The hotel is in a central location and in strategically located. It is right on O'Connell street, Dublin's main street, right in the heart of the city center. City bus stops and tourist bus stops right in front of the hotel, including the 24hr Airport coach. Taxis right in front of the hotel. The luas (tram) is a short walk, about 100meters away. Well lit, safe location to return to after a night out in the city. A good selection and variety of places to eat just a short stroll away. Booked this hotel at its bargain rate of 125.00 USD. This is a very good rate (year 2013) for a hotel in Dublin city center. If you can get it anywhere near this rate, look no further and book this hotel. At its regular rate, it is expensive, so I would think twice and quite possibly look elsewhere. The standard double rooms small, just enough to fit the bed, although they are suited for a decent good night's sleep and the bathroom is clean and very presentable. I'll bet the upper class rooms are much more spacious and opulent (as they should be for their more expensive prices!!!). Any additional perks come at a price --- a rather expensive price!!! I'll take this hotel for a place to sleep at its bargain rate. Then I would take advantage of its excellent location and eat out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the pricey full Irish breakfast at this hotel. Just 50m from the hotel is Murray's Pub and Grill, which offers excellent breakfast; full Irish breakfast is half the price of what's offered in the Gresham hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laww
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Aug 24, 2013

Average!

The hotel was nice, though very old. A number of family stayed here and all of the rooms were different. My room was huge, but had no AC and it was hot :(. This was probably the worst part of the stay, though we were given a fan, but had to leave the windows wide open (with no screens), causing bugs to fly in. My brothers room had an AC but was so small you could barely open the door and walk through with your luggage. The rooms were fortunately kept clean, though many channels on the TV did not work. The location is probably its best attribute, right in the heart of Dublin, a nice walking distance to Temple Bar and Graffton Street. Some of the staff and bartenders were very nice and friendly as well, and the lobby and bar area were very pretty. Unfortunately the drinks were pricey & durin late hours when there was no food service, you were not allowed to bring outside food in. Overall, the hotel served its purpose and the rooms were clean,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hop on/hop off bus is definitely something all visitors should do. Go to the jail first, as tours book up quickly and it is definitely worth seeing! The Jameson brewery is another great tour and everyone enjoyed the Guinness tour, though Jameson was better. Definitely go for a walk around Graffton street and do some shopping; you never know what performers you will find!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top