$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

5 stars
STILLORGAN ROAD, DUBLIN, 4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
22 reviews
Check Out Experience

We had a wonderful four night stay in this hotel and we were very happy with room, price and... See full review

  • Westmeath Dude
  • May 13, 2014
Nice place with nice staff

Good rooms and located near ucd On the airlink line and not far from city centre See full review

  • Joelmama
  • Oct 29, 2013
Comfort and style overlooking a large formal garden
St. Helen's is a historic house with grand formal gardens three miles south of Dublin's city center. Radisson Blu St. Helen's combines Victorian splendor with modern features in guest rooms, all of which overlook the four-acre gardens, some with private balconies. Find a variety of on-site dining options including a glass conservatory home to Orangerie Bar & Ballroom Lounge. Talavera Restaurant serves Ireland's best Italian cuisine in a fireplace dining room and Le Panto is perfect for Sunday lunch.  Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi in rooms.

 

Highlights
  • Large Victorian house set on four acres of carefully restored and tended formal gardens
  • Delightful bar and many restaurants
  • Rooms feature views of the gardens, Dublin Bay and Wicklow Mountains
Rooms
The hotel's 151 rooms all offer views of the gardens as well as Dublin Bay and the Wicklow Mountains. The air-conditioned deluxe rooms offer traditional décor in a spotless modern setting. All rooms have complimentary wireless Internet service, mini bar, Egyptian cotton sheets, laptop safes, LCD TV with movie channels and tea and coffee station. Business class suites offer separate sleeping areas, breakfast buffet, bathrobes and some feature private balconies.
Features

The Orangerie Bar & Ballroom Lounge offers a splendid setting on the second floor of a Victorian glass conservatory. Find light fare and modern drinks set amongst lush plants. Talavera Restaurant offers Ireland's best Italian food in a dining room with a fireplace. Le Panto restaurant overlooks the gardens and serves Sunday lunch featuring local produce. The hotel also houses a beauty salon and fitness center. Guests enjoy three-hour express laundry service and complimentary parking.

Transportation
  • Aircoach stop (3 minute walk)
  • Dublin bus service (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • DART train service (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Leopardstown Race Course (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Aviva Stadium (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Grand Canal Theater (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Trinity College (3.7 mi/6 km)
Business
  • 11 meeting rooms can accommodate up to 350 people
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
  • Catering available
  • Excellent audiovisual equipment
  • Le Panto restaurant available for meetings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Donnybrook: 0.4 mi
  • RDS Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.7 mi
  • University College Dublin: 0.7 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 1.2 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • National Print Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Grand Canal: 1.5 mi
  • Rathmines: 1.5 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 1.5 mi
  • Broadstone Studios XL: 1.5 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 1.6 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Irishtown: 1.6 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 1.6 mi
  • Donnybrook: 0.4 mi
  • RDS Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.7 mi
  • University College Dublin: 0.7 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 1.2 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • National Print Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Grand Canal: 1.5 mi
  • Rathmines: 1.5 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 1.5 mi
  • Broadstone Studios XL: 1.5 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 1.6 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Irishtown: 1.6 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 1.7 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Merrion Square: 1.7 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 1.7 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 1.8 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 1.8 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 1.8 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 1.8 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 1.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 1.9 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 1.9 mi
  • Leinster House: 1.9 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 1.9 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 1.9 mi
  • Irish Jewish Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Mansion House: 1.9 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 2 mi
  • Dublin Port: 2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 2 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 2 mi
  • Science Gallery: 2 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 2 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 2 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 2 mi
  • Pearse Street: 2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 2.1 mi

Dining

Talavera
Special set menu from 29.95 Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fairycakes
Business
Ireland
Nov 26, 2014

Lovely Downton Feel

Really enjoyed our stay, it was really cosy and staff were great. Grounds are gorgeous and the open fires in dining areas are really nice. Afternoon tea looks delish! I would say it is a bit out and will cost 20euro in taxis in and out of the city. Could be a little cleaner (dining room) but overall very enjoyable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Westmeath Dude
Business
New York
May 13, 2014

Check Out Experience

We had a wonderful four night stay in this hotel and we were very happy with room, price and location of hotel. Unfortunately we were told rather rudely by a member of the hotel staff when we checked out that we had not paid for room despite having paid in advance. This lady kept on throwing her eyes to heaven and shrugging her shoulder, and she insisted that the hotel had no record of our payment. We had a flight to catch and we had no time at 6am to continue with the discussion. We will come back and stay in the hotel but we do hope the check out experience will run more smoothly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

All the buses outside the hotel go into the city and the ride only takes about ten minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joelmama
Business
Cleveland oh
Oct 29, 2013

