$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

4 stars
View map of At St Stepehen's Green, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
82 reviews
Great stay!

The hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming. Our room was spacious, neat, and clean. The hotel... See full review

  • nihal c.
  • Jun 29, 2015
Wonderful stay in Dublin

This was a great hotel with access to popular sights in Dublin a short walk away. It's modern style... See full review

  • Jack F.
  • May 26, 2015
Conveniently situated in Dublin's city center, O'Callaghan Stephen's Green is one of the city's most perfectly located hotels. Relax in the hotel's Georgian library or stroll across the street to historic St. Stephen's Greens Park. A block away, Grafton Street offers excellent shopping opportunities and the hotel is an easy walk to major attractions such as Trinity College and Temple Bar. Located in restored Georgian buildings, O'Callaghan's features a glass atrium overlooking the park and many rooms offer stunning views across Dublin.

 

Rooms
The hotel offers 99 guest rooms that combine richly-hued fabrics and wood furnishings for a traditional feel with modern comforts. Standard accommodations include air conditioning, plasma TV, Wi-Fi, coffee and tea station and personal safes. Guests also enjoy extras such as trouser presses, irons and European and American wall plug sockets in every room. Many suites and studio terraces offer views over Dublin city.
Property features
Irish playwright George Fitzmaurice once owned one of the Georgian buildings restored as part of O'Callaghan's Stephen's Green Hotel and in recognition, Pie Dish restaurant in the hotel's glass atrium and Magic Glasses cocktail bar are named after his plays. Guests can make use of the hotel's free gym and the traditional Georgian library, complete with staccato ceilings and fireplace. Guests also enjoy Wi-Fi, 24-hour access to the business center, laundry and dry cleaning service as well as room service. Babysitting services are available on request. Meeting rooms hold up to 40 guests and audiovisual equipment is available with advance notice.
Highlights
  • Located near the gardens of St. Stephen's Greens and a short walk from the city center
  • Housed in two restored Georgian buildings with Georgian library
  • Restaurant and cocktail bar located in stunning glass atrium with park views
  • Gym and conference facilities
Nearby attractions
  • Stephen's Green Park
  • Trinity College
  • Dublin Castle
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Chester Beatty Library
  • The Oscar Wilde House
  • Temple Bar
Business
  • 7 meeting rooms accommodate up to 40 guests
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • Video conferencing lines available by request
  • 24-hour business center
  • Broadband Internet and Wi-Fi access
Transportation
  • Aircoach bus service nearby
  • Luas tram stop at St. Stephen's Green
  • Taxi service

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel Rooms

King Room
Modern, elegant and beautifully appointed guest room with One King Bed.The Room includes full air conditioning , Wifi , flat screen LCD TV with international and movie channels.
Executive King
Spacious, modern and beautifully appointed guest room with One King Bed.The Room includes full air conditioning , Wifi , flat screen LCD TV with international and movie channels.
Twin Room
Modern, elegant and beautifully appointed guest room with two 4 ft single beds.The Room includes full air conditioning , Wifi , flat screen LCD TV with international and movie channels.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Famine Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.4 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 0.4 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Broadstone Studios XL: 0.4 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.4 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.5 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.5 mi
  • The Bad Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.5 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.5 mi
  • Warrenmount: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.5 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant/Dining Information
The Magic Glasses Bar at the O'Callaghan Stephen's Green, with its soft leather furnishings, wood paneling and copper lighting has a distinctly opulent style. A hive of activity, Magic Glasses is much frequented by local business people and visitors to the city. Pie Dish Bistro comines the bright architecture of the Atrium with the inner rooms of two Georgian houses. Finest contemporary bistro cuisine is served.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 82
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa fe, NM
Apr 15, 2010

Great location and good value

I did not eat or drink there but wanted to try various cafes, bars and restaurants around the city so I can't comment on those aspects. The room was clean, a little noisy because it faced the street with traffic, but is ideal for access to St Stephen's Green, National Library Museum and shopping streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chapter & Verse downstairs cafe one block away opposite NE corner of Green provides a great breakfast. Dandelion Bar near top of Grafton St is also great. Small cafe opposite museum in Kildare St is a must for great coffee and breakfast.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jojo the plane
Business
bottle a wa
May 12, 2011

Service was delivered

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snookers
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Feb 3, 2012

Great value and location

The hotel is located in a perfect spot for exploring Dublin with Temple Bar just up the road and walking distance to the canal and north of it as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amie Proume
Business
New York
Apr 23, 2013

