$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

4 stars
At St Stepehen's Green, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
72 reviews
Great stay.

Excellent stay. Located in a nice area, just outside the city centre Quality hotel, great room... See full review

  • Tony Chatfield
  • Feb 13, 2014
Wonderful experience!

We spent four nights at the Stephen Green Hotel and loved it! Great location, nice room, and... See full review

  • JuliaCO
  • Jan 6, 2014
The O'Callaghan Stephen's Green is a boutique hotel with an ideal location overlooking Stephen's Green Park in the heart of Dublin City. The hotel has 78 beautifully appointed stylish bedrooms that are fully installed with broadband and air conditioning. A magnificent Georgian library is available for residents use in the two restored Georgian houses that comprise part of the hotel. The adjacent glass Atrium offers excellent views of Dublin city life. Amenities providing by the property are Business Center, Concierge, Conference Facilities, Handicap Rooms, High-speed Internet, Room Service, Wireless Internet and Smoke-Free Property. We use the Royal college of Surgeons car park for our residents at EUR 4.70 from 5.00pm to 11.00am and an hourly rate of EUR 3.00 thereafter

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel Rooms

Queen Room
Room providing one queen bed. Approx 30 meters square. Room includes air conditioning/ironing board/trouser press/tea and coffee making facilities/personal safe/mini fridge/wired and fixed broadband/cable TV/ North American and European built in plug sockets.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Famine Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.3 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.3 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.3 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.4 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 0.4 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Broadstone Studios XL: 0.4 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.4 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.5 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.5 mi
  • The Bad Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.5 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.5 mi
  • Warrenmount: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.5 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant/Dining Information
The Magic Glasses Bar at the O'Callaghan Stephen's Green, with its soft leather furnishings, wood paneling and copper lighting has a distinctly opulent style. A hive of activity, Magic Glasses is much frequented by local business people and visitors to the city. Pie Dish Bistro comines the bright architecture of the Atrium with the inner rooms of two Georgian houses. Finest contemporary bistro cuisine is served.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 72
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jojo the plane
Business
bottle a wa
May 12, 2011

Service was delivered

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa fe, NM
Apr 15, 2010

Great location and good value

I did not eat or drink there but wanted to try various cafes, bars and restaurants around the city so I can't comment on those aspects. The room was clean, a little noisy because it faced the street with traffic, but is ideal for access to St Stephen's Green, National Library Museum and shopping streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chapter & Verse downstairs cafe one block away opposite NE corner of Green provides a great breakfast. Dandelion Bar near top of Grafton St is also great. Small cafe opposite museum in Kildare St is a must for great coffee and breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snookers
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Feb 3, 2012

Great value and location

The hotel is located in a perfect spot for exploring Dublin with Temple Bar just up the road and walking distance to the canal and north of it as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amie Proume
Business
New York
Apr 23, 2013

Great location and friendly staff

Good value and centrally located. The staff were very friendly especially the bartender Jieri.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lumberjack19
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 23, 2011

Comfortable and convenient

The hotel is about 4 blocks (around the corner of the Square) from the Aircoach airport shuttle service drop on Kildare Street. It is also 2 blocks from the base of Grafton Street which puts it in a reasonable walk for most of the Dublin history sights and Temple Bar. I would recommend a cab or bus/LUAS for Kilmainham Gaol, Guinness Storehouse, Museum of Decorative Arts and History and the Jameson's Distillery. The room was comfortable and the staff was very accommodating...including organizing a cup of coffee to go for me on the (early) morning of my departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cornucopia was a good cafe just off Grafton (probably a 5-10 minute walk from hotel) with great vegetarian offerings if you need a change of pace for lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan, USA
Jul 3, 2010

Lovely hotel

The hotel was in a great location just off St. Stephen's Green. It's a short walk to shopping at Grafton street and about a 10 minute walk to Temple Bar. It's just far enough from the action that it's a quiet area. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the beds were comfy. The bathroom was modern and clean. The only problem was with the wifi service. It didn't work and they were never able to fix it. However, I was able to connect "wired" from the room (and wasn't charged for that service). Also, I was able to check in early on the day I arrived. I'd rate it four and a half stars (if I was able to give it a half star)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're too tired for a sit-down dinner and want to grab something to bring back to the hotel, try Credo. It's a carry-out pizza place that serves up gourmet pizza, salads, etc. They also serve (and deliver) wine with orders. Avoid the hotel restaurant bar. The service is slow and the food is sub-par.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 18, 2010

Great location, nice room

Excellent location within walking distance to the center of Dublin, theatres, shopping street. Very helpful and courteous staff. There is a decent breakfast but, as with most hotels, it's overpriced. If you cant stand the heat in the greenhouse-style dining room, there is an option in the back. Note that they require pre-approval of 50 euros *per night* on your credit card -- even when the room is pre-paid. That seems excessive, considering there's no minibar in the room. Well-furnished, clean, all amenities including teakettle and cups. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Bewley's on Grafton street is an excellent (and less expensive) alternative to the hotel breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exirishman
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 13, 2010

Excellent Dublin City Centre Hotel

The Irish economy isbad shape and it sort of shows in the condition of O'Callaghan's. It's just a bit shabby around the edges. But otherwise a great place to stay. You can walk everywhere. This was my third stay at O'Callaghan's and it wont be my last!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Dec 13, 2010

Nice Hotel, Great Location

Hotel is right off of St Stephens Green which puts you right in the heart of Dublin. People complained about street noise but I heard only one crowd of people on a Saturday night (I stayed a week). Perhaps it's some other side of the hotel that gets noisy. There are two popular night clubs on the same block, so it's possible. The rooms are spacious by Dublin standards and very clean. I was given a handicap-accessible room which had a bathroom large enough to put a cot in. The hotel staff were extremely nice and greeted me each time I came in or went out. On my last day the manager came by to thank me for staying with them and wished me well. The rooms have a light to indicate if you want your room cleaned or be left alone. An electic Do Not Disturb system really. Problem for me was that the swtich was located in a dark spot in the room and not labeled. For the first two days the housecleaning staff called me to ask if I wanted my room cleaned. One of the maids showed me the switch and all was good. The ironing center and pant press combo was very nice but required all my years experience as an engineer to figure out. It was in the same dark corner of the room which might have been a factor here. Like most hotels the room has numerous low wattage bulbs. It was tough to read in bed. Internet access was great and included which was great. It's often ten euro a night elsewhere. The breakfast buffet was very tasty the dinning room has floor to ceiling windows looking out across to St Stephen's Green. There's a nice exercise room with a couple of elipticals, two treadmills, recumbant, free weights and a universal. Monitors on the wall to watch the six channels available while you work out. Only problem was finding it. It's in the basement but down a different stairwell from the main. My complaints are very small and picky. I like my room colder than most and the thermostat would only go down to 18C (64F). Even then I thought the room was warmer than 18. I mentioned the low-wattage bulbs. There was no clock in the room. So really, I don't have any complaints. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Celtic Whiskey Shop on Dawson street is just a couple of blocks away. The proprietors are extremely helpful in guiding you through the intricacies of Irish Whiskey (and other spirits, I suppose). They have very fair prices as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O'Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Irish Canadian
Business
St. John's Canada
Jun 5, 2013

Great value

Great location, large clean room, friendly helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top