Nice place with nice staff

Good rooms and located near ucd On the airlink line and not far from city centre

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madison to NYC Lee
Business
Madison, WI
Aug 2, 2013

Elegant comfort

The hotel is located a cab ride away from the central city on a property with gorgeous gardens. The setting doesn't get much better. The rooms are nicely appointed and the staff was helpful in everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the afternoon tea

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tyndmar
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
May 8, 2013

Truly 5 star

From check-in through departure, this was one of the most pleasant hotel stays we have ever experienced. The staff worked hard to exceed our expectations, in particular concierge George and front desk attendant Hazel went above and beyond in fulfilling our every request. While the hotel is out of the city center (15-20 mins by taxi), the setting and ambiance more than make up for this. Grounds were spectacular (even in early May) and the room (business-class suite) was spacious and comfortable. We especially appreciated the balcony (views of the mountains on one side, Irish Sea on the other). Full breakfast buffet was enjoyable and not crowded. Coffees and cocktails in the Orangerie cafe/bar were well-prepared and well-served, although at times the staff seemed a bit overwhelmed by the number of patrons. A small problem with the room A/C was resolved promptly and with no fuss. We also came unprepared as for power conversion, and the staff provided all needed equipment within minutes of our request. If you get a chance, have the concierge make arrangements for a visit to Johnny Fox's Pub. A half-our shuttle trip up the mountain is more than compensated for by the traditional food, music and dancing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aussie G
Business
Perth, Western Australia
Mar 20, 2013

Lovely!!!

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at our hotel! For what we paid, we got above and beyond service, a beautiful view, a lovely clean room. Luxury stay in a beautiful charming manor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Smiley
Business
Cork
Oct 15, 2012

Romantic Getaway

Firstly, it is very easy to find the hotel which is great & the grounds are amazing. Perfect for a romantic weekend away!! It was a bit far out from the city which was fine for us but very near Dundrum shopping centre. I found some of the staff on reception not very welcoming however which was disappointing as we were very impressed otherwise. There was little choice on the bar menu (perhaps it was the time of day that we wanted to eat). The room was lovely- very comfortable bed & everything you could want was there! I would stay here again & would recommend it to a friend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rickardo
Business
Kent, UK
Feb 27, 2012

Excellent base before an exam!

Stayed at the hotel on the night before my son took the HPAT test at University College. I chose the hotel because of its proximity to the exam centre but although I was anticipating something good from the 5 star rating, my expectations were exceeded by the quality of the room, the friendliness of the staff and the atmosphere and character of the hotel itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Co. Kildare, Ireland
Sep 30, 2010

Disappointing noisy stay!

I stayed one night with my husband, as we were going to the Aviva Stadium, for Michael Buble concert. The Radisson would not have been our first choice, except all hotels closer to the Stadium were booked out.(Even though we booked four months in advance!)Taxi rides from the hotel to the Aviva were a bit expensive...15Euro each way. There were two weddings going on, but it wasn't a problem. We had to eat in the bar, as the restaurant didn't open early enough, and we were disappointed with the choices available. Soup, Sandwiches and salads. It was also very expensive for what we got. We found the service slow...and our order was forgotten. We had to remind them...not good! The grounds are fantastic and we liked the Orangerie Bar. Our room was fine, nothing special, overlooking some houses. We didn't mind, as we were only there for the concert. One minor irration, the bulb was blown in one of the bedside lamps. I would have expected checks like that to be covered with Housekeeping, in a 5 star hotel!? The bath was shallow...so if you like a deep bath, don't bother. We loved the huge comfortable bed. The worst bit was the noise!! Our room had a connecting door to another room. Again we didn't think much of it....until we went to bed! We could hear next door's TV until 3.30am!! The walls are paper thin...or was it the connecting room thing?? Anyway, we could hear all conversations and noise from our neighbours. Never again! The room was comfortable, but due to the noise, I could only give it a 2. We didn't have breakfast. As it wasn't included in our rate, we didn't want to pay the crazy price. Check out at the desk was slow. We didn't complain, as it was only for the one night. But due to the lack of sleep, we would never stay again! The lack of sleep seemed to colour everything, for my stay. There are definately better hotels with better value around Dublin. By the way the concert was brilliant :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
9,jln 12/4 shah alam,malaysia
Aug 12, 2010

good price and service

see Dublin city and enjoy walking round town.Great atmoshere at he city.Hotel just slightly outside city,less traffic and within bus rides.Very conveniently

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

jusu walk around city and you will find great dinning area.Easy accessibility

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top