Great location and friendly staff

Good value and centrally located. The staff were very friendly especially the bartender Jieri.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Dec 13, 2010

Nice Hotel, Great Location

Hotel is right off of St Stephens Green which puts you right in the heart of Dublin. People complained about street noise but I heard only one crowd of people on a Saturday night (I stayed a week). Perhaps it's some other side of the hotel that gets noisy. There are two popular night clubs on the same block, so it's possible. The rooms are spacious by Dublin standards and very clean. I was given a handicap-accessible room which had a bathroom large enough to put a cot in. The hotel staff were extremely nice and greeted me each time I came in or went out. On my last day the manager came by to thank me for staying with them and wished me well. The rooms have a light to indicate if you want your room cleaned or be left alone. An electic Do Not Disturb system really. Problem for me was that the swtich was located in a dark spot in the room and not labeled. For the first two days the housecleaning staff called me to ask if I wanted my room cleaned. One of the maids showed me the switch and all was good. The ironing center and pant press combo was very nice but required all my years experience as an engineer to figure out. It was in the same dark corner of the room which might have been a factor here. Like most hotels the room has numerous low wattage bulbs. It was tough to read in bed. Internet access was great and included which was great. It's often ten euro a night elsewhere. The breakfast buffet was very tasty the dinning room has floor to ceiling windows looking out across to St Stephen's Green. There's a nice exercise room with a couple of elipticals, two treadmills, recumbant, free weights and a universal. Monitors on the wall to watch the six channels available while you work out. Only problem was finding it. It's in the basement but down a different stairwell from the main. My complaints are very small and picky. I like my room colder than most and the thermostat would only go down to 18C (64F). Even then I thought the room was warmer than 18. I mentioned the low-wattage bulbs. There was no clock in the room. So really, I don't have any complaints. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Celtic Whiskey Shop on Dawson street is just a couple of blocks away. The proprietors are extremely helpful in guiding you through the intricacies of Irish Whiskey (and other spirits, I suppose). They have very fair prices as well.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lumberjack19
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 23, 2011

Comfortable and convenient

The hotel is about 4 blocks (around the corner of the Square) from the Aircoach airport shuttle service drop on Kildare Street. It is also 2 blocks from the base of Grafton Street which puts it in a reasonable walk for most of the Dublin history sights and Temple Bar. I would recommend a cab or bus/LUAS for Kilmainham Gaol, Guinness Storehouse, Museum of Decorative Arts and History and the Jameson's Distillery. The room was comfortable and the staff was very accommodating...including organizing a cup of coffee to go for me on the (early) morning of my departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cornucopia was a good cafe just off Grafton (probably a 5-10 minute walk from hotel) with great vegetarian offerings if you need a change of pace for lunch or dinner.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan, USA
Jul 3, 2010

Lovely hotel

The hotel was in a great location just off St. Stephen's Green. It's a short walk to shopping at Grafton street and about a 10 minute walk to Temple Bar. It's just far enough from the action that it's a quiet area. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the beds were comfy. The bathroom was modern and clean. The only problem was with the wifi service. It didn't work and they were never able to fix it. However, I was able to connect "wired" from the room (and wasn't charged for that service). Also, I was able to check in early on the day I arrived. I'd rate it four and a half stars (if I was able to give it a half star)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're too tired for a sit-down dinner and want to grab something to bring back to the hotel, try Credo. It's a carry-out pizza place that serves up gourmet pizza, salads, etc. They also serve (and deliver) wine with orders. Avoid the hotel restaurant bar. The service is slow and the food is sub-par.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 18, 2010

Great location, nice room

Excellent location within walking distance to the center of Dublin, theatres, shopping street. Very helpful and courteous staff. There is a decent breakfast but, as with most hotels, it's overpriced. If you cant stand the heat in the greenhouse-style dining room, there is an option in the back. Note that they require pre-approval of 50 euros *per night* on your credit card -- even when the room is pre-paid. That seems excessive, considering there's no minibar in the room. Well-furnished, clean, all amenities including teakettle and cups. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Bewley's on Grafton street is an excellent (and less expensive) alternative to the hotel breakfast.

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exirishman
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 13, 2010

Excellent Dublin City Centre Hotel

The Irish economy isbad shape and it sort of shows in the condition of O'Callaghan's. It's just a bit shabby around the edges. But otherwise a great place to stay. You can walk everywhere. This was my third stay at O'Callaghan's and it wont be my last!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Irish Canadian
Business
St. John's Canada
Jun 5, 2013

Great value

Great location, large clean room, friendly helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top