$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

The Gibson Hotel

4 stars
View map of Point Village, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Gibson Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Comandanteamigo
Business
Whitehead, Co Antrim
Feb 5, 2014

Modern vibe, old fashioned welcome.

Really enjoyed two nights in The Gibson at start of February. Check in slick. Bar food was good and service exemplary. Room very comfortable with air con, usual tea and coffee available, iron, ironing board and a massive shower cubicle. A nice touch was the opportunity to make your own posey of floating flowers to take to your room. LUAS tram terminus at the front door is a bonus to get into city centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the LUAS flexi ticket for unlimited journeys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stoned
Business
Belfast
Nov 4, 2013

Perfect Concert Hotel

Location, Location, Location. -At the end of the M1 Port Tunnel. Beside the O2 venue and at the end of the LUAS Tram line. Rooms large, airy, bright and well equipped. Great shower. The only thing we found lacking was that there were no face cloths.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave1960
Business
Coventry, England
Aug 9, 2013

Short break for 2

Location was fine if in an industrial and developing area. Excellent tram link right outside to the centre of Dublin. Excellent hotel with helpful and attentive staff. Breakfast a little disappointing for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check day tickets against individual trip tickets on the trams.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Regis B.
Business
New York, NY
Jun 27, 2013

Love Ireland!

Clean, modern hotel not far from the center. Excellent base to explore Dublin and environs. Highly suggest trips to explore Ireland. What a beautiful country!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OmegaRED
Business
Ipswich, England
Jun 18, 2013

Fantastic Hotel - Will Recomend

The Gibson is a really nice hotel with very friendly and efficient staff. It is clean, airy and modern with a very good location and easy access to Dublin city. My only disappointment was the food in the restaurant where the quality and presentation do not come close to matching the rather high prices charged. Had the restaurant staff not been so friendly and polite I would have sent my food back to the kitchen and declined to pay for it. I will definitely stay at the Gibson again but unless there is a drastic improvement between now and then I will avoid their restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The green Dublin hop-on-hop-off busses offer two days for the price of one. If you arrive in Dublin mid-day I suggest you head into the city, buy a ticket and stay on the bus for the whole 90 minute guided trip and go back the next day to see the attractions that interested you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ambear
Business
Revere, MA
Jun 5, 2013

Awesome stay!

The location is a bit of a walk from city centre but I needed it with all the delicious food we were eating! Right next to the O2 and a tram is directly outside the hotel to take you to city centre! Definitely recommend eating at the oarsman for a great fish n chips, totally share worthy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Oarsman!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Radio Man
Business
Ireland
May 20, 2013

Overnight for Show at O2

Very Good, Staff were Excellent as were Facilities in Room. Food also very good. Location is ideal for O2 Events.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New to Dublin
Business
Dublin
Mar 20, 2013

We keep coming back

The Gibson is modern, spacious, comfortable & has everything you need in one place. The restaurant has food for every taste - the breakfast buffet is great. We have stayed here 5 times now - whenever we want a night out in Dublin - the weekend rates are usually great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
selimap
Business
Cardiff, Wales
Sep 18, 2012

Pretty good, would stay again.

I got a very good flight and hotel deal. I chose the Gibson because of favourable reviews higher, first stop on airport express buses and Luas tram terminal outside the hotel taking you fast to and form city centre till well after midnight. Hotel met all expectations. It is very stylish but this is not (as in some other hotels) at the expense of practicality. Room was spacious and comfortable and very quiet, with good blackout curtains - we slept well. It opened on to a 3rd floor open courtyard. Plenty of storage space, good lighting. Free wifi worked well. Toiletries nice, basic tea and coffee provided (no biscuits or snacks). There were a few minor points that could improve and as a result I can't quite give a 5 though it would get at least 4.5: - In the bedroom the information booklets are in a sunken 'drawer' with a glass lid to access. The glass lid is heavy and painful when it falls on your hand, as I discovered. The lid in our room did not stay open even when lifted fully. - The information booklet is full of items for which they invite you to call 'guest relations'. We never saw anyone on the 'guest relations desk and the extension was answered, after a very long time, by a busy receptionist. The information she gave us was actually wrong in several ways. For example 'Catch the Luas to O'Connell Street' - there is no stop called O'Connell Street, you need to alight at the Abbey Street stop to get to O'Connell Street. Visitors might not know that. - There was a frosted glass panel between the bedroom and bathroom. This means that if the bathroom light is put on (essential to use a windowless room), the light will shine into the bedroom and may disturb anyone trying to sleep. - The tap water really didn't taste that good. A complimentary bottle in the room marked 'sparkling' (or 'carbonated') turned out to be filled with tap water - why bother?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk along the tram lines and you will come to some small shops and about 10 minutes away a nice looking cafe where you could have a cheaper or lighter breakfast than the Gibson's, I think it is at the start of Mayor Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EarthFriendly
Business
Nashville, Tennessee
Aug 16, 2012

Convenient, well run, "Green" hotel

Spent 11 nights at The Gibson while visiting our daughter during her summer internship in Dublin. If this hotel is typical of new hotel construction in Europe, then they are ahead of the USA in environmentally sustainable hotel building practices. Perfect location at The Point Depot for taking the affordable light rail tram (Luas) into the center of Dublin and first-stop round trip bus transportation from Dublin Airport (via AirCoach--purchase online in advance). The standard room is a good size, with excellent foam top mattress, nice clean duvet with covering that is changed for each new guest, and an amazing shower. The frosted glass window between the bedroom and shower is to allow natural light into an otherwise windowless bathroom. We were there a day before we discovered a second built-in closet (next to the hall door) for additional hanging clothes that also contained a digital safe for valuables. Ask for a room price plan that includes the full Irish breakfast buffet. More items than one could want at a 15 Euro cost per person--if not included in the plan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Dublin's weather is cool and wet most of the year so pack accordingly. Women in particular tend to dress-up at night, but often carry a bag with practical shoes for walking on wet cobblestone streets. Enjoy a pint at The Temple Bar, hit Dicey's Garden on Tuesday nights for 2-euro drinks and food, shop for a hand-loomed tweed jacket on Nassau Street. Keep a smile on your face and explore one of the coolest cities on the planet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top